Which comes first??

Dunno

I'm still very confused which comes first...correct me if I'm wrong

1. Wash car (definitely comes first)

2. Claybar (i know this one's next)

3. Sealant (do I apply before or after polishing or both?)

4. Polish

5. Wax (can skip for some people who do not like waxing cos it wears off faster)

6. Sealant (again)?? Do I have to apply sealant again after polishing?

hi, i think the grooming gurus in mcf are either on the way home or having friday nite out now, they will reply you later this evening.... smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif

Sealant seals the paintwork and protects it from the elements. Many use it as a replacement for wax, so you can choose either to use sealant OR wax. If you're KS and want to use both, then probably wax after using the sealant would be a better idea.

Whichever you decide, the sealant and/or wax step is always the last step. That means polish then sealant/wax/both.

Hope it helps! thumbsup.gif

________in reply________

1. Wash car (definitely comes first)

2. Claybar (i know this one's next)

3. Sealant (do I apply before or after polishing or both?)

4. Polish

5. Wax (can skip for some people who do not like waxing cos it wears off faster)

6. Sealant (again)?? Do I have to apply sealant again after polishing?

1. Wash car

2. Claybar

3. Sealant

4. Wax/polish

Thats wat i'm doing... dunno if its correct. Sealant is to seal up the uneven paint surface as u have just claybarred, and wax is to shine the car...

Actually, that's what I've been wondering too...

Some say claybar then use sealant to seal the paint, followed by polish

Some say claybar then polish, followed by sealant to seal it off

Dunno which is the correct one?

Hi Dunno,

Here's a Typical Process:

- Wash/shampoo car

- Clay car [ocassionally, or as and when necessary. ie. when you feel grit on the paintwork]

- Wash and dry car

- Polish car, or use swirl mark removers to remove swirl marks.

- Sealant

- Subsequent layers can add polish and/or sealant. or just wax on top of the sealant. But remember to wash off the wax properly before applying any more sealant or it may not bond properly to the paintwork.

Just my $0.02cents... smile.gif

If its a new car, then can just skip the polish part and do the sealant part. nod.gif But I will still polish anyway to clean up any contaminants...just in case. tongue.gif

Edited by Assassin

Dunno lah...this morning spent 3.5 hrs.....

Wash, Claybar, wash, dry, polish, buff, apply HiGlaze 88, buff again....SIBEH SIONG AH!!!

When buffing the last 2 panels that time....both arms no strength liao...gotta use 2 arms at the same time to buff....whole body sweaty like hell...

haha [laugh] I gana that feeling before.. Siong man... Rather pay and let ppl polish...

I washed, claybar, wash again, claybar areas not really barred, and washed again. Then too tired liao, and drove my car to let ppl polish for $110, inclusive of sealant...

The last time I did something that elaborate took me about 4 hours. sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Clean glass, apply Rain-X on glass, Rinse car, shampoo, rinse, claybar, shampoo, rinse, dry, polish/prep, sealant, polish, sealant, condition leather seats, vacuum floor, engine bay shine, tyre shine. dizzy.gifdizzy.gif