ICE upgrade - Advice

Peterlee

Hi.

New to ICE. What is the first upgrade you guys recommend? Is it cheaper to goto JB? Roughly how much for a decent setup would cost.

Thanks

Edited by Admin

Depend what do U need? what car u drive? Most important is How much is yr budget?

I dun think go to JB is good idea. If some wiring go wrong, U got to go back again! and sometimes the workmanship may not be good enough. And not that cheap!

Edited by Mondeo

As little as I know abt ICE, suggest you do the upgrades in stages. This is what I would do if I were to upgrade my ICE.

First things to do I can suggest:

1. Get a subwoofer

2. Get a 4 channel amp

3. Replace the front speakers

Get the 4 channel amp to power both the subs and the new pair of front speakers, leaving the stock HU to power the rear speakers.

This shld cost you abt $1,000 at most (unless u are gunning for a higher end type)

Subwoofer can try Bazooka, front spkrs can try CDT or Kickers etc... as for amp, I dunno liao, make sure get a higher powered amp so that ur subs get the power it deserves.

Prices for componets like Headunit, changer amps etc...are higher in Malaysia due to the taxes that M'sia imposed.

Better than you do your system here.

BTW....care to share what your budget and sound that you are looking for ??

Usually the head unit itself makes a significant difference, plus some decent aftermarket speakers.

Amps play a part too.

Best of all, if you are able to try out what you intend to buy first.

Some shops actually allow this.

In fact, one particular shop owner actually told me that there is no point changing anything, if you are unable to tell the difference.

Also, it is always safer to do it locally.

Cheers : )

Edited by Wrxman

Sorry for late reply. Busy with baby. Wife just gave birth on19/3. BTW, just exploring the possibilities. with baby maybe need to tahan and listen to my VDO.

Recently the HU came off and I had to use bluetak to paste back so that's why tought of doing a ICE upgrade. Budget should be in the range of S$500. Looking for base to listen to Linkin Park type of music!?

Congratulations Peter!

Spare other budget for seasame street CDs.hahaha [laugh] and LCD screen behind for yr baby [laugh]

Edited by Mondeo

Peter, congratulations!

Am sure you will be busy in the next few month taking good care of the baby - day & night!

BTW, guys, I have specially created a thread for Peter Lee's bundle of joy! Peter, you might want to talk abt your newborn (or upload some pics) here at:

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=7469

Pls send your wishes there.

THANKS!

Fabiaman...

Any reco... recently I went to New Generation to install Helix Speakers... $420. with tweeters.. this shop won alot of awards and rather ex.

Can you reco some shops.. I am thinking of putting in an AMP and free-air Woofers.

Need the boot space.

regards,

Problem with free-air woofers is that you need to make sure the rear board which holds the woofers are steady man... if not, the rumbling low frequencies from the woofers will be sound slightly more messy.

As for installers, see:

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=496

Can you reco some shops.. I am thinking of putting in an AMP and free-air Woofers.

Need the boot space.

regards,

Just discovered this forum today.

Ah Gui : You beri the active here. :)

Welcome Peterkoh, just wonder where did U know this forum? [blush]

"In fact, one particular shop owner actually told me that there is no

point changing anything, if you are unable to tell the difference. " - Could agree more. ICE is not much different to home systems sometimes. When you hit certain price range, the difference is so subtle and hard to distinguish. Maybe it's my ears ... a $20,000 pair of speakers didn't sound that much different to a $2k one during a hi-fi show.

Not to mention ultra-pure cables or those RF filter that costs hundreds of dollars. Some may shows improvement using electronis scopes but what the heck, most of our ears can't pick up signal above 20khz.

Going by the same measure ... I would think HUs have the least difference as compared to add-ons like power amp or spks upgrade esp. when you are using CD source. Thus, it's the last I would upgrade if I have a limited budget.

Edited by Peterkoh

Congrats Pete ! Maybe the $500 shd go to the milk powder ??! ;)

I'm consider trying to upgrade my stock system at this budget. Want to do it together ?

Hi Fabiaman, how to make the parcel shelf more stable ? Stick a few pieces of Dynamet below ?? :) Pls advise. Thks.