Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 16, 2005 Share May 16, 2005 Hi guys, Can anyone enlighten on the above comparison? Was quoted $110 for the GR80 (195/65/15"). CDrive is slightly less. Is this a good price? My criteria in the following priority; - Noise - Grip - Comfort Thanks ! quoted too high leh.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toledosun Neutral Newbie May 17, 2005 Share May 17, 2005 Hi Mojo, I bought the GR80s about 1 yr+ ago. At that time, trying to decide between GR80, MXV8 and Aspec DB. Gave up on Aspec DB because some people complained grip in wet is not very good. There was an article written at that time comparing GR80 with MXV8. GR80 won. I was using the GR50s then and decided to go for the GR80s. So far, grip in dry and wet are still excellent and the sound level has not increased, not enough for me to complain the tyres are noisy anyway. Done about 30k on these tyres so far. No regrets for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie May 17, 2005 Share May 17, 2005 How about CDrive vs Aspec dB. What difference is the noise level and dry grip ? siam Aspec DB... total CMI in wet! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 Bro, noise and performance is very subjective. Anyway MXV8 is a comfort tyre, cornering performance can never to be close to performance tyre. To me, the tyre is very comfortable with reasonable grip and noise level is low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 (edited) I am about the change tyres. So far I am quite comfortable with my Michelin XH1. 195R15/60 MXV8 - 138 quoted by Shell autoserve, I feel that is too much. How hard corner is hard did your bro do the corner? indicative speed and the bend? I am driving a TS too. I don't do much hard cornering.. my current set of tyres can still hold at 90km/h at the SLE-yishun exit bend. and i track with this set of XH1 and most sharp bends can take at about 90km/h. so I guess that is as mush as i would push my car on those kind of bends. On wet roads i am comfortable driving 90-100km/h on the straights and 80-90 on the bends. Do u think MXV8 can do the same? Edited May 18, 2005 by Slayer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickyokc Neutral Newbie May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 C Drive is sure to be better than GR80 in performance as for price it should be almost the same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickyokc Neutral Newbie May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 Forget abt db if u want grip . mxv8 is a old pattern already i m sure the performance cannot be as good as c drive bjust by looking at pettern.comfort wise it might be better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 c drive is lousy lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 "c drive is lousy lah " can elaborate? like at what speed and how was the response? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 overpriced, overrated, underperform, noisy dun take my word for it, try for urself and make ur own decision Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear May 18, 2005 Share May 18, 2005 I am about the change tyres. So far I am quite comfortable with my Michelin XH1. 195R15/60 MXV8 - 138 quoted by Shell autoserve, I feel that is too much. How hard corner is hard did your bro do the corner? indicative speed and the bend? I am driving a TS too. I don't do much hard cornering.. my current set of tyres can still hold at 90km/h at the SLE-yishun exit bend. and i track with this set of XH1 and most sharp bends can take at about 90km/h. so I guess that is as mush as i would push my car on those kind of bends. On wet roads i am comfortable driving 90-100km/h on the straights and 80-90 on the bends. Do u think MXV8 can do the same? I have no idea whether can MXV 8 do the same. However, I do know that MXV8 is a higher end model compared to the XH1. For my bro, depends on bends, he do cornering between 80-100. I am not in his car always, so not very sure. 1 example is the PIE from towards Changi Airport exit at Clementi Ave 6, he can take that between 80-90. Even my 323 on 16 inch max I can go about 75-80. Anyway I think the price that you have been quoted for the MXV8 is very high. My bro change his at one of the Toa Payoh shop for less than 100 per piece. However that was about a few months back, now may be slightly more ex due to higher raw material price. Cheers!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zupera Neutral Newbie May 31, 2005 Share May 31, 2005 Hi bro Protege, Which shop in toa payoh? Is it autotrend? Thx! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear May 31, 2005 Share May 31, 2005 Bro, I am not sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy_turtle 1st Gear October 2, 2005 Share October 2, 2005 Went looking for GR80 185/65/14. Shop at AMK Autopoint said that the GR80 has alignment problem. ANyone can confirm this? Quoted me 80 for a Aspect DB 501 ANyone can confirm this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 C Drive is sure to be better than GR80 in performance as for price it should be almost the same Thats for sure..and that's why C-drive is way noisier than GR-80. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 Bro, Which shop u went to? What rubbish. I have personally used GR-80 for a year plus on my ex-ride, FL G9. No problems on alignment. Even lowered with camber settings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 what has tyres got to do with alignment settings? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidcks 1st Gear October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 bro, I think it could be Eng Wah tyre, which is a street away from Autotrend. Look for Vincent, I got a good price for my GR-80. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...