Sparetyre Neutral Newbie February 19, 2002 Share February 19, 2002 Greetings, I am a novice in ICE and is hoping to have a "decent" setup. (not high end but just average) My current setup consists of a Kenwood 2-DIN headunit, a 4 channel Lanzar amp and 2 sets of Alphasonik 6.5" component speakers (front and back). However, I find that the bass is rather weak and would like your advise on how to improve the bass. Should I: (1) add a 8" or 10" subwoofer (2) replace the rear 6.5" component speakers by a set of 6x9 3-way speakers Thanks in advance for your advise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear February 21, 2002 Share February 21, 2002 Advise is that you go for a 10'. BTW, you intend to go box or freeair ? What kinda bass do you like ? Punchy or soft kind ? Keep your components speakers at the back. Since you are gonna add a sub into your system, you will not find that the bass is lacking liao. So you dun need to go replace your components with a 6X9. For a sub setup, you will need to get another amp and a pre amp (unless your current HU got sub output). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie February 21, 2002 Author Share February 21, 2002 Greetings, Thanks for the advise. Was thinking that no one may bother to help me on this. I am not those who need a hard bass. Just prefer something soft. My preference is to go for a box type cos my boot is quite big, else need to get 2 x 10" (free air) and also need to cut the speaker board. I am really new to ICE and would like to ask what is the purpose of a pre-amp?? Can I connect the amp (to drive the sub) using the line-out of my 4-channel amp? I was offered a Boozaka 8" active tube woofer (EL 8) for S$399 including installation. Is it reasonable?? Thanks and regards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear February 22, 2002 Share February 22, 2002 [reply]Greetings, Thanks for the advise. Was thinking that no one may bother to help me on this. I am not those who need a hard bass. Just prefer something soft. My preference is to go for a box type cos my boot is quite big, else need to get 2 x 10" (free air) and also need to cut the speaker board. Boxed woofer sound is punchy so if you are looking for those soft thumping throwing bass, I think this is wrong number for you. But can get the tuner to tune it down for you. IMHO, box up is still better vs freeair cos they offer more control over the sound. Freeair are nice but no kick leh..... I am really new to ICE and would like to ask what is the purpose of a pre-amp?? Can I connect the amp (to drive the sub) using the line-out of my 4-channel amp? Preamp will help you control the volume and the freq cut off point. Without this, just play with your line out also can. I was offered a Boozaka 8" active tube woofer (EL 8) for S$399 including installation. Is it reasonable?? Sorry man, I dun noe much about price but you can go ask around and see if the price suit you. Personally I dun really like the basstube cos for a enclouser sub, the performance is not up to par....hear some mean freeair subs kick basstube's arse before. I think it has to do with the construction of the basstube. Just get a box up and a basstube of the same dia driver and compare you will hear the diff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 1, 2002 Share April 1, 2002 I need some advice over here.... my audio player state "20Wx4"... what does that mean? my speakers are 5" round 120W max... what does that mean? My gf say.... my audio system no good.... but i really don't know what to add or change to make it better.... CAN SOMEBODY OUT THERE HELP!! I want better bass and good clear sharp sound.... so how can i achieve that.... i saw ampifier 600W @ RM $138... would adding that help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear April 2, 2002 Share April 2, 2002 20X4 means 5W per channel so 5 X 4 = 20W lor. That is your headunit right ?? Using the bulit in power from the headunit sure like that one lah. But some OEM sound system is quite okay....cars like VW Bora....stock system is quite good until you crank up the volume. For a start, switch your speakers to either components (if budget permits) or coaxial. Power them with a decent 4 ch amp (50WX4) and you will be ready to rock. If budget is tight, change your rear to a 6X9 (at least got some bass) but if money no problem then go for a sub woofer for those low frequency. BTW...what speakers are you using now ? 5' components or those speakers that come with the car ? Amp with 600W for RM138 ????? Sure boh...even if it was PMPO also not so cheap one leh....what is the brand ? Manufactured from where ??? IMHO....power to hugh liao....for this kinda power....even for Korean Amps...you have to be prepared to fork out at least $300 plus Singapore Dollars !! Too big chicken running all over the road liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie April 2, 2002 Share April 2, 2002 You can buy 1500W amp for S$180.. those make in Singapore or Korea ones found in Sim Lim Tower.. damm solid but good for base/woofer only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie April 2, 2002 Share April 2, 2002 Hi Sparetyre... Recently I have done up my ICE for my car, reusing a old amp. What I did was. 1. Bought the 52W x 4 Sony Headunit and hook it up to my 4 speakers (6" helix speakers... rear coaxial) 2. Reuse and old 150W amp just to power my infinity woofers (10" pair) If you have a lousy amp like mine, you woofer box will be bigger cos it needs more air-intake, Unless you get a 1500w AMP, your woofer box can be smaller. I did no go for the 3 way speakers cos I wanted the Base to be "seperated" like in a concert hall. Inaddition, it depends on your type of music you are listening to and your car. Freeair woofers works good for Merc or BMW but no JAP cars. JAPS car metalare thin and their boot are not sound proof. My cousins uses a solid amp for his woofer (I think 1500W above), his woofer box as small as a school bag. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 2, 2002 Share April 2, 2002 Oic, so low ah? u mean my head unit is having an output of only 5W/channel?... Component speakers? what's that? what coaxial? 4ch amp... will check that out..... i don't want to change to 6X9 bec...they'll need to cut the board behind.... and i don't want that. My current speakers are the original ones 120W 5" round type what does 120W mean? So can i just get a ampifier and a sub woofer.... and use back all my current one..... it's be ok? Yah, amp with 600W (dunno what measurement) is going RM$138.... saw it before... really.... in Malaysia.... so this amp can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched April 2, 2002 Share April 2, 2002 i tink u r referring to Peak Music Power Output, the average continuous power delivered is at best one-tenth of the value (about 100W) wif this px range. You can buy 1500W amp for S$180.. those make in Singapore or Korea ones found in Sim Lim Tower.. damm solid but good for base/woofer only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched April 2, 2002 Share April 2, 2002 (edited) those figures are probably overinflated specs. 20Wx4 at what voltage? 12V or 14.4V? also at full blast 20Wx4? Typical average pwr o/p u might be getting is much less than the stated specs. best is to get another amp like a bridgeable 100Wx4 and use one channel pair to power ur fronts and another pair, bridge it to power a 12" subwoofer. use the dash unit to power the rear as the rears are only good for filling in the bass. 5 inch spkrs simply cannot make it sing to your liking. at least a 6.5" components to have satisfying SQ. in short, need to set aside abt 1k to achieve something "listenable". maybe different pple got diff standards and perception of listenable, but typically that's what pple going into ICE would recommend. I need some advice over here.... my audio player state "20Wx4"... what does that mean? my speakers are 5" round 120W max... what does that mean? My gf say.... my audio system no good.... but i really don't know what to add or change to make it better.... CAN SOMEBODY OUT THERE HELP!! I want better bass and good clear sharp sound.... so how can i achieve that.... i saw ampifier 600W @ RM $138... would adding that help? Edited April 3, 2002 by User12343 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched April 3, 2002 Share April 3, 2002 ============= ... Component speakers? what's that? what coaxial? ============= component spkrs are those that have the tweeters carrying high-frequency sound seperate from the mid-range and woofer. requires the use of a passive crossover to split the signal from the amp into high and low freq components to channel to the correct driver. this x-over thingy itself makans a fraction of the power, so if u still use the HU to power them, u get even lesser power delivered to the spkrs. coax is all 3 types lumped into one. that's y sometimes u see those 6" by 9" coaxs have another tweeter installed on top of the woofer. ============= My current speakers are the original ones 120W 5" round type what does 120W mean? So can i just get a ampifier and a sub woofer.... and use back all my current one..... it's be ok? ============= 120W is the max power handling of the spkr that it can take w/o burning out the voice coils. can use, but the results wld not be as good. at least 6" to provide something decent. hope that helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 3, 2002 Share April 3, 2002 Oic.... i will ask them what does the figures means..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 3, 2002 Share April 3, 2002 Think if i were to be there the next time round... i would probably ask them to fix the amp 1st... to try... then change the speakers to component type....... then add a woofer....... if i'm satisfied with it.... then i'll pay... if not.... i'll just get what i feel is necessary...... one thing good about this shop..... u can try to negotiate to test it out..... but one thing...... this shop is in Malacca!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 3, 2002 Share April 3, 2002 Ok.... i understand liao.... so my head unit is 20Wx4.... and my speakers is 120W .... so that means.... my speakers are well able to tahan the head unit now right? So i can actually get a ampifier and boost up my head unit signal and my current speakers will still be able to take it right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched April 3, 2002 Share April 3, 2002 yes, the spkrs can take it. also depending on ur head hunit whether got line-out (low-level) signal to the amps, if not, then u have to use a line-converter to interface the spkr o/p of ur amp to a low-level signal to power ur amp. that is provided that u 1 2 retain the HU which doesn't come wif line-out signal. Ok.... i understand liao.... so my head unit is 20Wx4.... and my speakers is 120W .... so that means.... my speakers are well able to tahan the head unit now right? So i can actually get a ampifier and boost up my head unit signal and my current speakers will still be able to take it right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear April 4, 2002 Share April 4, 2002 1500W as in Peak Power yes....heck...even a Sony Mini combo can put out 800W easily liao !! But what you are looking for if you want to drive your subs are RMS....not PMPO..... Always know what the RMS is.....PMPO not so applicable....as it refers to peak..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear April 4, 2002 Share April 4, 2002 Woah woah woah now.... It's actually more dangerous to use an underpowered amplifier than an overpowered one. Ok, say your speakers are rated 30-120W. Using a 20W amp on this can actually fry your speakers if driven too hard. Using a 150W amp on the other hand shouldn't cause any damage, because they will never be stressed to the point of distortion at the same given loudness as the less powerful amp. Trust me on this... Ok.... i understand liao.... so my head unit is 20Wx4.... and my speakers is 120W .... so that means.... my speakers are well able to tahan the head unit now right? So i can actually get a ampifier and boost up my head unit signal and my current speakers will still be able to take it right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...