Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 28, 2004 Share January 28, 2004 How u guys feel abt the Subaru Impreza 1.6TS? There isn't much topics on it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mtoh Neutral Newbie January 28, 2004 Share January 28, 2004 the new TS is nice, but u need at least 17 inch rims & low profile tires to make it look very sporty, i've seen those wif 15 inch rims, the wheel arc is simply too big for it. Ugly !... I personally like the 4WD part best, but wonder is the FC has improve when compared to the bug eye model ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched January 28, 2004 Share January 28, 2004 That my ride. MY03 TS manual How I feel about it 1. AWD, Steady, stable. Heavier body. (1250kg kerb weight (watever that means) 3. FC about 12 for myself. 4. Handling on corners is firm and steady. 5. Sound of the engine. 6. Aircond not as cold as sunny's. 7. Power comes around 3000 to 4500. 8. Nice spoiler. Nice fog. Nice shape body. 9. Frameless window! 10. Momo leather wrapped, 4spoke steering wheel. (some dun like its larger diameter) 11. Black interior. Cool. 12. Many aftermarket stuff to add. Dont have : 1. Foldable backseat. 2. A little cramp backseat (who cares). 3. Cruise control 4. Auto rain sensor 5. Auto headlight 6. many compartments. (Megane has many many) 7. Hightech panel. It has decent green backlight panel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 28, 2004 Share January 28, 2004 12km/l for a AWD 1.6L engine is ...... btw, lets see who are the owners of the Impreza here:- 1. Slayer 2. 3. 4. 5. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 28, 2004 Author Share January 28, 2004 How much u pay for ur ride? Waiting time? Freebies tat u manage to get? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched January 28, 2004 Share January 28, 2004 That was in Apr03. Price then was 78.5. standard TS package. didn't ask for much freebie. only the momo gear knob and frame. COE 1st bid. All takes only 1month. I choose silver. else may take a while for other color like black. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched January 28, 2004 Share January 28, 2004 Definately look nicer with a wider and bigger rim. the drum brake however don't go very well with bigger rim leh. (personal opinion). Its already underpowered ([email protected], [email protected]) with the stock 195/60R15. I wish i can use a 'fiercer' set of 'shoes' without compromising the pickup and FC :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger156 Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 (edited) How u guys feel abt the Subaru Impreza 1.6TS? There isn't much topics on it. In my view, Subaru builds one of the best 1.6L car in the this market category. With such engine, styling, stability, safety, quietness, it really VFM. I would say... GO FOR IT!!!! Edited January 29, 2004 by Tiger156 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 probably a good car but unfortunately kena overshadowed by the rex. dun understand the logic why MI specified AWD for an already underpowered 100bhp engine except for marketing reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 17" for the 1.6TS? .. IMHO think already underpowered for that car and bad FC.. 17" will probably make it worse if don't do other performance upgrade.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Author Share January 29, 2004 How's the spare parts like? Heard that the spares are rather expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 Yup.. think stick to 15" better.. my colleague's manual Bug Eye only getting about 10km/l or slightly more after his broquet, magnets and stuff.. think with 16" rims Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 15" looks puny n lost in those flared huge wheel arches. maybe lowering the car would be a better option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger156 Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 There are 2 things that why Subaru make 4WD standard: 1. Reduced production cost by producing only 1 type of undercarriage and drivetrain. This makes it possible for both WRX and TS to go through the same production line. 2. Subaru wants to improve safety for all their cars. You will notice that the increased weight of the TS is due to the differential, the side impact beams, and improved overall structural rigidity. Although only have 95hp on tap, this does not mean that the car will not skid in drastic situations. Having 4WD is like running on 4 legs; 1 give way still got 3, 2 give way still got 2. Compare this with 2 legs; 1 give way 1 left.... and you better start praying. If you have a chance, try driving a 4WD across a pool of water and compare it with a 2WD.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 true, AWD will always be better but wif onli 95bhp on tap, i reckon it's pretty low probablility of anything going too hairy and nothing a good set of rubbers can't overcome. i've got 200bhp & 300Nm on my FWD and i haven't skidded b4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 No wonder u always zoom~zoom~zoom! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 That's heavy at 1250kg! My 2.0GDI is only 1290kg but with me in it probabaly close to 1360kg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie January 29, 2004 Share January 29, 2004 Gd time to get a car! Bought mine then and never did the price drop below what I paid... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...