Phoenix Neutral Newbie June 22, 2007 Share June 22, 2007 Thanks both for you for the insight. I just bought the presea after 1 test drive and had drove for 2 week with the problem getting from manageable to a disaster. To think the dealer had the cheek to tell me I cannot accerate too hard becos its a heavy duty clutch. So since the dealer does repair, I don't think I want to deal with this dishonest merchant anymore because he also assured me I'll pass my car inspection but I failed the solar film and headlights when I sent to inspection center 2 days later. Wanted to charge me to ensure my inspection will go through whe I reflected the issue. In the end, lost my trust and I rather look for a solution on my own. Didn't expect a repair job so soon but since my its my failure to do my proper checks, don't want to think about too much except to get the car road worthly and maybe drive another max 1-2 yrs. If that's the case, would there be a change in advice for me? I had asked whether I can change to a used clutch but workshop ask me to change new so I didnt know whether its better for me or maybe its difficult for them to look for used clutch as well. Thanks once again for all the helpful bros here. CHEERS to your weekend!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie June 22, 2007 Share June 22, 2007 Just bought your presea? Did you go to presea club? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siemens60 Clutched June 22, 2007 Share June 22, 2007 maybe you shld also highlight who the dealer is.... btw, dun think anyone will change to used clutch.... any bro to confirm?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phoenix Neutral Newbie June 22, 2007 Share June 22, 2007 presea club? The one on delphi forum? The dealer is at that forum posting ads here and there but I shall not name names on public forum... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie June 22, 2007 Share June 22, 2007 (edited) yeah delphi forum. There are a couple of very very good bros there, like nisyoko and xiong22. nisyoko surf mycarforum too, but seldom see him post. Edited June 22, 2007 by Turbine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phoenix Neutral Newbie June 23, 2007 Share June 23, 2007 Thanks bros! Got my problem solved and saw gearbox was also patched up below when car was raised so hopefully won't have more troubles ahead for the short term. Damage as below : Clutch Pressure Plate $75 Clutch Lining $58 Clutch Bearing $30 Gear oil 3 litres $15 Labour $150 Total after GST - $344 Found another recommended workshop with better quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear June 23, 2007 Share June 23, 2007 congrats bro... for me, i went to octopus workshop to the clutch package slightly less than yours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 24, 2007 Share June 24, 2007 hi bro the presea forum is at http://forums.delphiforums.com/presea/start but in the past few months, we have not been too active there are a number of bro who had either sold or scrap their rides also, there are new owners like yourself too. good to hear your problem is rectified and with some tuning of the engine, and TLC i would think your ride will serve you more then the 1-2 years u are thinking of. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 Hi, For my old Presea, I had to change my clutch every 18 months or so... something about the way I drive Anyway, my mechanic charges about S$250, inclusive of labour. Once, I even changed my gearbox to a recon-Japanese (felt like brand new)... cost me S$500 for gearbox + clutch assembly + incidentals + labour! If you need a contact, do let me know. My mechanic just lost one frequent visit Presea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phoenix Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 $250 is cheap for all the work judging from what we've seen so far but you change the clutch because of regular good maintainance practice or do your wear them out in 18 months? I had drive a citreon berlingo before this and the van lasted 3 years with only a timing belt change and nothing else really. Anyway, ow does a new gearbox feels like? Maybe u can pass me you contact mechanic too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phoenix Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 The presea forum is really "small cats on or two", probably after all not many on the road already. Or nissan drivers not really forum pple? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 yup... really small cats one or two the main reason is that wat u mentioned, which is not many on the road liao but recently on NEC, http://forums.delphiforums.com/nissanclub/start someone also mentioned that it is getting quieter.. do tell how your ride is after u service it. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phoenix Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 After clutch change from wear out racing clutch to normal clutch. Left leg not so siong and feels quite comfy driving 80-90km/h most of the time. Used to drive 100-110km/h when driving my dad's sunny then when I switch to van, learned to appreciate driving within speed limit and enjoy the view. 90km/hr is at 2.8K rpm so is that normal? I feel the 1st 2 gears pick up so-so if I change gears at 2.5k rpm. If I do 2.5k rpm gear change on my van sure pick up faster so is it car need to change gear at 2.5k rpm? Last time sunny auto "change gear" at about 2.5-3k rpm if i remembered correct. Hmm... we r OT liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 Huh? i last time change gear ever 2.5K, sometimes even 2.2-2.3k also don't feel really slow. Able to keep up with traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 90km/h of that RPM is about rite. 100km/h at about 3000rpm. i think u need your mech to tune your engine. ask him to adjust the distributor to more advanced. slightly it might now be at 'retard'. hence the slow pickup. cos i do change gear at 2.5 too, ok leh. no worries lah... always OT one. anyway while driving, got wind noise? mine still not solved after changing rubber. goggled, and reckon need to adjust and align the window. yes, now we are officially OT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phoenix Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 Maybe the pick up was alright after thinking that my previous ride is a 1.9 van so maybe feel more power at lower gears. It was really stable at 100kmh (2.8krpm)due to conti made heavy metal so probably not a fair comparision. Drove fiat uno years ago b4 it was scrap and couldn't monitor rpm as no taco and i ram it quite hard. I think wind noise comes about >90kmh so if within speed limit still acceptable lor, I oso thought it's rubber but from your exp seem it's not. Experience some water coming in when going carwash kena spray by their jets too. All in all, quite happy w her so far besides being a bit low so when filtering out sometimes block by car besides you and you can;t see traffic coming. Was told engine oil last used was semi-syn but i was thinking switching to mineral. U think 5-40W is alright for her? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 mine no water leakage from windows. if water is indeed seeping thru, i think need to replace rubber lining, then do the alignment of the window panels. yes, it takes some time to adjust to the low setting of the car. but once u get used to it, u will find going round corner is rather fun with it. if the last oil is semi-syn, and there is no engine oil leaking i would think u can continue to use it for the next servicing. slightly more exp, but can use it up to 10K mileage if i'm not wrong. plus semi-syn is less 'thick' in weight which you should feel more responsiveness from the car. i'm using mineral 5-40W mineral myself now but in the next servicing or the one after that i will be using semi-syn too. upon which i hope there's less time to be spent with my mech, and more time else where! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear June 27, 2007 Share June 27, 2007 Recon gearbox feels notchy, much like my present brand new gearbox. You need to slot in the gears properly, not like my previously well-worn gearbox, where I could simply knock it in from almost any angle.... perhaps that's why my synchromesh at the first gear wore out..... My mech's contact: will PM to you ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...