Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 That shop is Concord loh! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 hey, that's exactly what I want to do.. in fact, I've been carrying the sensor (given to me by a friend) for months in my car, but couldn't really figure out how to do it... What tools do you need to stuff the wires through? Do you need to remove parts of your dash to access the hole in the firewall? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 Er...........sorry, bro. When I was reinstalling my hifi, I asked the installer to run the wires for me! However, I've exposed the firewall hole before in my car and it seems easy enough to thread the small wires through. From the inside, all you need is to dismantle the glove compartment and you should be able reach that hole. Where are you staying? If you are not too far from River Valley, maybe can come for a look see tonight. My office no at River Valley is 6-836 0577. I'll be there from 6 to 10pm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 yeah, can swing by River Valley on my way back home.. will give you a call? PM me your address there? Thanks doc! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 Hehe.....been there 4yrs alredi but did not know the shop name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 Sorry bro, by the time I read your last posting, I'm already at my River Valley office. Anyway, I hope I'm not too late................... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Author Share October 2, 2002 2. $120 - $160 for Auto Meter at Mc Well, excluding installation. VDO is a bit cheaper and can be bought from VDO-SG. Last time I check, the price of their oil pressure and temp gauge was $42.60. Sender/casing is sold separately. You've gotta check the addy from the Yellow Pages. It's somewhere at Buona Vista Ind Park. One of that cost $120??? Thats too x liao lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 Hey bro, no probs, thanks anyway.. I tried calling your office, but felt that it's not very good of me to swing by and distract you from attending to your patients Anyway, I went back and figured out how to do the thing.. Just stuck a straightened clothes hanger from the engine bay through the firewall hole which is just behind the glove compartment. At the other end, bend the hanger into a hook using pliers and black tape the digital thermometer wires to the "hook" and pull it back out into the engine bay. Correct method right? Anyway, went for a spin just now, and the temp readings at the cone (it's supposed to be a CAI) shows 37 degrees without aircon, and 43 degrees with aircon.. Hmm... is that supposed to be indication of an effective CAI? Think it's a little hot.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nilkz Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 thanks, will go check it out, i've been to concord before, thing is that they dont install (ifi am not wrong), if got chance then i will check out vdo-sg also, will post here once these are done... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ezlife Neutral Newbie October 2, 2002 Share October 2, 2002 Hi, was looking for a digi tachometer. any brands to intro? where can get it? thx. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 $120 expensive? Heh, heh.......you haven't check out Apexi or Defi yet!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 >>Just stuck a straightened clothes hanger from the engine bay through the firewall hole which is just behind the glove compartment. At the other end, bend the hanger into a hook using pliers and black tape the digital thermometer wires to the "hook" and pull it back out into the engine bay. Correct method right? That's damn ingenious man! >>and the temp readings at the cone (it's supposed to be a CAI) shows 37 degrees without aircon, and 43 degrees with aircon.. Hmm... is that supposed to be indication of an effective CAI? You have to do a series of measurement at different speed and compare with external temp for a more accurate assessment. For me, I placed the sensor directly at the intake and monitor the external temp at the same time. Took readings at 90kmh and 60kmh. What I found is that at 90kmh, with and without a/c, the difference in temp is about 0.11 degrees, which IMO is pretty good. BUT, at lower speed, the temp diff is much, much higher because the fan is blowing hot radiator air all over the place! Hmmm..........seems like I need to redesign the intake to minimise hot air suction at lower speeds. Anyway, here are the pics as promised. A bit blur.....sorry! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 Sorry, don't know much about digi-meters as I've never actively search for them. IMO, all car meters should be in dial form as a digi-meter will be out of place. Just my $0.02. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 Bro, cool stuff!!! So the display is always there in your dash? I am thinking of doing a test to understand the temperature in the engine compartment. The "quick & dirty" way would be to pull the wire from the engine bay into the cabin via the front window then.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 How can I place those 2 ugly temp gauges on my dash?!!! They will certainly spoil the lines of my dash....... I placed them below the ash tray, where only those inside the car can see them. >>I am thinking of doing a test to understand the temperature in the engine compartment. The "quick & dirty" way would be to pull the wire from the engine bay into the cabin via the front window then.... That would be the simplest way! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 These sensors can be bought from SLS?? If these are nice analog type, I dun mind fixing them on the dash.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 Those are computer tower temp sensors, bought at SLS, 5th level. It's a corner shop but I can't remember it's name. Well, they don't have an analogue temp meter that measure the low temp range but they have this................. You can measure your oil temp with that! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie October 3, 2002 Share October 3, 2002 Will check out SLS this weekend. Just want to DIY something simple to see how hot it is to be in there.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...