How to add Chrome your interior?

Andrewtankw

Just a question, Does any brudders know how to chrome some of the platsic parts of the car interior eg.door handles and misc buttons....

Do we have to change the whole thing or just take out the the parts and chrome it?

If it is the latter, how do we do it (Spray??) ? Can it be done ourselves?

Thanks for any info..

Regards,

-Andrew

Chroming the interior.... hmmm that sound like something I would like to do too...

I think spraying without removing is not that good an idea [shakehead] .

...must be well ventilated....or wear a mask [lipsrsealed][;)]

....and wouldn't it be better to electroplate the chrome?.... I remember my father chroming some plastics when he was working in the semi-conductor industry. Looked real cool.

I did it to my previous car ...

- Buy a can of those CHROME spray paint

- Start dismantling pieces that can be removed, try prying from corner ... car parts easily pop out one.

- Wash the pieces clean and sand it lightly.

- GO TO A WELL VENTILATED PLACE, prefer outdoor, outside your house lah

- Layout newspaper

- Spray and let dry

- Final layer, let it dry overnite

- Spray clear coat, else the silver dust easy to flake off.

- Let dry

- Mount pieces back

For pieces that feel a bit rubberish, U gotta mount it before it dries, else it'll crack !

P.S: Easier said than done .. coz there's DUST in the air :-( ... U know lah .. if you spray a few layer, then see 2 specks of dust on the sprayed surface !!! ARGH !

Each layer is very light mah ... in fact the first 2 or 3 layers, you will not see the shiny effect, it'll be just silverish ....

The more you spray, the more shiok you feel :-P

Anyone tried using Chrome coloured "film" ??

Should be available for sale at those Art shops or maybe even Popular bookstore. It comes as a roll (like those wrapping paper) but you can peel off the back and it becomes a sticker.

Because of its thin film like quality, it readily wraps around corners and most material. I've tried using some of it to "Chrome" the Mitsubishi Logo on the front of the Galant.

Been searching for it since I ran out, but very hard to find leh ... [confused]

Just a question, Does any brudders know how to chrome some of the platsic parts of the car interior eg.door handles and misc buttons....

Do we have to change the whole thing or just take out the the parts and chrome it?

Thanks for any info..

Regards,

-Andrew

Thanks for any info..

Regards,

-Andrew

U might have problems doing spraying as the paint are acrylic. Meaning it will harden and crack easily. Especially on parts like those u mentioned. U tends to use it everytime, so advise is not to spray. Spraying can be done on aircon panel, console, even meter ring as they are the ones that u seldom touch. I have done stickering onto those aircon panel. Can view it on Car showroom, My Baby Lancer...