Where else to ground?

Chromas

i also had my car done by cool... but decided to change to 4awg after a few months....didnt like the color of the 8awg ones... re-did the grounding for less than 20 bucks...

Hey guys...

actually what's the diff between the 4awg(thicker cable) and the 8awg(thinner cable)?? how does it affect the grounding?.. and how much does it affect?

Jaymz21, what colour is your orginal cables? and what's the colour now?

Sorry cant remember the shop name, but it is located at the basement behind the lift lobby. The shop sells alot of cables and the adapter is display on the glass shelve.

Rdgs

Laser

i dunno leh...for me after i changed to 4awg wires, the idling very quiet... and also the intermittent distortion from the radio seemed to have lessened quite a lot... throttle response got better also..

original cables were....dark brown.. now the 4awg i did myself are red wif yellow heatshrink sleeves... but the drawback of using 4awg is that the lugs for it r damn freaking big... kaichin sold the lugs for 60c each...which isnt exactly too bad... i know other people got sources to get cheaper but in SLT, its the cheapest liao... got another shop wanted to sell me $2 per lug... knn!! i showed the charbo the same lug and receipt from kaichin then she diam diam... the next problem faced was the biggest crimper i could find in SLT was too small for the lugs that size.. had to find industrial sized crimper.. heng got 1 shop, the guy very helpful... lent me his crimper to do in the corner of his shop... very nice guy... if u want, get ur cables from there... whole shop full of wires and heatshrink sleeves of all sizes... even got tin braided wires for grounding use...very nice...

as for me, i didnt really bother abt laying the cables neatly in the engine bay... i dun see the need for that.. and anyway, to lay neatly, u will most prob have to buy extra lengths of cable which defeats the purpose... i juz use watever is necessary..

Hello Chromas,

Me Happen to come across your pics on grounding your car, i find it very well done and fasten, i was thinking to do for my car,but i am not very sure how to DIY,I thought i might seek your advice and maybe if can help me with the purchasing together.My current car i am driving is a Mazda 323 1.3 Manual.I was wondering if its possible to do intensive grounding for my car.Ask around 1 or 2 shops but it sounds alittle xpensive and do not know the cables and lugs given are good or not,my budget is around $40.Wonder if u can advice me that [nod]

Thanks

[thumbsup]

Hi Maz75,

I'd be glad to assist you in your grounding project. I will guide you through it. Most grounding kits cost anywhere from $25 to $40 for a 5 point grounding set. These sets come lugged already, so you don't have to worry about having to crimp the cables or anything. nod.gif

I use the SJ-737 set. Pretty simple with the following stuff in the package.

1) 2x Long length wires

2) 2x Medium length wires

3) 1x Short length wire

4) Nuts and Bolts

5) Connector plate

I don't mind guiding you through the whole process. If you happen to get hold of such a grounding kit, let me know and I'll help you do it over a lunch hour thumbsup.gif

Give me buzz at 91861664 anytime. If you wanna do it over lunch tomorrow, give me call. I might also be free on Thur afternoon thumbsup.gif

Hello Chromas,

Nice talking to you over the phone, well i have to go purchase the the gnding stuff first, will call upon u if required,

Thanks

[thumbsup]

Hi Maz75,

No problem. Glad to help. Tomorrow will be at AMK Industrial Park II, block 5032. Give me a call if u're coming down.

Hi Chomas

This is the 1st time I post a msg since I joined the forum.

I am really interested to fix up the groudings for my ride. Went to a few auto shops and found out that the kit are mostly over $100.

Couldn't locate where the SJ-737 set that you mentioned. Do you mind telling me where can I get hold of this?

I would also need help in fixing up the wires. Wonder if you could give me a hand. I am really a nut in this area..... Not a mechanical person after all.

Thanks

Hello,

You can do your groundings for $55 with the Groundman - Grouding to your darlings :D ...you can contact Jim at 91477736 or David 84524384, They do 6 points grouding with AWG4 AND AWG8 cables. Blk 609 West Coast Road HDB carpark

(beside Ginza Plaza) is the installation location . Very friendly guys :D

go to www.pro-rv.com.sg

can get the cables from there and they MAY help u fix up if u ask nicely sly.giflaugh.gif

btw, i tot there r layouts at the back of the package or something...rolleyes.gifrolleyes.gif

Edited by Jaymz21

Hi there, grounding is for connecting various parts of the your car to the negative terminal of the battery to allow for ease of current flow return back to the battery.

Most cars do not actually require it as they are quite well grounded. However if u really want to do so, there's always the main areas such as the Alternator, Engine Block, Throttle Body, and a few other areas.

I've helped a few bros do up their groundings for free so that they can have a feel of my workmanship.