Honda Civic Vtec Opinion

Tf_514

I am interested to get a honda civic vtec now after the test drive in ubi.

Which of these cars is a better option (pros/cons)

1) City Vtec 1.5A $73 000

2) Civic Vtec 1.6A $80 000

3) Civic Vti-S 1.7A $85 500

Any SE to recommend. Want to get a good buy. Please advise.

Thank you so much! [thumbsup]

Comparing to 2002 Civic Vti 1.5A around $60 000 in the 2nd hand market.

A new car or a old car is more worth it?

i am currently comparing the VTi-S with the Toyota Altis 1.8 VVTi.

just the specs

Honda is a SOHC engine with 128bhp @6300rpm & 155Nm @ 4800rpm

Toyota is a DOHC engine with 134bhp @6000rpm & 171Nm @ 4200rpm

looks like the Toyota is a superior car just looking at the specs abut is not very modable like the VTec...

any comments?

If u can, get the Vti-s for 5.5k more... else get the vtec 1.6A. THink u should avoid the City...not sure about its performance/FC, but i think its shape looks a bit odd. [:p]

Edited by Robinchoo

Honda Civic 1.7 VTec S$85500

Toyota Altis 1.8 VVTi S$86168

both standard package without leather seats etc... think the Civic is on 15" rims while the Altis is on 14"...

road tax for the Civic will be cheaper as it is 1668cc as compared with the Altis 1794cc.

insurance for the Civic is about 2-3% more than the Altis. must be probability of accidents.

depending on how picky one is...

Altis, made in Thailand.

Civic, made in Japan.

I believe the OMV of the Civic is pretty decent as well. SE for both companies around the same, although I've heard more about the attitute of BM SE lately. Servicing for Honda needs only 5 days advance notice. Decent price as well, esp since you can bring your own oil and filters.

Both prices quite close. Yes, Civic is on 15" rims.

Not sure if you can get them to throw in leather seats for you or not though.

Up to you whether you prefer cheaper road tax or cheaper insurance.

You might want to check up on servicing costs also. nod.gif

just the specs

looks like the Toyota is a superior car just looking at the specs abut is not very modable like the VTec...

any comments?

For better drivability/handling/performance get a Honda

For comfort/reliability/sedate driving choose Toyota

With both makes, you can't go wrong, ultimately I guess

you got to go with your heart, which one gives you the

"flutter" and not one which people say is good......

Edited by Carnut

just the specs

any comments?

Actually there is 1 advantage that Civic has over Altis. Civic comes in manual thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif and Altis doesn't.... shakehead.gifshakehead.gifshakehead.gif

honda is cheaper servicing.

civic has not so gd leg rm. both dun look nice imo. to me there's no pt in getting a 1.7/1.8L altis or civic. just dun appeal to me. nowhere here nor there.

depending on how picky one is...

Altis, made in Thailand.

Civic, made in Japan.

I believe the OMV of the Civic is pretty decent as well. SE for both companies around the same, although I've heard more about the attitute of BM SE lately. Servicing for Honda needs only 5 days advance notice. Decent price as well, esp since you can bring your own oil and filters.

honda usu. have better OMV. the altis one is esp. low. but tats onli for the basic model.

Good thing about Honda servicing also is that you can bring in your own engine oil etc (eg. oil filter, spark plugs...). tongue.gif

The rear leg room for the Civic is quite good leh.. compared to the Altis lah.

? really. maybe i'm basing my impressions on the 2002 civic. i haven't sat in the 2004 one. but altis legrm for the 1.6L category of japanese sedans is gd lah. conti cars tend to have shorter rear seats so give the impression of more space. trust it frm someone who gets backaches easily tongue.gif