Discoburg Supersonic September 24, 2004 Share September 24, 2004 So where will you recommend to go for the sealant grooming? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 24, 2004 Share September 24, 2004 DIY lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackbeauty Neutral Newbie September 25, 2004 Share September 25, 2004 According to GLARE's advertistment, they even claim that it is used in the barrel of the rifle to keep it clean! Anyway, if anyone wants to give GLARE a try, do it before the end of this month to take advantage of the 50% discount. If anyone is wondering where to go, you can try out their new branch at AMK autopoint. They've got some very nice folks there. I've tried GLARE and I must say that it is very value for $$$ (taking into account of the 50% discount promotion they are having now). Yes, Glare at AMK Autopoint is gd. Me Glared my car there too. 50% offer is really value for $$. Agree completely with Spango. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ebeny 2nd Gear October 6, 2004 Share October 6, 2004 The offer over liao? How much was it with the discount? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dcool Neutral Newbie October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 (edited) I am currently using glare. My car is on it for abt 2 mths now. I did a lot of research and comparison in other forums including this one for opinions before i decided. After a mth long study, i narrowed down to Glare and Toughseal. I went for several meet up with other car forums to look at there car and to compare the paintwork and finishing of the different PPS on the various surfaces. That time Ultrashield was not out yet. So i couldnt give a opinion on that sealant. I noticed that the Viso group were very pro Toughseal while Glare has its own group of supporters in various car forums. Everyone has comments on each of the PPS. But rather than believing hearsay, i always believe in seeing, feeling and testing myself to convince what is really good. Bc what is good enough for certain people might not be good for the rest. Toughseal : The initial first time application was good and it seem to be able to give the surface a smooth feeling. And minimal swirl marks was noted ( probably bc of new car surface). Glare : The suface is the same as the Toughseal however, i notice something which i wasnt sure if my eyes was fooling me, at night the surface on Glare seem more glossy than Toughtseal. In other words, when a car drives by with healights on, the surface is able to reflect the light sharply. In order words, there is no flare around the projected light. I deduce this as the inital surface finish(no swirl marks) of the car before the PPS was done. 2 mths after application TS : The surface seem to have lost much of its gloss (out of 100, i say 5-10%) and the swirls marks are more prominent now. The owner of the car is a ex colleague of mine and i know he takes care of his car. His is a brand new a red Jazz and he washes his car regularly and also send it for the TS car wash. I taught him the proper way of washing his car, so i doubt the swirl marks are cause by him. I notice 2 things which really bothers me abt TS. One, the swirls marks were more after the TS wash, and two, there were some stains embedded on the surface which can only be seen clearly at night under the yellow street lamp. I tried removing the stains with water and my fingers but was unsuccessful. He uses artificial chamos and quality cloth from Autobacsto wash his car with. He also told me that he is using the shampoo given by TS. Which they recommended their customer to use when they wash their car. I dig further and found out that for the TS carwash was using High pressure water jet to wash the cars and they dun do clay bar (can someone confirm this ?? ) which might explain the swirl marks after each TS car wash. And also if you dun have their Dry and guard solution with you, they will not apply it on your car. SO that makes it a normal car wash with shampoo and inspection. Watermarks were absent or minimul. The protection seem effective for water mark which i believe is the reason of the Dry and Guard solution. Birdshit shadow is present when it was left under hot sun but i believe TS should be able to live up to its claim and remove it. Glare : Under the yellow street lamp. You can see swirl marks but much less(x 3) than the Jazz with TS. The surface loss it smooth feeling which it initally has after it was Glared. Glare does have shampoo for sale but the sales person will tell you that it is not necessary unless you do not wash your car often. Surface have the wet look in the day and night and is able to reflect light well if its clean. At night under yellow street lamp Glare seem to look better. The reflection of light is still clear and without flare in around the projection of the light source. Car with oil or dirt(not dust) stain is easily removed with just plain water and sometimes with a wet finger. No soap is required. For bird droppings, wet tissue is capable of removing them. However a shadow is visible on the surface. Water cant remove that shadow and will need Glare Car Spa to remove it at $15. Car spa at orchard is done with tap flowing water and glare car shampoo with clay bar. Inspection is carried out and touch up is done. Fine scratches can be removed by them. One thing i like abt their expertise : i noticed that they have halogon lamps shining on the car bay and after washing the car, they will off the halogen lamp while drying the car in the area. Most people will not have notice these small details but i do. Halogen lamps emits intensive heat on the projected area and damages paint surface when its wet, leaving water marks. End result of Car Spa is good and your car will look like the day it just glared. $15 is worth the bucket! Surface has the oily smooth feeling again, and it is the result of clay baring the surface. I chose Glare bc i find that they do not do rush job and they ae confident of their product. They will not try to squeeze your car into their tight scedule if they are busy. So far Glare have live up to my high expectations. But TS after seeing my frd's car has not impressed me so much other than its Dry and Guard. To me both the products serve the same purpose and they do their job well. But its the application and the handling of the surfaces by the 2 applier that makes the main difference. The choice of each individual and expectation is different so i will not recommend any particular one. I am not paid by Glare or sponsored by them in anyway. Its thru my own findings that i have come up with this side by side review. If you need more info of Toughseal you can find out from the vios forum at www.vogs.net they highly recommend it to everyone. For Glare, i believe you can read from some other posting in this forums. BTW i also found out that Patrick of Toughseal used to work in Glare. Good luck and always remember to feather dust your car before you wash it ! Edited October 7, 2004 by Dcool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcostan 4th Gear October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 Tank, I collect my Dark Blue Rav4 this April. The first day after I collected my ride, because of the body condition is excellent. So I just clean it and apply one layer of Autoglym Extra Gloss Sealant. Then, every weekend, I just gave my ride a good washing and apply another layer of Autoglym EGS. Till today, I need to renew my road tax already. My ride don't even hv a water spot. To keep your ride in tip top condition is not a easy task. 1. Cleaning your ride everyday b4 you go home. 2. Wash your ride immediately after a rainfall. For me if possible after a rainfall I shall dry my ride immediately where ever is possible (this is why there's water spot if U do not dry and let the water dry on the surface of the paint). 3. Keep apply Sealant weekly and do not care what the product claim about the durability. What I believe is apply weekly will make sure the layer of sealant is always there. Tank, u may find this is difficult to do, but what to do u cann't lazy if u want a tip top ride and if U keep doing this u shall find that everytime you clean you babe, the cleaning cloth is white and not dark. Then, u know u are doing the right thing. One more think for my own opinion, I never believe those product that they claim for ever gloss for 18 months or even longer. The cost is anytime over $500, I better DIY. Now, I'm change to use Klasse Product. The reason is eventhose Autoglym is a good product but the curing time is too long (at least 1-2 hours b4 buff off). But the Klasse product is no waiting time just wipe on wipe off. The result is Task, this hope can give u some ideal. MarcosTan Toyota Rav4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jagash Neutral Newbie October 8, 2004 Share October 8, 2004 Hi There is a product which I investigated in the 90s call Fire Glaze. It was initially sold off the shelf but was taken off. It is very much like Glare. See the write up below: Quote" THE TRUTH ABOUT FIRE GLAZE "THE FINEST POLISH IN THE WORLD" We are proud to send you the finest polish available anywhere in the entire world. What makes our polish so unique is that it is not made of any teflons,acrylics, polymers, resins, plastics, carnuba, or waxes. It is a totally new revolutionary chemical composition developed by Ameri-Chem Mfg. Co.'s Engineering Staff 15 years ago, and has been completely and totally perfected. We are rapidly taking over the polyglycoat market and all other polymer products, in the United States and the World. One of the reasons for this rapid success, is that our product, once applied, turns to a glass-like substance, instead of plastic or polymer coating. In layman's terms, to best explain this process, you can actually say it is like a liquid glass with hardeners in the product. I will now tell you explicitly how to test Fire Glaze, and how to apply it properly. If you follow these instructions exactly as I'm writing them to you, you will understand the product and it's applications and why it's the fastest, easiest one-step polish on the market. One more very important thing that we want to stress about Fire Glaze is its unique properties. Fire Glaze will effectively filter out the harmful ultraviolet rays that damage the paint. The scientific reason for this, as you know, is glass filters out damaging sun rays, and since Fire Glaze tums to glass, it has a super-hard coating. Our product will last up to three years without any renewal application necessary. Whereas, other sealants and polishes on the market today, even if they claim to have a three year guarantee, is purely semantical on the manufacturer's part. As you turn the bottle, and read the back side of any other polish that claims to give this kind of guarantee, it explicitly reads that in order for there to be a lifetime, three year, or whatever guarantee they claim, you must re-apply their product every three to six months to validate the guarantee displayed on the front of the bottle. As you can see, this is no guarantee at all. Just pure semantics and confusion for the customer. Again, besides one coat lasting three years and protecting the vehicle from oxidation, Fire Glaze is a one-step product. There is no rubbing compound necessary on most vehicles. Fire Glaze will also protect against nature's elements. Here's how to properly apply Fire Glaze. First, you must wash the vehicle with soap and water, and then dry the vehicle thoroughly. The first coat of Fire Glaze is to be rubbed in (to remove all oxidized paint, etc.) until the paint pops out to a high gloss. You do not let it dry to a haze. You rub it in until it disappears. If the vehicle you are putting Fire Glaze on is a metallic paint that's too far gone, nothing will bring back the luster or gloss even if you use a rubbing compound. The reason why is that metallic paints before 1977 were not acrylic metallics. They were lead-based metallics with a lacquer coating. When the lacquer coating is burnt off by the sun, all you have left is the lead. Any polish applied to lead will turn black. You just can't polish lead. However, any acrylic metallic after 1977; any lacquered paint job before 1977; any enamel paint job before 1977; and any acrylic enamel before 1977 can have Fire Glaze applied to them. Fire Glaze will restore the paint on any vehicle as long as the paint is still on the vehicle, and the primer is not showing through. After you have used Fire Glaze as a rubbing compound and you've gotten the high gloss to appear on the vehicle, apply the second coat of Fire Glaze, but this time rub it lightly. Do the entire vehicle and let the polish dry to a haze this time. Wait for 15 minutes and wipe off the vehicle with a clean, dry cloth. You should apply Fire Glaze on a cool, dry surface, preferably in the shade. After you have wiped off the second coat of Fire Glaze, it will cure by itself. Within 24 hours, you can try the following test with a can of spray paint. Do not use an epoxy or krylon spray paint. These stick too hard, even though they can be removed without damage. Use only normal fast drying enamel. Spray the paint on the hood, or anywhere else on the vehicle, and let it dry completely. Take a little bit of Fire Glaze on a cloth, and rub into the paint you have just sprayed on the vehicle.You will notice the paint did not eat through the Fire Glaze, and it, in fact, came off onto your cloth. Fire Glaze will also protect against salt, road tar, diesel fuel, gasoline, and even brake fluid. Fire Glaze has many uses. You can take a small amount of Fire Glaze and actually "seal" your windshield by rubbing the polish into the glass until it disappears. Do the inside and outside of the windows on your car, airplane, etc. Fire Glaze is so unique, it will effectively stop aluminum and brass from oxidizing. It will polish silver, gold, enamel (on major appliances, etc.). Its uses are limitless. Its protection cannot be beat by anything on the market today. Please read all of the testimonial letters from important, reputable firms, on the following pages." Unquote. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...