New Beetle Wind Noise Problem

Straightsix

Hi Guys

I have a new VW Beetle 1.6. Car generates lots of wind noise at highway speeds. Car & Cars have tried to realign the doors and this helps a little but I am still not very satisfied. Any ideas as to how I can eliminate wind noise in a Beetle? Any aftermarket door/window seals that I can try?

Hi Guys

I have a new VW Beetle 1.6. Car generates lots of wind noise at highway speeds. Car & Cars have tried to realign the doors and this helps a little but I am still not very satisfied. Any ideas as to how I can eliminate wind noise in a Beetle? Any aftermarket door/window seals that I can try?

If all things fail... maybe u can try those window guard... might helps... but frankly.. before u jump into anything... do come down for our DIY workshop meet up that we have... and let a few of us.... understand what u mean... then we'll do our best to help.... [:)]

Re-align doors and this help? Strange, door don't really need re-alignment unless it out by quite a lot. I think, re-adjust the locking so that thay are latch closer.

Wind noise is whistling and tyre noise comes in many form. The possible area are windows, are they wind all the way up, front dashboard area, are the seal in the front properly secured and in place. The accel brake pedal area also have sealing. Sometimes the front side view mirror area might generate wind noise. Another area is the rear section sealing.

If the agent have check all the areas, then it is difficult to trace the source of wind. Sometime undercarriage can emit wind or water into the car if seal are bad. Look like you have to check other car of similiar model to see whether they are the same.

Re-align doors and this help? Strange, door don't really need re-alignment unless it out by quite a lot. I think, re-adjust the locking so that thay are latch closer.

Wind noise is whistling and tyre noise comes in many form. The possible area are windows, are they wind all the way up, front dashboard area, are the seal in the front properly secured and in place. The accel brake pedal area also have sealing. Sometimes the front side view mirror area might generate wind noise. Another area is the rear section sealing.

If the agent have check all the areas, then it is difficult to trace the source of wind. Sometime undercarriage can emit wind or water into the car if seal are bad. Look like you have to check other car of similiar model to see whether they are the same.

Yah... there's alot of possibilities... so bottomline.. come to our meet ups... and we'll be able to offer better advise.....

First and foremost, make sure you are not breaking wind in the car! [laugh]

And den if all else fails....

Open windows to let smelly wind out? [shocked]

Hi Guys

How many km/h when the sound come? but possible affected by the A B pillars. Try on rainy day to see the water flowing on the wind screen and windows to see any flow is different.

Or if the noise is really high (unacceptavble level), seriously to let yr bug to VW workshop for days to let them do for U if still under warranty.

Hi guys

Thanks for the advice. The noise is definately coming from the A pillar. VW admitted that the Beetle has a wind noise problem. Poor aerodynamics (CD 0.39) and bad seal design. Too bad there aren't any aftermarket seals available. Noise is worse when crosswinds are present.

Hi guys

Thanks for the advice. The noise is definately coming from the A pillar. VW admitted that the Beetle has a wind noise problem. Poor aerodynamics (CD 0.39) and bad seal design. Too bad there aren't any aftermarket seals available. Noise is worse when crosswinds are present.

Wah!! they can just reply like that and get away with it ah?? not bad leh!! Think u must stuff your ears liao!! [laugh]

Try pushing C&C to rectify the problem! I don't think they should get away with a "design error" right?

Yah lah.. what is this kind of "it's like that" attitude.....

Agreed with TB-send back to them and demand for the rectification.

CD 0.39 wasn't excuse for the wind noise. But bad seal design is main point that VW has to repair/re-done it.

Does it sound like howling or whistling? The wing mirror portion may be the source of the sound, check it out.

Agree. The front side view mirror is a likely potential source for the wind noise. Does the new VW Bug has a huge side view mirror? Maybe can upgrade to those WRC aerodynamic type side mirror!! [:p]

Another way is to get a decent ICE..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Try to travel at the speed when you experience the wind noise with your side morrors folded in. See if it helps. I have a feeling that might be a likely cause for the wind noise. Check on all the rubber seals on all doors if any part is indented or compressed to an extent that the line of seal looks wierd. Even if there is a in born wind noise for all Beetles, it shouldn't cause you to fuss unless you are a noise freak for the interior. (No offence) My 2 cents.

Lester

Edited by Lester

That's what i like about MCF!! everybody is so willing to share & help!! Frankly.... if we got so much $0.02 coming... we'll probably billions of cyber MCF dollars real soon!! [:)]

hi there, was driving the 2.0l beetle before changing to my present car...

the wind noise is there at speed higher than 80km/h n c&c gave the same xcuse but it doesnt matter much to me as most often my music louder than the noise, hehe, hows ur fuel consumption thou?