SLK Launch

Bluz

The 2.5 6 pot is about 30 bhp more than the SLK200.

What's the difference? 6 pots--feel more shiok. 3 months ago I traded in my 2.2L 170 bhp 320i for a C-class sedan and i am missing the "drive" liao. Subject to viewing it looks like i might do the same with my roadster and trade in my 6 pot 2 liter Z3 for the new SLK. I think I can be a happy poor man driving the SLK.

Z4--I like it but my boss (my 3 yr old kid) did not pick it. She consistently picks the SLK model car (yes its available in Pandan C&C) from the selection of Z4, SLK and Boxster die cast model cars.

U can get it in PI...I am considering it...terms are the same but 2 yrs warrantynod.gif

I noe what you mean, the IL6 is still one of the more refined engines in this classthumbsup.gif

The smoothness and refinement of the engine coupled with the sweet purr at 6000RPM and above is amazingthumbsup.gif

the Z4 boot is quite deep but i do not think its wide enuf for a golf bag. The driver and woods must still go in front.

The designer of sport cars are in fact thinking of boot space--but only for carrying the golf set to country clubs...

laugh.giflaugh.gifMy wallet needs to consider with me at the same time too hor...and u not contributing to gahmen coffers how to consolidate?rolleyes.gif

no... waiting for a long time. Finally the launch is here on July 9. But even so still must wait for delivery maybe in Aug/Sep.

<>

Edited by Bluz

laugh.giflaugh.gifEh Bro....he listurbing and replying to me la...wink.gif

But man that will be one nice ride....btu the IL6 would still be my choicethumbsup.gif

I'm doing my part for the gahman mah and paid up all my taxes liao.. Once you get your wages restored to pre-sars level, no problem liao hor? [:p]

".......pre-sars level, no problem liao hor?...."

For die-cast first la...laugh.giflaugh.gif

Then to RC......

Then to the

Battery Chargertongue.gif

I have to check too, as a friend (mracer77 in the bmw forums) has this contact who brings in these cars. So far 2 have come in the PI way already from what I know.thumbsup.gif

Hey, just wondering. How come u prefer 6 cylinders to 4? Even if the power output is abt the same? Wat's the diff? I haven driven a 6 cylinder car, so i dunno...

Hehe, i prefer Z4's looks. SLK gives me the impression tat it's a poor man's SLR.

If you have ever tried a 6 cylinder for a long term drive, you will appreciate the creaminess and growl of the the engine. Modern 4 cylinders with balancer shafts are pretty OK now but if you get to compare them side by side, the differences are obvious. For example, if I have to take my mom's Audi A4 (4 cylinder) now, I feel that the engine is coarse and unrefined, but previously, when I was driving just a 4 cylinder, I thought the A4 had a wonderful engine.

Also, an NA car has a more linear and smoother torque curve than a supercharged car, which translates to better drive on road conditions where you don't rev hard.

The Z4 2.5 does 0-100 in 7.5 seconds in automatic transmission and 7.0 for manual. I think it is just slightly less than 200 bhp. That's pretty decent performance considering the E60 530 only does 0-100 in 7.1 seconds on manual.

PML is not selling the Z4 2.2 because it is not 'competitively priced', or so they claim.

ur evaluation of the 4 cyl and the 6 cyl (in V?? inline?) basically all i agree with too!

not tat i damn experienced car owner... but had chance of owning a 4 cyl and now V6... smoothness and all tat the 4 cylinder no fight (tho i very much enjoyed my time with a 4 cyl too...)

ur take on NA vs supercharge or turbos also same thing (i agree)... mostly boils down to the smooth power delivery a good NA engine can dish out... only thing must at least be quite BIG CAPACITY to be in the "serious fun" category... forced induction on the othr hand can be a real thrill but if not tuned properly - i think can really make one take anxiety pills after every drive... [thumbsup]

i also think tat the nail was hit on the head abt the SLK now being a "poor" man's SLR... [:p] somehow aftr the SL series and SLR was relaunched... the SLK seems to me as "low priority" if i got the dosh to buy this category of cars... for sure the SL/SLK will eat into each others territory... but please please give me a SL anytime!!! [sunny]

Forced induction cars also translate to less road tax for equal performance with NA cars.

I think people who buy the SLK will be going for the brand and the metal roof more than anything else. SLK is for the younger generation and when they grow older, if not bankrupted, will upgrade to SL. Similarly, with the Z4 and 645.

yes.. equal or better in performance but a big cut in refinement... !!

SL for older gen?? cannot leh... so blardy chio car how can target be for older gen?? the SL is so much more "DA FANG" and showy than the SLK... speaks volumes more IMO...

but of cos, i wldnt mind if i was given an SLK... i mean who would ! [rolleyes]