Question on gearbox fluid

Yansen

Normally the gears do not wear out , it is the sycromesh toothed clutch ( make of brass ) that takes all the beating. First and reverse gear are normally designed to be directly mesh with the driving gear -therefore is takes some effort to get them line -up.This is to prevent the driver from accidently engaging the first or reverse gear when driving.

Ps If your have difficulties engaging the intermediate gears, the chances are the sycromesh toothed clutch and the ball bearings times are up.

oic.. thanks 4 ur explanation. i know abt the 1st gear being hard to engage while the car is still moving. but lets say goin up a steep MSCP, b4 going up the incline, u noe 2nd gear cannot make it liao so must downshift. thats the problem lah, my car always hard to do so. same is with traffic junction. stop at red light till almost non moving liaoz then suddenly turn green have to shift to gear 1 also. damn jialat.. u get my point? hehe.. [:)] also the transition on the intermediate gears is also not as smooth as i would like. sometimes from 1 to 2 or 2 to 3 i did not fully engage the gear so its at N actually. like wat Jaymz21 said, got alot of resistance man. [:(]

1) when in neutral going to 1st OR 2nd, very difficult. resistance level of stick going into the position damn high.

to me thats a symptom

2) when from 1st go to 2nd, very difficult. resistance as abv.

same as 1

3) from 2nd go to 1st difficult.

that is usually the case, this sounds normal. the gear mesh has not slowed enuff to allow the gear to engage

4) sometimes cannot engage reverse, need to release and step clutch again

try push to 3rd gear then reverse, it should work

5) engaging reverse sometimes will yield a grinding sound.

abt 3-4 out of 10 tries.

if i am not wrong, the mesh is for 1-5 gear, reverse is another set.....so maybe that is gone as well

u got any recommendations as to where i can blow my hard earned cash? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] regarding this problem, i mean [nod][nod]

Edited by Jaymz21

Frankly, 2nd gear with throttle wide open should give you more than enough horsepower to "climb" those MSCP. If you find the "climb" very slow,either your engine hp output is far from ok or the clutch is slipping or the tyres just do not have enough treads.

Difficulties in engaging the first gear can be due to ( beside wear off gears)the clutch free-play setting is insufficient thereby causing the clutch to remain partial in contact with the flywheel even when you have the clutch pedal fully engaged. The other causes can be due to insufficient clutch fluid in the clutch release cylinder or there is air bubble in the system

Hope this helps

Have you considered it to be a clutch problem. I thought I was having gearbox problems until I asked the mech to pull out the clutch to have a look see.

What I found:

1. Non Toyota original clutch. An Exedy clutch.

2. The pressure plate teeth has rusted away.

3. My flywheel has been eaten by the clutch. Some ring is around it.

The 3rd problem caused my gears to stick. Engaging and disengaging was difficult. I had the flywheel skimmed. As a result the flywheel is also slightly lightened [sly] .

Another possibility is a leaking clutch pump. Check your DOT 3 level for the clutch. If the pump completely goes, your car seems to be going to stall even though you have clutched in. Also no feedback pressure from the pedal.

JB? [:)] You will blow a little but not a lot of hard earned cash. [:p]

Bear in mind the place I go to is deep into JB territory. There is a group of guys going in this Sat. One is going for general servicing, another going to pick up his car and maybe 2 going for a carburetor clean up.

Might have trouble keeping up. We drive fast with our small nimble cars. [sly]

plus ur cars are greater in capacity than my 660cc... not to mention lighter than my 1 ton ride... onli thing i can ever hope to compare is going thru deep floods cos of my ride height.. hahaha.. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

hi, thanks for ur advice. well, sometimes theres enough power to climb MSCP sometimes theres not enough. tyres r still relatively new ones. btw if its a clutch problem i guess it would cost much to rectify it isnt it? n if as u said, the engine hp is far from ok, what can be done? cheers [:)]

If the engine output is questionable then the only alternative is get the mechanics to do cylinder compression test,leak down test etc to determin whether you need to do top or compelete engine overhaul

Got jack can DIY. [sly]

I learned from my mech. Knew where the bottom drain hole is and the top fill hole. Just get a container or brand new plastic bag. Jack car up, open drain port. Drain. Jack higher for more drain and then higher for more drain. Drink coke, read papers. Then tie up bag and dispose with SAF unwritten rule in mind. Close drain port. Open fill port and pour in gear oil. 75W90 or 80W90. I prefer heavier oil and the last time I put in 80W90. Fill until full. Close fill port.

Finish. Save labor buy only the oil.

Edited by Genie47