Peterkoh Neutral Newbie May 20, 2002 Share May 20, 2002 Good man. Most family oriented moderator I've ever met. Maybe we shd all invite our wives, gf, mistresses, etc to join this forum :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peterkoh Neutral Newbie May 20, 2002 Share May 20, 2002 I always depend on ah gui for such leads lah but this time i think he is lanning to tell me only on chinese 7th month. :) I got to know it from Delphi ICE forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 20, 2002 Share May 20, 2002 Hi Peter, welcome to MCF. Hope U enjoy your stay here! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 20, 2002 Share May 20, 2002 Just discovered this forum today. Ah Gui : You beri the active here. :) Welcome to MCF... enjoy your stay here.. and be active!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hatch_lover Neutral Newbie June 6, 2002 Share June 6, 2002 Just discovered this forum today. Ah Gui : You beri the active here. :) Welcome to MCF... enjoy your stay here.. and be active!! Hmm, anybody got any idea with regards to the stock HI-fi sys in the comfort Ford Focus? I know it has a alpine HU with a 6 disc changer under the front passenger seat. I'm thinking of adding a 4-ch amp and also changing the front speakers. Budget ard $700, possible or not har? do i need to change the stock speakers? btw, the stock speakersis it alpine speakers or no-brand kind? Thx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie June 6, 2002 Share June 6, 2002 JB tax for electronic goods such as ICE are very high.. infact, you see most JB coming down to Singapore to do.. it is cheaper in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 7, 2002 Share June 7, 2002 Hi Hatch_lover, I'm not driving the Focus, but u need to find out whether the HU is an Alpine unit or a OEM unit made by Alpine. I'm saying so 'cos my Dad's driving a S40 with an OEM headunit (made, supposedly, by Bang & Olufsen). There is no pre-out, RCA jacks, power connectors like the HUs we encounter. Instead, there is only 1 socket which carries audio signals & power from/to the unit. I've approached some installers before. In order to install an amp, u'll need a hi-lo convertor in order to feed the audio signals from the HU to the amp. However, if yous is a Alpine HU, fitting an amp should not be a problem & the use of hi-lo convertor is eliminated. Changing to front speakers first is a good move. The OEM speakers are usually nothing more than cheap paper cones. Changing to better ones will definitely improve the imaging & staging. For speakers, I strongly recommend CDT. There are 3 series: entry-level Cambria, mid-level Classics, hi-end Hi Definitions (HD). I've been using the Cambria & found that its performance is on par or better than some branded ones. This brand is highly recommended by AutoS (an installer). If u require more info, do visit http://www.cdtaudio.com For $700, it is quite possible to hook up a used 4-ch amp (r u running a sub?) & get a decent pair of CDT speakers. It's best to discuss with your installer. If u need recommendations, do approach AutoS. In SGP, there are many installers who can help u install & get sound out of your system. But are they able to get the full potential out of your system with your budget? Are they well-versed with all aspects of car audio? AutoS' charges may not be the cheapest, but u'll get guaranteed results. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear June 7, 2002 Share June 7, 2002 (edited) When i got my COE car last year, the stock HU with 10 CD changer skipped a lot... the rear 6" x 9" torn.... and the front 4" whines. Here's what i did for less than S$400 Front (5.25") JBL 5.0c (exchanged with a 2CH amp my uncle gave me ) Rear JBL 6" x 9" (RM$148-bought in JB) 4CH Alpine amp (bought 2nd hand at $100) Clarion Single disc HU (bought 2nd hand at $100) Other installation charges came to about $100++ My music definitely sounded much much better after the "upgrade" (if u can call it)... I've tried installation in JB. My advice is don't do it there coz of the hassle of returning there should something go wrong. Workmanship in Singapore is just as good, if not better. I'm sure u won't mind paying a bit more for reliability? But hardware in JB is cheap and worth buying Edited June 7, 2002 by Diesel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie June 7, 2002 Share June 7, 2002 where did u get all those 2nd hand stuffs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hatch_lover Neutral Newbie June 10, 2002 Share June 10, 2002 (edited) Hi koolaba, thx for ur suggestions!! Really appreciate it. In fact somebody also suggested thjat i go for CDT speakers....to be honest i have never heard of this brand but i will definitely audition them if i can at a shop. Do u know where can i go to audition? Edited June 10, 2002 by Hatch_lover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 11, 2002 Share June 11, 2002 Hi, To be honest, I was very skeptical about how good CDT speakers are when compared with the more famous brands. AutoS was the installer who introduced this brand to me. However, one look at it, u know that it should be able to perform quite well-the build quality of the speaker is superb & the design is innovative, for the price u r paying. If u've seen the pictures on the CDT website, u'll notice the tweeters of the entry level Cambria speakers are mounted on an arched arm, unlike the conventional method of planting it directly at the centre of the woofer. This, I believe, should help in the more accuratel production of music. Once installed, the speakers look quite chio also, when u see the red speaker baskets whenever u open the boot. For audition, u can contact AutoS to arrange for his customer(s) to meet with u. Auditioning in a car should be more accurate, compared to those shops which have a counter for u to listen to various HUs, speakers, amps etc etc. This is due to the difference in the acoustics of the setup. Pin Liang also carries CDT speakers, and u can audition them at those usual "test stations". Point to note: Vincent of Pin Liang is a smooth talker ... so u may be psychoed by him to get items which u've no intention to get, IMHO. If u've further queries abt the CDT speakers, feel free to post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie June 19, 2002 Share June 19, 2002 JB hardware is more expensive than singapore. but as for installation, maybe slightly cheaper but not worth it... as for tuning... well it's better to get local... conculsion... do it in singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie June 19, 2002 Share June 19, 2002 1. Get a subwoofer 2. Get a 4 channel amp 3. Replace the front speakers Get the 4 channel amp to power both the subs and the new pair of front speakers, leaving the stock HU to power the rear speakers. This shld cost you abt $1,000 at most (unless u are gunning for a higher end type) Subwoofer can try Bazooka, front spkrs can try CDT or Kickers etc... as for amp, I dunno liao, make sure get a higher powered amp so that ur subs get the power it deserves. what you suggested sound really familar... but anyway the thing to note is that getting a sub first before the amp is useless... as the sub requires an amp to power... the 123 should actually be a 321... change the fronts first, then the amp if possible with the woofer, else get the woofer later. now the issue is how much power he requires, no point getting a huge 4 channel amp if his fronts are too weak to play properly... well this is very subjective.... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie June 19, 2002 Share June 19, 2002 Sorry for late reply. Busy with baby. Wife just gave birth on19/3. BTW, just exploring the possibilities. with baby maybe need to tahan and listen to my VDO. Recently the HU came off and I had to use bluetak to paste back so that's why tought of doing a ICE upgrade. Budget should be in the range of S$500. Looking for base to listen to Linkin Park type of music!? congrats, mine was on the 29th may... same same... you may wanna consider playing linkin park when bb is arnd... anyway for $500 you can prob get one of these items with some spares, 1. 12" woofer w custom box. aprox 300-400 depends on woofer 2. 600.4 meaning a 600w 4 channel amp 500 3. CDT classics 6.5" 300+ all with installation but with bass for music like linkin park.... well.... you can consider this 15" woofer w custom box $500-550 cerwin vega vega series. but now with bb arnd, space is of the issue here.... larger woofers need more space to punch... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie June 19, 2002 Share June 19, 2002 this shop won alot of awards and rather ex. Can you reco some shops.. I am thinking of putting in an AMP and free-air Woofers. Need the boot space. regards, boot space is not of an issue if you get a costomised box... try zoom car audio. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie June 19, 2002 Share June 19, 2002 [reply Hmm, anybody got any idea with regards to the stock HI-fi sys in the comfort Ford Focus? I know it has a alpine HU with a 6 disc changer under the front passenger seat. I'm thinking of adding a 4-ch amp and also changing the front speakers. Budget ard $700, possible or not har? do i need to change the stock speakers? btw, the stock speakersis it alpine speakers or no-brand kind? Thx [/reply] most if not all car uses paper cone speakers that is usually abt 10-20w, alpine is a good HU, if you really need a ice then you will need a woofer... but if not a 2 channel will be good enuff... just use the 2 channel for the front speakers and use the HU for the rears for rear fills to set the staging. well a 300.2 or a 400.2 will set you back about 300-400 a pair of CDT cambria will cost abt 200++ or a classics abt 300++ * this is just a norm set up without woofer so bass will be alittle bit lacking. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie June 19, 2002 Share June 19, 2002 Hi koolaba, thx for ur suggestions!! Really appreciate it. In fact somebody also suggested thjat i go for CDT speakers....to be honest i have never heard of this brand but i will definitely audition them if i can at a shop. Do u know where can i go to audition? CDT is actually Cliff Design Tech. go down to zoom car audio @ joo chiat... many cars have that. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hatch_lover Neutral Newbie June 19, 2002 Share June 19, 2002 most if not all car uses paper cone speakers that is usually abt 10-20w, alpine is a good HU, if you really need a ice then you will need a woofer... but if not a 2 channel will be good enuff... just use the 2 channel for the front speakers and use the HU for the rears for rear fills to set the staging. well a 300.2 or a 400.2 will set you back about 300-400 a pair of CDT cambria will cost abt 200++ or a classics abt 300++ * this is just a norm set up without woofer so bass will be alittle bit lacking. Cheers[/reply] Thx ICE!! Actually i have talk to my SE and I'm actually going to swap my Alpine with the Blaupunk Denver Skyline HU instead. The reason isnt due to sound quality but rather because of comestic reasons coz I prefer my centre console to be black. Anyway, i have shortlisted the CDT classics for the front and maybe a 3/2/1 amp so that next time i can add a bass tube or woofer when got more $$$ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...