Civic Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 last few days , when i press the button to lock the car ,, Very fun the alarm is armed but the door is not LOCKed!!!! check whether the central locking is spoilt or not , but still can lock with my Keys..... just thinking back how long I had not been locking the car !!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 i got the same problem with my front passenger door slightly more than a month back. My other 3 doors can lock but that door doesn't. So, i went to an accessories shop for help. What that guy did was just to remove the door interior and spray WD-40 at all the joints of the rod that pulls/push the door lock AND it has been trouble-free eversince even though the guy said it's gonna give up on me soon. He even suggested changing my stock central locking system. If you are the DIY guy, I suggest you try the WD-40. It may just work. Nowadays I make it a point to check that the doors are all lock whenever I hit the remote alarm button.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Author Share June 30, 2002 but I think my central locking has no problem as I can lock all the 4 doors with keys.. think should open to see wat happen later before the world cup start Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 (edited) I had no problem with that door when i lock my car with my keys. The problem only arises when i armed it remotely. Oh..if u happen to see a small piece of sponge sitting on the moving rod, u might want to put it away cos it may cause some resistance to that moving part... Edited June 30, 2002 by Michel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Author Share June 30, 2002 The cute thing is , it sometime can lock and sometime cannot .... same goes to opening !!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 better do a diy 1st....if not, hope the rest of the guys here can give u more help Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Author Share June 30, 2002 going down later before the world cup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 Could be the alarm black box defective or the transmitter going to kaput liao since your central locking works with the key Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 but I think my central locking has no problem as I can lock all the 4 doors with keys.. think should open to see wat happen later before the world cup start Could be the "gun" that activate the central locking that's faulty.... just my rough guess.. do check it out.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 The cute thing is , it sometime can lock and sometime cannot .... same goes to opening !!!!!! Hmm.... think it could really be the "gun" problem liao.... but pls confirm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 Guyver, u need to post twice for the 'gun' problem, huh? trying to chalk up points faster issit? Just pulling your legs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 30, 2002 Share June 30, 2002 Guyver, u need to post twice for the 'gun' problem, huh? trying to chalk up points faster issit? Just pulling your legs. No lah... 1st time is not sure... not sure..... then the 2nd time is sure-er liao.... btw.. pull my leg ok... don't pull wrong thing can liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie July 1, 2002 Author Share July 1, 2002 yesterday and today I try , everything seem to be OK leh !!! Think my alarm system siao siao liao !!!! sometime can sometime cannot !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 1, 2002 Share July 1, 2002 yesterday and today I try , everything seem to be OK leh !!! Think my alarm system siao siao liao !!!! sometime can sometime cannot !!! Since they can change your transmission for u... what is car alarm to them.... send back to Kah motor lor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 it seems ur car alarm plunger gun which is connected to the door lock mechanism is either loose or stiff. Gotta tear out the door trim to check. If u know how to tear out the door trim, I can check and retighten for ya. 5 mins job. Unless your car lock is on a relay driven, its another different story. as long as the alarm beeps, the alarm is okie. last few days , when i press the button to lock the car ,, Very fun the alarm is armed but the door is not LOCKed!!!! check whether the central locking is spoilt or not , but still can lock with my Keys..... just thinking back how long I had not been locking the car !!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 it seems ur car alarm plunger gun which is connected to the door lock mechanism is either loose or stiff. Gotta tear out the door trim to check. If u know how to tear out the door trim, I can check and retighten for ya. 5 mins job. Unless your car lock is on a relay driven, its another different story. as long as the alarm beeps, the alarm is okie. I need u to re-align my wiper... u are right... yesterday.. realised that my wiper is really hitting the edge of my windscreen.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lester Neutral Newbie July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Hi Civic Michel could be right. I've experience almost the same problem as him previously on my Swiftlet. Is your present vehicle 2nd hand or new? If it's 2nd hand, there's a chance the plunger on that door has been changed b4 and it's not fitting properly. That happened to me. I tore up the trim and adjusted the metal rod to actuate precisely. Maybe you plunger is just stuck like wat Michel said. If you can see the plunger when oyu ever remove your door trim, go the extra mile to reove the plunger and play around with your remote to see if it's actuating correctly. Lester Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie July 4, 2002 Author Share July 4, 2002 It because the gearbox is warrenty for 3 years but the alarm system only 1 year ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...