ERP IU

Octaviafan

Recently I started having some contact problems with the ERP IU and my cash card. This resulted in a "no card detected" letter from LTA after I had gone through an ERP gantry along PIE.

I brought my car to LTA at Sin Ming road to have the IU inspected, and the fault was discovered to be faulty cash card. I was told by the technician that he is seeing more of such cases and this is primary due to the cash card parking machines. He showed me the indentation marks on the cash card that were caused by these parking machines. A word of caution. Use separate cash card for parking and ERP.

Another discovery I made at the inspection center is that the warranty on my ERP IU is already expired. The technician told me that all IU comes with 5 years warranty, so since my car is les than two years old, the agent must have used recycled (scraped car) units. In my case, if the IU was found to be faulty and the warranty expired, I would have had to fork out S$150/- to get it replaced. Another word of caution, for new car owners, please demand from the car agent the warranty cert for the IU.

By the way, my car was from JTA's time, and as can be expected of them, unscrupulous @#$%$#@ [furious] , S$150/- also want to cheat.

That's sad case for you...

Indeed Cashcard used in some CARPARKs actually spoilt my card... and occassionally got card error...

The one at RiverSide Point I believe got some problems... if you do go there, you may face problems like I do.

No prob, does not happen everyday....think that was one of Seansene's 1st problems here...with JTA...sweatdrop.gifrolleyes.gif

Got this problem a year back, got to go for inspection for IU unit. Very fast and told me to change cash card. Change already liao no problem so far.

One good thing about having this problem is that sometimes save on ERP charges,hehe. go thru and detect error, no deduction, also got no fine or such, just ask me to go inspect IU.

I think JTA has been using recycled IUs cos I was having a lot of problems with mine. I got about 5 letters from LTA stating that the Gantries cannot detect my IU. After multiple inspections at Viacom and STA, I was told to go to the LTA inspection center to get a full diagnostic on my IU. There I was given a letter to get my IU changed for free. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

No fine lah! LTA inspector indicated faulty cash card and S$10 admin fees waived. However, still have to pay the undeducted $0.50/-.

luckily no fine... [sweatdrop] But it is the time that is taken out to find

out what happen/what's the problem and fix the sh**. Very time consuming. [shakehead]

Btw, do you know any good place to do oil change? Mine hit 6000km. itching to

change leh.

As a matter of fact, I was actually pretty impressed with the efficiency of the LTA. Quite unusual from the LTA I know in the past. [thumbsup]

I usually do my servicing at a workshop in Ubi, Liquidmoly 5L pack at 78 plus Merc oil filter plus a $10 labour charge.

Hello you buy car from CA, they suppose to throw in free servicing as well what.