ECU Workshops

Sotong_kia

Huh? Thot McWell is at Ubi? Since when they open a new shop at IMM? [shocked]

Anyway I have heard many negative remarks about McWell's technical proficiency, or rather the lack of it. May wanna be more careful before allowing them to twiddle with your ride, especially the brain (ECU) [sweatdrop]

Bro

wat happen to your ECU?

me recently send to SA for re-tuning after a trip up north...

dunno if its the petrol or my habit to pushing speedo to >170 extended stretch...

came back with erratic rpm.... [sweatdrop]

seems to hear many cases of crazy Optra ECU need re-tune.

Think Botak was one of the first..

funny my previous trip turn out fine... [confused]

there is a McWell in Jurong East. Dont know the building name but it's QUITE NEAR to IMM, inside the light industrial estate. If drive along PIE towards 2nd link, after bukit batok ave 6 exit, can see the building just beside the xpressway. several car shops there.

I also got problem with my Chevy lately.

Can't crank at times... when sent to workshop their engineers said cannot trace the fault...

Keeps saying cannot trace any fault.

Then for past 3 weeks, i sent in my car for 4 times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

becos of cannot start issue. Frustrating..!!!

Then finally complain till their service manager agree to change the ECU.

Now the car becomes so smooth!!

Why?

Why does this kinda things happens to NEW Car?

I only had the car about 3 months.

Previously the car has a very laggy feel, even the enginner who serviced my car comment that after changing the ECU, the whole car feels so much smoother.

Hmm ... you guys may wanna take note of this.

And now the steering wheel got sounds whenever i drive off in the morning to work. Sounds like rusty, why? It's a NEW car!!!!

Then the brake also got sound whenever i depressed it...

Also sounds like rust ...

Why?

New Car leh!!!!!!!!! Why like that?

Anyone? Any comments?

CHevy Newbie ..

you driving auto? is normal for brake to have sound when you slowly depress the pedal.

rusty brake disc is also normal. dont worry, rust will go away after a few brakes wink.gif

no prob with my ecu though...

and yes, aveo is very well built cos there is always slight noises from vibrating parts and such... no choice, it's a cheap car so got to compromise on quality lah unsure.gif

Hi Ultraman

Think I saw You last Friday along Clementi Road

outside Ngee Ann Poly towards Bt Timah.

Was trying to catch up with you but you are turning

right at junction while I am going Left to Bt Timah

Shell Kiosk.

BTW, There is a Mcwell Shop in Toh Guan Centre.

It is next to Swee Lee Motor Dealer ( Parallel Importer ).

Bro

wat happen to your ECU?

me recently send to SA for re-tuning after a trip up north...

dunno if its the petrol or my habit to pushing speedo to >170 extended stretch...

came back with erratic rpm.... sweatdrop.gif

seems to hear many cases of crazy Optra ECU need re-tune.

Think Botak was one of the first..

funny my previous trip turn out fine... confused.gif

Wah, I dunno whether got balls to drive at that speed or not.. haha..

My ECU got idling issue. When in P or N, idling higher than 900rpm, which is the norm when I am in D mode and fully pressed on the brakes.

When start, it revs to 2000 rpm and stays there, or drop to 1500 only..

and if I press accelerator, it hits 2000 rpm or above, and STAYS THERE.. like as though the throttle is stuck.. but it is not.. cos they checked the cable.

Sent in 14th Oct, rectified.. they say reset MTIA or something like that.. that handles engine..

now, starting to have the symptoms again..

bro, you are not alone...

My Optra has the following problems

1) 1-2 gear can't change after coming out from a deep slope (like exit from basement car park)

2) Accelerator pedal sometimes very stiff and the engine feels rough (especially in the morning). But sometimes the pedal feel light...that's when the engine felt pretty free-reving and smooth

3) Brake pedal has sound when depress. I am already immune to it.

The first two problem they always tell me go home first and see how. I am already sick and tired of that sentence. I respect your insistence of going back there 4 times in 3 weeks. I stay in Sembawang..very expensive on my petrol to keep going there.

But when my 20KM servicing is up..I intend to give them a piece of my mind. Just watch.

I think better check with the Opel kakis where they service their car. Chevies, Daewoos and Opels all use ACDelco/Delphi ECUs. Perhaps their techs will know much more.

I think at 30 or 40k the auto transaxle is due for a fluid change. Please please go to a reputable one that will drop the pan and change the filter as well. Don't do half-f***ed job with an exchange of fluids. Not good enough.

Errr Godfinger... did you see an Ultraman at the wheel? Or just the back of my car with a yellow "Ultraman on Board" sign? Cause I dun recall going to that area in that direction on a Friday... sweatdrop.gif

Anyway if u see a blue Aveo next time, with an Ultraman hanging on the rear window on the driver side, that's probably me sly.gif

[reply]

you driving auto? is normal for brake to have sound when you slowly depress the pedal.

rusty brake disc is also normal. dont worry, rust will go away after a few brakes wink.gif

no prob with my ecu though...

and yes, aveo is very well built cos there is always slight noises from vibrating parts and such... no choice, it's a cheap car so got to compromise on quality lah unsure.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well in case you all din noticed, under the US Chevy website, there is a new entry into the page on Aveo. It says that the Aveo is the only car in its class to get a 5-Stars rating for crash safety, tested by the US Department of Transportation or something like that. With my first hand experience in a rear and frontal collision, plus testimonies from other Aveo drivers in the States, I can boldly say that the body shell of the Aveo is indeed tough and well built.

However it seems the build quality of the internal components has much to doubt, with so many testimonies from so many bros... sigh.... thumbsdown.gif

Edited by Ultraman

Oh yah hor... aiya the 5-Stars is for the US version mah. Ours no airbags but got COE mah. So at most depreciate to 3-Stars lor, still better than no stars [:p][laugh]

i believe the structure is strong, but cant say the same for the metal. seems like the side panels will get dented easily with every slightest knock from the opening door of neighbouring car - how else to explain so many dings and dents on my car?

Bro Sotong,

wats ur milage, if I remember urs very new..

my ECU went "crazy logic" after 12000+ km

still wondering if its the petronas petrol...

all the while I use only Shell 98

suggest you dun try outside workshop else SA got excuse to void warranty,

think we should find some channel complain to GM...

BTW, the car is really stable at high speeds, so ur sotong balls should be enuf...