Ek3stage 1st Gear December 17, 2002 Share December 17, 2002 Believe it onot Stamford slls the cheapest batteries I know and with their discount, even better. Any mainstream brand ( though Bosch dont seem very lasting) will do, so dont waste much money on those maintenance free ones....they are in fact less powerful..... Want spent >$100? might as well get deep cycle batteries, let you blast ICE shiok shiok with the engine off ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sylpig Neutral Newbie August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 wats the market rate for MF batts btw? paiseh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 Deep cycle batteries are traction battries design for to take continual output usage BUT no good for starting engines that demand a sudden release of very high amp.Deep cycle battery is best charge by trickle charger over a very long time of more than 48hrs. Car alternator is unable to to trickle charging and overtime can cause the deep cycle battery to fal prematurely. Deep cycle battery are normally used in electric wheelchairs, Golf caddies, stackers, kid rids etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 MF... more convenient. dun need to top up batt water Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oculus Neutral Newbie August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 bro can mention what brand? thanks :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 Vehicle MF batteries is not like Sealed Batteries used in industrial applications. MF is actual fact a conventional flood type batteries with high volume of batteries water and a simple system to condense the water vapour back to the system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 (edited) Noone mention "Amaron" brand. Is it good? I just change a new battery - Amaron... heard it can last at least 2 years, no problem... maintenance free.... Edited August 10, 2007 by Gantan88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 Sorry unable to conments - no exprience with this brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prozac Clutched August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 my previous amaron MF batt cost me 80 plus back in 2002-2003, guess that was the launch price. Managed to last me for around 3 years plus. Now still using amaron, but more ex around 100+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 am using varta asia dynamic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 I was told that this MF battery is very good, i paid 100+ for it. My colleagues also said its good. Easily last them for 2 years. Well.. i got one now, i shall see.... By the way, it is from India.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 (edited) Me too. Using Varta..... I would have preferred a maintenance type battery but workshop dun sell anymore...Hard to find maintenance type these days.... Edited August 10, 2007 by Blacklancer224 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 is it? maybe they prefer to sell MF type cause profit margin is higher. i think if u go to shops in alexandra village, sure can find wat u want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 (edited) Aiyo...Alexandra Village near my office leh... Never mind lah. The thing is I dunno how to top up the battery water...Wait overflow and the water gushes out and melt all the other engine parts... That will be even worse.... Edited August 10, 2007 by Blacklancer224 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 unscrew the 3 small plastic caps and top up till the marking loh if no marking, just top up until the water cover the metal plates inside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 are you running any ICE or any high current amps?? If not, it is not cost effective to buy a maintenance free. as for maintenance, it wouldnt be too difficult to top up some battery water... i am running optima deep cycle for 4 yrs now... no dramas as of yet!! fingers crossed!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azarael Clutched August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 i also not very sure of how to tell if my battery needs to be topped up ? anyoen with experience can teach how to see the indicator ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 10, 2007 Share August 10, 2007 Which small caps... I very blurred wan.... top up with battery water? Mineral water cannot right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...