Super7 Turbocharged September 6, 2002 Share September 6, 2002 My warning light for brake system has been lighting up on and off for awhile, especially first 60 sec after starting the car in the morning, or when car goes over slight bumps (sometimes only), the light will then go off after say 15 or so sec. I had the mechanics check the pads/rotor but he found nothing wrong. He also used a probe like stick to test the brake fluid and the reading indicated there's no need to change the fluid. The level of the brake fluid is ok, so no need to top up. Have not noticed any changes in the performance of the brakes so far (have not tested E-braking yet though) Any ideas what's wrong with brake system, or is it just some poor connections in the wiring somewhere? any advice from bros will be most appreciated thanks YS ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie September 6, 2002 Share September 6, 2002 On your Kamly? If it's a sensor or wire problem then it'll be a bitch to trace. I had this problem with my dad's 240GLE years back and for three whole years we had the car the brake warning lamp came on and off until we sold it off. Agent cannot solve the problem also..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 6, 2002 Author Share September 6, 2002 yeah, its on my Kamly.... that's what i'm afraid of:- workshop unable to trace these types of kremlin and yet still charges big bill..... i think i will do some e-braking tests to confirm it's not major fault and just loose connection only.... if so, juz live with it lor cheers ys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie September 6, 2002 Share September 6, 2002 Well tracing will be tedious but poke around the brake pedal area and see whether any connectors or wires are loose under the kick-panel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 6, 2002 Author Share September 6, 2002 Thanks Gavin. Do you think your regular/reliable mechanics will be insterested to check this for me? Got home late short while ago, guess you guys makan, SSTC at supper meetup already and maybe ZZZzzzz by now cheers YS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear September 6, 2002 Share September 6, 2002 camry? i think its either something got stuck at the parking switch area or the switch is faulty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 6, 2002 Author Share September 6, 2002 Thanks ShagMobile, i will have it checked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie September 6, 2002 Share September 6, 2002 I don't really have any mech that I know are good in elect work, so snoop around for a reputed one. Any bros can help recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 camry i think I still can help. not very complicated compared to conti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 7, 2002 Author Share September 7, 2002 Thanks Shag ... let's see if what's the best time for you.... will sms you later today... no hurry, sometimes next weekend or even later olso good.... at your convenient Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie September 10, 2002 Share September 10, 2002 (edited) Well, looks like you've gotta manually check your fluid level and brake condition now. No more lazy bones! Sorry I can't offer anything constructive at this juncture. Edited September 10, 2002 by Mikeckchong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear September 10, 2002 Share September 10, 2002 TB and the rest of the bro, For Electrical jobs. I have been to this shop for a few times before, charges are quite reasonable. the last time I have problem with my wiring for rear brakes., He charged me around $10-20 (can't remember the exact $$) Kim Kong Battery Service Co. 10 Ang Mo Kio Park 2A, #02-17 S568047 Tel: 6482 1339 Just look for any fellow.. The guy who helped me do all the jobs are quite quiet one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie September 10, 2002 Share September 10, 2002 Are you driving the classic celica ?? Could be the mats or pedal spring. Try to spray some WD40 on the brake pedal springs/joints. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 10, 2002 Author Share September 10, 2002 which means every weekend got to open bonnet and open resevoir bottle to check fluid level ... i rather open a can of coke or tiger leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 10, 2002 Author Share September 10, 2002 yeah, i think i need to spray some WD40 in the old celica..... but my 99 kamly (Camry) is the one having "mysterious" warning light syndrom cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie September 10, 2002 Share September 10, 2002 Go back to agent lor if it is still under warranty Sorry hor.. Camry never touch before... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie September 10, 2002 Share September 10, 2002 You lazy bum! Aren't you supposed to do that anyway? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 10, 2002 Author Share September 10, 2002 ...... even a dog also deserves some rest on the weekend ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...