PROTON owners please come in

Gadgeter

"... It's a 60 liter full tank, but you'll never fill it full,"...

Have the same problem..

For me, when the pump stops. I can pump another 10 litre into the car..

Hi all Proton Owners, (be it wira or waja or satria etc)

Just want to find out who are the Proton Owners here, so that we can share Tips and Tricks about the car.

LIST - Wira

1. Gad 1.5M

2. Shaun 1.3M

3. Underpaidsamurai 1.5A

LIST - Waja

1. Remygenn 1.6 M

2. Sync (will be getting one in 2 weeks time)

3. Powerslide 1.6A

4. Sss_man

LIST - Other models (Saga, Satria etc)

1. bcyn (saga 1.3M)

Think they are all shy lah..

I have seen sync at one of the lunch at Loyang last year..wink.gif

Edited by Gadgeter

Got my cousin to test drive the Waja, who've got a list of rides under his umbrella. So far he's driven the Merz S520, Pajero, Harrier, RAV4, Wira, Lexus RS300 and his old MX-5. All these are either his or his family (lucky b*st*rd!). So what he think of the Waja?

Pros:

* Nice handling

* Great feel when cornering

* Engine sounds like it's tuned to race, even though it's stock. Need to change air filter, then it will be more *garang* [sly]

* Singapore Waja interior seems to be better than MY's

* Can be made to look fiercer with body kits

* Conti switch placement *Yup, wiper was suddenly on when turning left* [;)]

* Conti car feel when driven

* Steering feels like conti

* Good enough stock sound system

* CD Changer

* Big boot

* Cheap car, but big interior, can seat 5 adults without squeeze, ok got squeeze, but not as bad as Nissan Sunny or VIOS.

Now the cons, not mentioned by my cousin, but by me, becoz it's my car:

* Cheap dashboard appearance, even though not as bad as MY's Waja. More expensive dashboard appearance if you compare to Hyundai Getz [;)]

* Glove compartment got very little space for anything

* No space to put those tiny things

* Malaysian SIME tires that can feel wobbly at times

* Tires are noisy on some roads

* The driver side suspension now creaks when going thru bumps, can be fixed but annoys me like hell for now.

* High fuel consumption *OK, I drive hard*

* For Auto, first gear will rev to 2800/3500 before changing to second, unlike most Japanese or other contis (yeah, the car is heavy 1.2tons), so for low speeds [:/] For me Waja == Malaysia Boleh [sly]

well, for the consumption wise, i can say its abt average. there are many ways to derive to get an accurate consumption, what u mention already covers more than half of it. for my driving habit which is 60% boy racer style and 40% ah pek style (where the same ratio applies to highway and urban rd travelling), consumption is abt 13.5k/l. not bad for a heavy car though. all my previous rides (five to be exact), is more or less abt the same but all of them is a manual (except for my ex ek civic which guzzles up to abt 11km/l).

For now, probably due to my driving, I got an average of 9.5km/l... sigh

as for now, i'm in the process of molesting the car starting with the cosmetic dept 1st. just changed to 16" which is much lighter the stock 15" jrd's. full skirting just installed yesterday at jb but not sprayed yet (if u happen to see a waja with white unpainted skirting, then dat's me and please do not jio me leh heehehe...). will get it lowered after the 1st servicing (cos of the ugly damn big arch which can fit an arm & a leg hehehe). let me know if u interested in these too cos i got lobang where u can find tonnes of waja accesories at dirt cheap price - in jb of course. cheers...

I need to have a look at your car bro' And tell me where you get the cheap lobangs, or cheap accessories..

Edited by Sync

I guess ur auto will consume slightly more petrol than the manual, but its really an advantage during heavy traffic build up. i'm still having a sore left leg after getting stuck at jb causeway yesterday for almost 2hrs. really a bad move to go there especially when returning back to s'pore at peak hours and at 7pm some more, sigh. as for the consumption, cheer up, it will turn out to be better after u covered more mileage. its happening to my ride now at least.

i've went for my 1k servicing (abt 1.8k actually), and its really true as wat u mentioned, car now is much much smoother, only thing dat they don't allow me to watch saying their workshop is very congested and don't wan any one to get hurt with all the vehicle movement or tripping into anything like dat. beside the oil and filter change plus MUT tuning, manage to get them to do the wheel alignment and also brake fluid bleeding as it felt quite spongy.

now feel more confidence for my KL trip tomorrow. i'll try to source some goodies for our ride while i'm there. where ur staying btw, i'm in tampines area. can meet up somewhere next week after my KL trip if u wanna check on my ride (not really that great though). as for the lobangs, if u after cheap & nice accessories, can go to BROTHER's or COSPLUS at permas jaya. for bodykit wif good workmanship, can try at AV Bodykit, its at the road between carrefour & extra hypermarket if ur on the way back to s'pore(its the one wif mostly white & yellow bodykit hangin, next to it an accessory shop). ps. do not go to the one opposite the road which have the green colour bodykit hangin as i found the material der sucks and they charge higher too. for spray paint, better do it here cos mine done in JB, although very cheap but quality so so only. cheers...

How bad is your Waja's consumption?

I got only 6km/l when I rented one (auto) in M'sia last year. The rental car's mileage was only 20,000km.

But honestly, I wacked the car real hard, so maybe the reason for high consumption.

Did you know that your Waja has a safety feature?

When driving at 70km/h, instead of shifting downwards to '2', I accidentally shifted upwards to 'P'. The car continued moving, and the gearstick started to vibrate, giving a "ta ta ta ta" sound, like a safety feature to warn you that you are in the wrong gear.

The car ran fine for the next 300km after this incident... before I returned the car.

i drive a waja...

for fuel consumption its good enuff for me..just drive accordingly and it will return good mileage. Waja is a heavy car so moving it will require more power but with just a 1.6 engine is not sufficient. But once moves it can fly too 190km/h [sweatdrop]

as the gear change, mitsubishi gearbox is not tat smooth..it will slightly delay abit b4 the shifting. But if wan smoother gearchange try use better AT. For the ATF filter inside..i hear changing it will be a hassle as the whole gearbox have to be taken down, but according to proton the filter no need to be change. Im not sure too

the door handle is famous for its fragile..becareful more on it and open gently. Many waja in m'sia face the faith of broken door handle and get stucked inside the car. The shock absorber too cant last long..it prones to fail around 40K and if lucky enuff can reach 50K. The Sime fitted on waja is a worst tyre..its noisy and dangerous in rain ditch it if got $$$.

Thats all..hahaha but anethin feel free to say it out, i love sharing knowledge too [thumbsup]

Hi all Proton Owners, (be it wira or waja or satria etc)

Just want to find out who are the Proton Owners here, so that we can share Tips and Tricks about the car.

LIST - Wira

1. Gad 1.5M

2. Shaun 1.3M

3. Underpaidsamurai 1.5A

LIST - Waja

1. Remygenn 1.6 M

2. Sync (will be getting one in 2 weeks time)

3. Powerslide 1.6A

4. Sss_man

LIST - Other models (Saga, Satria etc)

1. bcyn (saga 1.3M)

2. FGY7022 (Saga 1.5M)

Hey guys... hope i am not too late... [laugh]

Yah... maybe some of the us are shy shy for meet ups... [laugh][laugh] hey maybe can have Proton meetup. [;)]