Clitang Neutral Newbie November 15, 2004 Share November 15, 2004 Hi Friends I know nothing about mod or tuning, I am going to get my new ride soon, Civic 1.6L manual. I saw the a package offer by Mcwell to tune up package at the MotorShow 2004, the following is the package and cost S$688 (add S$20 for installation), any comment, is it worth or WILL IT VOID THE WARRANTY. 1) K&N Filer Charger 2) E68 Twin Power Intake System 3) MV Fuel Charger Pro 4) MV Super Ground Wire 5) Pivot Volt Stabilizer 6) Denso Iridium Power Plugs At the booth, Mcwell also selling the Auto Performance Meter at S$80 each Cash and Carry. Is it cheap to get it, and which type of meter should I get for my new Honda CIVIC. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fit_gd3 Clutched November 15, 2004 Share November 15, 2004 Dun waste $$$ on that.Can all the items cheaper,E68 no so useful nowadays as many ppl r selling away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clitang Neutral Newbie November 15, 2004 Author Share November 15, 2004 Thanks for reply, how about other items, is it worth to get it? BR Clifford Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomer Clutched November 15, 2004 Share November 15, 2004 The K&N is good. The iridiums are useful and the pivot is marginal... End of the day... u can get the above mentioned add-ons.. bt definitely nt frm McWell... Get them seperate frm the frenly bros arnd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clitang Neutral Newbie November 15, 2004 Author Share November 15, 2004 Thanks for yr advise, where can I get those items, any shop or phone number? BR Clifford Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 15, 2004 Share November 15, 2004 since u newbie, n wanna hv K&N, still can get fr mwell cos they will maintain the filter for u foc. that will save u some effort at a premium. gauges.. try not to install any as yet. $80 cash n carry is not cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 15, 2004 Share November 15, 2004 Hi Friends I know nothing about mod or tuning, I am going to get my new ride soon, Civic 1.6L manual. I saw the a package offer by Mcwell to tune up package at the MotorShow 2004, the following is the package and cost S$688 (add S$20 for installation), any comment, is it worth or WILL IT VOID THE WARRANTY. 1) K&N Filer Charger 2) E68 Twin Power Intake System 3) MV Fuel Charger Pro 4) MV Super Ground Wire 5) Pivot Volt Stabilizer 6) Denso Iridium Power Plugs At the booth, Mcwell also selling the Auto Performance Meter at S$80 each Cash and Carry. Is it cheap to get it, and which type of meter should I get for my new Honda CIVIC. Thanks Hmmmmmmmm..... how come its called tune up package??? When there's no tuning involved???? Don't be too anxious to mod your new ride. Take your time and enjoy the stock form, while learning and planning for what you wanna do. No point in rushing in and then realise that what you bought is not worth it. Anyway, as for the stuff mentioned...... its not worth the $$$$$. Well maybe I should say it won't be money well spent. The type of mods will depend on what you want. Power? Better FC? Quieter & smoother ride? Better handling & response? Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clitang Neutral Newbie November 16, 2004 Author Share November 16, 2004 Hi Thanks for your advise, what I am looking for are: 1) Power 2) Better handling 3) Better response 4) FC can be compromised a little 5) Not to Viod the warranty (Most important factor) BR Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 16, 2004 Share November 16, 2004 In most cases, mods will void your warranty. My advise is to stay stock for at least a good while to make sure nothing is wrong with the car. (My own car stayed stock for 10 months before anything was done to it). Unless you couldn't care less about warranty. Once you're comfortable with the car's reliability and that nothing major needs fixing from the agents, then only start your improvement projects. When you do start, it is safer to go for handling and response mods first before considering power stuff. Unless you have a deep wallet and can do all at one go. You might wanna consider brakes, sway bar, strut bars, "H" bar, whatever kinda bars... , suspension, tyres upgrades first. Might go the way of CAI, fuel regulator upgrade, larger throttle body, exhaust mods later. Finally when all hardware are in place, do tuning (piggy back ECU or replacement) to maximize their potential. If you're still not satisfied after spending so much........ then its the "dark side" for you. Or simpler to just change to another car which is bigger, stronger, faster..... And then start the process all over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leshackks Neutral Newbie November 17, 2004 Share November 17, 2004 Hey there... relax and enjoy your ride as it is fer a while... Like wat all the bros here has said, you can change wateva you wan later... To me, I wud install all the strut bars first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched November 17, 2004 Share November 17, 2004 civic?~! go for the aem V2 cai.. heh.. if only vios has it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ares Neutral Newbie November 17, 2004 Share November 17, 2004 I have seen the mech at McWell use compressed air to clean the filter which is not recommended by K & N. They also dont have the time to let the filter dry properly which requires a few hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zombie Neutral Newbie November 17, 2004 Share November 17, 2004 Guages - get defi but not cheap. Should not void your warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 17, 2004 Share November 17, 2004 yup take a few hours... what i do is hv my stock paper filter as temporary replacement during these teething time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conned Clutched November 17, 2004 Share November 17, 2004 [Hmmmmmmmm..... how come its called tune up package??? When there's no tuning involved???? Don't be too anxious to mod your new ride. Take your time and enjoy the stock form, while learning and planning for what you wanna do. No point in rushing in and then realise that what you bought is not worth it. Anyway, as for the stuff mentioned...... its not worth the $$$$$. Well maybe I should say it won't be money well spent. The type of mods will depend on what you want. Power? Better FC? Quieter & smoother ride? Better handling & response?] Yep.I agree wz the bros here, Clitang. Enjou ur stock form first. also dun forget ur car is under warranty n servicing.u wont know if the mechs take out ur expensive iridium plugs..tat's why KNN has a sticker to warn mechs not to throw filter away.Some agents will even void ur warranty for aftermarket air filter, grounding,voltage stabiliser. Perhaps u might want to consider using the $$ for better rubbers,(not those 7-11 kinds)..lowering, springs. juz my 0.02cts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie November 18, 2004 Share November 18, 2004 Light Tune in Heavy bleed :laugh: :laugh: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan01 Neutral Newbie November 18, 2004 Share November 18, 2004 forget MW. take your money elsewhere. if you drive a Civic (ESmodel) go to Singapore Honda Forum and find out more info http://www.shc-forum.com/ do some searching database and you learn alot for your car there. K&N you can buy from SPEEDWORKS SINGAPORE Guan Hua Warehouse Bhd No. 85, Genting Lane #03-04, Singapore 349569 Tel: 65 743 7288 Fax: 65 842 5427 drop those air/fuel charger gadgets like e68. insignificant. see you at SHC forum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clitang Neutral Newbie November 18, 2004 Author Share November 18, 2004 Hi Thanks your advise, I have decided to change my rim to 16" OZ superleg with Godd Year F1 rubber and just get an K&N filter. I think I will wait, see and learn more from you guys, before I do anything else, maybe install a few performance meters just for the fun and make my car look "chio" if I have the $$$. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...