Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie December 26, 2004 Share December 26, 2004 (edited) Anyone into DIY ecu tuning ?? I am learning to be one, anyone like to share infor or knowledge with me ?? Edited December 26, 2004 by Sheltie2306 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched December 26, 2004 Share December 26, 2004 Wonder how u can DIY w/o proper equipments?????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemesis Neutral Newbie December 26, 2004 Share December 26, 2004 [reply] Anyone into DIY ecu tuning ?? How do U need probably instruments to talk to your car so hard to DIY probably can do together with garage that have the correct tools & instruments Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Author Share December 27, 2004 All the aftermarket ecu will come with interfacing software. The ecu can normally be connected directly to the serial port of the notebook. Just need a wide band O2 sensor, then can start doing tuning liao. However, there's many ecu vendor does not give the software so that you need to go back to them every time you mod your car, so that they can continue to earn your $$$. Worst still, some of them don't really know what the "fish" they are tuning, and all sort of funny result occure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ic3ncok3 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 im interested in ecu tuning also.....but need to money to get the equipment..... i think ecu tuning is not really dat difficult cos most of the time i believe it's jus dealing wif memory locations and values to change.....believe the tedious and troublesome part is doing the measurements on the O2 sensor and calculating the values to put into the chip.....and of course finding the rite locations on the chip to put the values.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Author Share December 27, 2004 The investment, of course, will be the aftermarket ecu, either piggyback or standalone, typically about 2k. The wideband O2 sensor should be about 500 to 1k. We normally don't deal directly with the factory ecu as it's almost impossible to hack into that. Writting the value into the map is made very easy with the interfacing software. The fun (or difficult) part is to decide what value to put. There are so many parameters (fuel, ignition, boost, even valve timing for some cases) that inter connected and influencing each other. Due to lack of public domain knowledge, it's lots of trial and error, reading, experiement, learning, making mistake etc. Different ecu has different software interfaces and method of tuning, but the principle behind it is all the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemesis Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 Agree Better find a more well know tunning for the model of your car Or else it can be worst of then stock Good luck on the tunning, post your dyno B4 and After Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemesis Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 [reply] Due to lack of public domain knowledge, it's lots of trial and error, reading, experiement, learning, making mistake etc. Different ecu has different software interfaces and method of tuning, but the principle behind it is all the same. U did a lot of research Dun mind asking, what's ur ride that u intent to tune Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 Newer cars nowadays use ODB2 interface. My car is still using ODB1 interface, anyone knows the pinouts? Need to connect it to the serial port of a notbook PC or a PDA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 buy the software from Ebay lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Author Share December 27, 2004 Hi bro, thank you Your nick name Nemesis is in the name of the tuning software for hydra element, a standalone ecu, check : http://www.elementtuning.com/main.htm Is it coincidental My ride is the bug eye euro sti, I have the utec semi piggyback / semi standalone ecu installed. Have being playing with it for almost a year, and spent many weekends on NS highway experimenting what I learn from Internet, books, etc. For turbo car, there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 Bro, then you should be aware of ECUTEK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Author Share December 27, 2004 Yes, Ecutek itself is a very good tuning tool. It's a hack into the original ecu via the obdii port. Unfortunately, it's controlled by the dealer and we cannot tune ourself. Every time you change the hardware, you need to go back to the dealer. I also know some Ecutek dealer out there only know how to load in the standard maps given by their UK vendor. They don't know how to customize or troubleshoot if the car's setup is different from standard. All ecu tuning solution, either hardware or software based, is "absolutely nothing, and absolutely no effect" on it's own. It's the tunner that makes the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 where can I get more info on the utec semi piggyback / semi standalone ecu ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 Are u using a wide band O2 to do the tuning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear December 27, 2004 Share December 27, 2004 (edited) Yes, you're correct. But there's the delta dash that allows you to do your own tuning after you've bought the Ecutek. It allows only 3 licenses or ECUs for that matter to be tuned. It is meant for self tuning purposes if one perfers to tinker with the maps. You can get a few friends to share with you the costs lah....... If you're interested, let me know and I can help to ask whether he'll do it for a Rex Sti. Not McWell nor BMS.......... Its a ECUTEK + customised tuning package (No hardware though). He's running his own tuning business........ In fact, think I saw the ECUTEK + Delta dash for sale in the subaru forum a couple of days back. Not sure if it was for Sti or for Rex..... problem is that one needs to swap out the ECU when selling/buying used. Edited December 27, 2004 by Dwoon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Author Share December 27, 2004 Product homepage : http://www.turboxs.com/wrx/wrxems.shtml Suggest you download the manual : http://www.turboxs.com/_images/UTEC/Update...anual%204.2.pdf These are a little boring to read. More interestingly, go to: http://wrxhackers.com/forums/index.php? Register yourself, then download the few tuning guides under the thread : http://wrxhackers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2498 Yes, I tune with the wideband O2 sensor from TurboXS call "tuner", the controller can integrate with utec and produce the log in the same page, very easy to read and know exactly what's the A/F at each load point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sheltie2306 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2004 Author Share December 27, 2004 From what I know, the same software work for both wrx and sti. The user tuning option in Deltadash alow for few global value adjustment, it's not consider tuning but rather minor adjustment. The full tuning function is only available in ecutek software that the dealer have. For me, I am doing it as hobby, that I want to learn, explore and try out on my own. Not for a turn key upgrade, tune and forget. So, don't think ecutek is a right product for me unless they can sell me the full tuning software package. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...