Glare polish

Blackjaz

The method to GLARE involves 2 steps. (As per instructions on bottle)

The 1st is to rub in the compound which remove the stains (I was also surprised that it managed to remove/clear the "clear coat eaten" surface which was actually a depression of about 20mm diameter). This 1st step also removes any fine scratches but not pits or deep scratches where the paint is affected. When you rub the compound into the surface, it sorta vanishes or gets absorbed into the surface. Don't ask me why or how....... I dun manufacture it. I just use it.

The 2nd coat is applied over the first (like applying paint) and is not to be rubbed into the surface. Upon drying up, it's like those conventional waxes where you'll need to buff off the powdery layer.

I did GLARE not so much for the shine. It's more for the protection from the elements. Now when I wash the car, stains & dirt come off easily. Prior to applying GLARE, my cars' surface would have stains which cannot be removed, even using those commercial stain removers for cars.

How long it'll last.... I dunno.....( claimed to be years by the manufacturer) So far its been fine for 2 months which is longer than whatever waxes I've used in the past, which is like only 2 days for the bonnet (because of engine heat) and like 1 week for the rest of the car. From that standpoint, it has already met my purpose.

What I mentioned was "clear coat eaten" not stain. The poop was removed but what was left underneath was a depression on the clear coat i.e. sunken surface.

Unfortunately, most "clear coat eaten" areas means the eating stuff ate right through to the bottom which is the paint [sweatdrop] .

It will disappear, but will appear again. Polish again, it disappears. Then after awhile, it comes back. Like some taichi going on. [sweatdrop]

The acid is the problem. It stayed inside. That is why. When the poop dries, the acid dries. So the eating stopped. So when you wash the car, the water reactivates the acid and the eating starts again. You see the stain reappear, you wash and polish. The surface and acid dries so it lays dormant. You wash car, the acid is reactivated again and the stain reappears! [sweatdrop]

Best defense is water, tissue and quick detailer. Get rid of them the moment you see them. Most of us who experienced bird poop knows there is no cure except for extensive re-surfacing work. [sweatdrop] Else, every now and then taichi with it. [dead]

Actually, my case was it never went away after any sorta polishing. The depression on the clear coat was quite deep and I thought it was gonna be permanent. When I did GLARE, I never expected it to remove the depression. I just wanted to protect the other surfaces from ending up like it.

I tried using Turtle wax with mild abrasive to lessen or even out the depression but it helped only a little after continual weekly application/polish.

GLARE removed it upon my 1st application (i.e. rubbing in of compound) & I didn't even need to rub very hard as compared to the abrasive wax. Till today, after so many washes, the sunken patch had never re-surfaced.

OK...OK!! [sweatdrop] We understand

Glare's there for u.

NO point u guys keep discussing like politicain.

Some will like this where others will prefer that.

If not, the market will not be flooded with some many products

until consumers also [dizzy]. Dun knw wat to use.

Like i always tell ppl

>>

>

TO EACH HIS OWN [nod]

If you go to the pros forum that is in the US, you kenna screw left-right-centre to the moon and back [:p] for saying things like looks good or shine is there or for simply over layering your car with 3 or more coats of sealant or whatever wax!

Just like BITOG where they slam you for saying things like "my engine feels smooth" [:p] . These guys want hard numbers and not feeling. And for the detailing forum where the pros go, they want pictures and not snake oil hype. [rolleyes]

Arguing like a politcian is not what we have been doing. We are trying to reveal that the damn industry is full of snake oil! [lipsrsealed]

LIARS most of them LIARS! [mad]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

If not how these ppl can survive.

Think this [gossip] only happens in Singapore.

No choice. Singaporean mind are mostly to make $.

No point arguing.

Even if u r given the best products in the world

and u dun knw how to use it correctly, the result will

not b [thumbsup] .

but if u knw the way to bring out the best of the products,

even the average looking joe will be a [sunny] .

Actually should learn from the Americans who do this for a living. Hard toiling work. Good pay but above all, most are very honest of what the products they use can do. They buy in bulk to save so the cost is not in the chemicals but the labor. USD40 for the exterior. 1-2k for a complete job re-panelling overhaul of the car's interior and exterior.

They make no qualms praising about their hard quality work, but they don't BS about the chemicals.

Yes, you are correct. Some will like it while others might not. Its a matter of preference..... [nod]

In fact, for the price the local agents charges, I too would not pay for such a coating when I'm uncertain whether it'll last as long as claimed.

It's only because I DIYed at a fraction of the cost, that I did GLARE. [lipsrsealed]

That's cheapo for you.... [laugh][laugh]

I think your defination of "stains and dirt come off easily" means there is paint protection is misconceived. Teflon product does that too but it does not protect the paintwork.nod.gif

A better check whether it protects the paint work or not is to see if it beads water or not. thumbsup.gif If not time to apply sealant or wax.

Oh yes......... water definitely beads off the surface....... but it'll lose that waxy/oily smooth feel to it after 2 washes. (car washing detergent used)

Being the lazy me, I discovered by accident a simple way to restore the shine.

As I mentioned before, I got GLARE onto my black plastic fenders which are textured and won't come off. So every 2 weeks or so, there's whitish patches and streaks on it. I would then use "Armour All" plastic protectant to wipe on them to temporarily return them to their black colour. After washing my car, I dry it by using the cloth which was used to apply the "Armour All" on the plastics. It leaves the surface slightly oily (like when just Glared) & shiny, thereby saving me effort to specifically polish the car. [laugh]

Wow lau!dizzy.gif

Amour All will attract dirt to your paintwork like

bees to honey leh.nod.gif Furthermore Amour All is for plastic not paints.

This is no way to take car of your paintwork!sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Yes, the "Armour All" is for plastics & tyres, but hey, it gets the shine back and doesn't seem to attract dust anymore than when w/o it. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

So far, I've washed the car 3 times over a month and used this method. So far, so good........ [:p]

Oh yes......... better put a disclaimer here...... those who GLARED their cars and follow suit.... don't blame me if it doesn't work for you hor. [:/] But if you find it effective and saves you effort, donations are always welcome..... [:)]

I hope yours is not a dark coloured car otherwise sure very outstanding with the

Amour All all over the paintwork!sweatdrop.gif Hard to miss your car man!

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

No, I don't purposely apply "Armour All" onto the car's surface. It's whatever that is left on the unwashed cloth after I'm done with the plastics of the car. [laugh][:p]