GoopPwr Clutched January 4, 2005 Share January 4, 2005 (edited) Hi people, over the last 5 days or so, I've noticed that one of my tyre deflats within a day or two. I am sure there must be a punctured or leak some where. Any one have similar experiance before ? Sian lah..., I think got to go to some tyre shop for a check up liao !! Any one know of any tyre that will do such a check ? Any shop to recommend ? Say around the area of Kallang, Katong or Bukit Timah. I know of one along Bukit Timah. Lucky tyre or something ... any good ? thanks for any input and recommendation Edited January 4, 2005 by GoopPwr ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Think all tire shop can do it. Kallang area can go SEtyre, Yap bros or Leong Seng. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Just go to any tireshop. If there is a nail in your tire, the 'patch' job should cost you around $5~8. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Confirmed got puncture somewhere.... BUT, if there's nail or any sharp foreign object punctured into near the tyre sidewall, U CAN'T patch it. Change that tyre. Happened to me recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched January 5, 2005 Share January 5, 2005 Actually very easy to check for puncture. Just throw it into a pool of water, and if you see bubbles coming out, sure got puncture liao! Can identify the place of puncture some more! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched January 5, 2005 Author Share January 5, 2005 Thank you all fellas just wondering why wldn't it be possible to do a patching like bicycle tyres. Sian ah, if can't be patched got to fork $$$ for a new tyre liao .... may i know roughly, where about in Kallang, anyone ? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched February 20, 2005 Author Share February 20, 2005 hi everyone, like to share this little experiance when i went around looking to mend my tyres. went 1st to this tyre shop along Tg Katong. Boss says not a good idea to mend or can't be mended. Something to do with the puncture being along the corner of the tyre. Kind-of kept pushing me to change the tyres. Wld have cost $300+. I wasn't sure but i felt alittle suspicious so I tot... ok never mind i'll pay him for the check and see where i'll go from there. Bugger that 5 mins check charged me $10. So i drove a little and came across a tyre shop in a shell station ( also along Tg Katong ) boss says can be mended but say for me to monitor. Been about 3 weeks now so far so good. The mending now high-tech ... insert something that looks like a thick tread. It cost $8, cheaper than the check. hope now the tyres will hold up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 20, 2005 Share February 20, 2005 confirm can patch...just that the tyre shop boss will earn much less...now bicycle shop dun do patching liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 20, 2005 Share February 20, 2005 Yeah, I know the rubber piece he insert into the hole with a needle then twist it out & trim, Right? OK that method is OK, & sud b sufficent for normal driving in SG, but the better way for high speed tire is to remove & flatten the piece from inside the tire. Should cost u more than the $8 but it's safer for high speed & long distance travel. Don't worry about the patch u did. It sud b fine for normal driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched February 20, 2005 Author Share February 20, 2005 i don't drive to M'sia and also no hard driving for me. Just an Italian tune-up every 2 weeks or so. So, I do hope they hold up good. Otherwise we're taking about $300+ here . Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched February 20, 2005 Author Share February 20, 2005 thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 20, 2005 Share February 20, 2005 If u need to change your tires, just change 2. Put the new tires on the front & the old ones on the back. Choose the best 2 to put on the back. Or better still. Get 2 2nd hand tires from the tire shop ( abt $20-$30 each for 14 inch) to use first (but of the same type please) unless all your tires are old & need to b changed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged February 22, 2005 Share February 22, 2005 Along the corner?? near the sidewall? It could be the tireshop is not comfortable with patch ing a puncture close to the sidewall. Juz offering a possibly different view of things? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched February 23, 2005 Author Share February 23, 2005 he said something about that it may not last. I am not sure but thru the conversation i am more convinced that he is pulling a fast one to make more buck. Also i just can't understand as to why just becos it is near the corner sidewall it may not last. Also some bros have replied mending shd not be a problem. I am taking my chances and am monitoring every few days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kooler Neutral Newbie March 2, 2005 Share March 2, 2005 Think all tire shop can do it. Kallang area can go SEtyre, Yap bros or Leong Seng. Most prob puncture Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starian Clutched March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 (edited) how far away was the puncture near the side wall? I had mine 1 yr ago when I just changed my tyre, imagine new 1, just 1 week old and got hit by screw, notice it when I was washing car, so went back to the same shop who sold me the tyre, the hole was less than 1cm from the side wall. got it patch using the same method as yours, free cos as promised by the shop, "free lifetime patching". had been to furthest to sunway lagoon in dec last yr, till now the patch still there, tyre show no sign of flated, except for some wear, hope it can last till I change tyre again... Edited March 4, 2005 by Starian ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...