Lukie102 Clutched March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 Hi, Flooded like nobody business today!! Wonder if anyone can advise....why does the lights (display panel) dim when my car goes over the flooded areas? I was so scared it will die off juz like that ....and found that water goes into the car (underneath the car carpet)....is it norm for the lights to go dim and water speepage?? btw, mine an old 89 charade. thx ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyopet 1st Gear March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 Rain water act as conductor to the ground causing current drawn away from the battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 u serious or not? have not heard of that man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched March 8, 2004 Author Share March 8, 2004 huh??? and then how?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 "and then how??" Hi! there, Lukie102, Find a high place to park your car, then wait for the flood water to drain away. It won't be only the electricals that's going to cause you problems. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 "lights to go dim and water speepage??" Hi! there, Lukie102, You're lucky the engine didn't die off from the submerged electricals. Water will go in when it reach the drain holes of the car, otherwise, the car will just float away, with the flood water. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched March 11, 2004 Author Share March 11, 2004 serious?? didn't know that serious. was exiting to PIE jurong from bendemeer...then it was flooded at the toa payoh exit...no choice already half way liao leh....anyway to prevent future incident?? I mean can I do anything to the car than stopping at high grounds (when there isn't?)? thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie March 11, 2004 Share March 11, 2004 "anyway to prevent future incident??" Hi! there, Lukie102, Other than not using the car, make sure you can get your car across a shallow part of the road. Watching the cars or trucks in front will let you gauge the depth of the flood water. Do not proceed if there're waves caused by the vehicle in front. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Regboyboy Neutral Newbie March 11, 2004 Share March 11, 2004 Yeah! I was at Eunos that side going to Johnson's shop to get some stickers The water covered 1/4 of my rim!! Was scared that my car will stall too. I saw a Corlla with CAI died in the middle of the road... TP had to help him push the car to the side. IT WAS THAT BAD! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 yalor, I was stuck at the jam at eunos side too for 1 and 1/2 hrs....waiting for the flood to subside... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Regboyboy Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 Yr car also cannot go into flood? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 abuthen..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Regboyboy Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 haha must follow Humvee alraedy CAI on top or follow MRS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 the water is so high until above the knee level, you tell me lah, you want to go thru or not??... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Regboyboy Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 haha it covered 1/4 of my rim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 you heng lah......volvo got lots of electrical stuffs, can get shorted out easily... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 Water will go in when it reach the drain holes of the car, otherwise, the car will just float away, with the flood water. Like the old Beetles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Regboyboy Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 Yeah ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...