Do tyre shops quote u a price with or withour GST?

Vino

Hi all,

I went to this tyre shop near tampines safra and was quoted $150/piece for Bridgestone GR80 size 215/65/15. Told them I can get better pricing elsewhere but then have to wait for few days for the stocks to come in. This shop then told me the quote I got from elsewhere is really their cost price so can't be lower anymore. I then decided to go for it since they have stocks in hand. To my horror, I discovered the price they quoted me was without GST!!! [shocked]

Just wanna know do tyre shops usually quote u a price with or without GST?? I'm just curious whether is this shop being dishonest here or is that the industry standard? [confused]

The shop's name is MotorXxxx? take it as paying school fees.

Better to get at least 3 quotes next time.(different shops)

You can find the information from MCF resource folders.

Thanks for all the replies. 215/65/15 is less common hence the higher pricing.

Anyway, I do know the price range is ard $130 to $160 but my real concern here is do they usually quote u a price with or without GST?

Tks.

Due to competitive pricing, many shop use G.S.T and charge for Tubeless valve as additional income. Did they change your tubeless valve too? If not, you better get it change.

They changed the valve and it's those of metal kind so it looks to be of good quality to me. This shop told me others are able to quote lower becoz they skimp on many other things which he said was unable to disclose. [confused]

Anyway, my package also comes with a free 10,000km tyre rotation service. I have no qualm about paying for good service and peace of mind but just unhappy if they are being dishonest here.

you driving honda crv is it, you can try justin should be about less than 130. Can get the tyre 2257015 with stanford tyres . the flakren tyre

Edited by Crv2004

You're right! It's a CRV. SMS Justin couple of times but no reply at all. [thumbsdown]

Called up his shop and was told no stock but they did say it's ard. $135 or so.

Another shop at ubi quoted me $145 but no stock as usual. I suppose I can wait a few days but was rather uneasy when this guy I finally dealt with told me others quote me lower becoz they skimp on certain things or work! [confused]

Ask him what kind of things can a simple job like changing of tyre can skimp on but he said he can only tell me when I changed with him. Anyway, I did not pursue further when I decided to deal with him.

I think their work is ok but I just wanna know do shops usually quote customers a price with GST or without?

usually price quote is with GST lah. Do take note date of the tyre you buy now as tyre price had been increase significantly in 2004/2005. Some Tyre price quoted near cost because they passes take-off as new tyre to sell to comsumers. The other ting is when tyre have quality problems, some tyre shop do not have the ability to made the claim on the spot.

Hi Robertoon,

Tks for your reply.

This shop told me that their tyres are of new stocks and it's made in Japan. He also said some others are actually using old stock and are those from malaysia or thailand hence cheaper.

I did look ard his shop and it appeared to me it's quite establish with many mechanics for different make of cars. See mainly Bridgestone GIII and michelin tyres hence tot it should be ok. They also have those tied up with almost all credit cards on 0% installment!

That's why I say their work is definitely ok but felt cheated becoz of the GST thingy! [mad]

Maybe you can try the flakren tyres lor, 2257015 , by the way do you find that the tyre and the rim they give us is too small. Me intend ti change to 17 for the next tyres change. maybe you can try the bridgestone G3 or the Michelin mxv8 or other . I was quoted around 130 for the MXV8 at pxx xxxg.maybe you can get the bfgoodrich tyre got the tyre size 2057015 . It should be much quiter than the stock tyre.The stock tyre really cannot make it.

i have made a suvey here before about buying from shop that can nego on price or shop with a fixed price? What you think. My choice will be fixed price coz every tyre is clearly indicated and we can choose without prejudice from seller.

Hi Crv2004,

I called up pxx xxxg this morning and was told the MXV8 should costs $150 but need to confirm. Justin HP was off and his mailbox was full! [shakehead]

Anyway, just so u know, some MXV8 was made in thailand according to the shop I patronised today. He claims theirs are from france and another european country (forgot liao)!

Do let me know what kind of service does pxx xxxg provide if u go there. My comes with free immediate car wash after tyre change and free tyre rotation after 10,000km. They also washed all rims and changed to new valve for each tyre.

I think that because the tyre price rose recently so there is a increase in the price of the tyre. I was quoted $130 about 2mth ago. But i do know that for the balacing at pxx xxxg is not done propperly for a few of the guys.Which tyre shop you go to procide this service? maybe can post the address of the shop you mention.

Edited by Crv2004

Hi crv2004,

Tks for the reply. IMHO, I will not compromise my or for this matter my friends and family safety for a couple of dollars! Really glad I didn't get it done there now. [sweatdrop]

The reason I have posted this thread is just to find out more abt the local practice as this is the first time I changed tyres here. I got dissatisfied after discovering the GST thingy as I almost never encounter a shop who would quote a price without the GST in Singapore! I would accept that happily in some countries as I do know that 'was' the practice there.

BTW, I knowingly and willingly paid for the higher price but just wasn't happy of the GST part! [mad]

this is a pretty standard practice in alot of place... quote u without GST then add on the 5% when u make payment.

if i am not wrong, officially under GST regulation all shop should display price with GST%. i have come across even buying car and bikes. the price is quote without GST. when u sign the agreement and make payment, they ask GST.