Kelpie 2nd Gear March 1, 2005 Share March 1, 2005 1. Test drove the Forester and IMHO, a better choice over Accord 2.4, Legacy 2.0 and Mondeo. Going for about 88k with full accessorices. Turbo Boxer 2.0 177BHP engine, 4WD, Cruise Control, ABS, Conti style steering and 4 airbags. The driving experience is great! Legacy does not have spacious rear cabin and the steering is pretty light, I like a firmer steering. 2. Forester is a spacious SUV, though look more a truck to me. The look is deceiving, it actaully drives like a sedan car. Heard that they may be discontinuing the 2.0T and bringing in 2.5T when the current stock exhausted, may need further confirmation. 3. Not much choice in term of color only, blue, black and sliver. 4. I wonder in term of specs, does it match up with more premium brand like Volvo XC series. 5. Welcome the comments from the current Forester Owner and other constructive comments who don't favour this make too. Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 1, 2005 Share March 1, 2005 The forester in SG is a de-tuned monster. Better drive it stock. :) better dont tear off the talisman, otherwise the monster will come out. 170+BHP with a 4speed autobox is more than enough to drive a AWD in SG road. :) a very practical SUV. but because its TC car, check the insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 1, 2005 Author Share March 1, 2005 1. Haha...yap, I've the same thought, better drive it stock if not the monster will emerge from me too. 2. I'm wondering which SUV matches to its spec so that I can test drive them too. 3. Whats wrong with the insurance? Tell me more leh. Thanks. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 1, 2005 Share March 1, 2005 TC has higher insurance premiums compared to NA cars. typical. SUV that can match.. hmm.. lets see,.. i don't know. :) perhaps this one other bros here care to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Plinius Neutral Newbie March 1, 2005 Share March 1, 2005 i have test drove the forester before... good choice!!! but if i remember correctly the ride comfort of the Mondeo is better (the Mondeo has also better wife acceptance factor ;( ), i think the Mondeo has better rear leg room too....... at 2L TC, I don't think any other Japanese SUV can touch the Forester liao lor... even the Ford Escape (2.4L) cannot even come close..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hmanxx 2nd Gear March 1, 2005 Share March 1, 2005 Mit turbo airtrek...>200 bhp.... Forester is good, I almost bought this car....struggle for a week to choose between forester and wrx and finally bought the rex...now i feel that..forester is a better pick for daily practical use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Plinius Neutral Newbie March 1, 2005 Share March 1, 2005 oh ya..the MIT Turbo Airtrek!! how did this one slipped away...heh...probably coz i haven't test drove it yet.... heh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 2, 2005 Author Share March 2, 2005 This is an overprice car to me lah. So much more than Forester so out of budget leh. Anyway, don't quite like the look too. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear March 2, 2005 Share March 2, 2005 1. Test drove the Forester and IMHO, a better choice over Accord 2.4, Legacy 2.0 and Mondeo. Going for about 88k with full accessorices. Turbo Boxer 2.0 177BHP engine, 4WD, Cruise Control, ABS, Conti style steering and 4 airbags. The driving experience is great! Legacy does not have spacious rear cabin and the steering is pretty light, I like a firmer steering. 2. Forester is a spacious SUV, though look more a truck to me. The look is deceiving, it actaully drives like a sedan car. Heard that they may be discontinuing the 2.0T and bringing in 2.5T when the current stock exhausted, may need further confirmation. 3. Not much choice in term of color only, blue, black and sliver. 4. I wonder in term of specs, does it match up with more premium brand like Volvo XC series. 5. Welcome the comments from the current Forester Owner and other constructive comments who don't favour this make too. Thank you. Regards, Don't think any cross-over or SUV comes close to its performance except for the Airtrek Turbo which is its direct competitor. In regards to the parts, it can probably use about 80% of the WRX/Sti stuff so getting cheap used ones or even new ones are not an issue. It has been very reliable for the past 15 months of owning this car. FC for stock form is ~ 9.0 to 9.5km/l depending on how heavy is your foot. Worse case when continouos wacking is ~ 7.0km/l. Best is on NSH getting ~ 11.8km/l. Handling can be much improved by slight lowering using aftermarket shocks, thicker anti sway bars and better tyres. Going slightly lower also allows you to go faster w/o getting the "floating" feeling of the car. In stock form, past 160km/h and you'll feel unsafe as the car tends to lift/float. Max speed in stock form ~ 210km/h. Stock century sprint is like ~ 8.5 sec which I think is already faster than 90% of the cars in Sgp. Insurance is not that expensive if you're past 30 years old as it's classified as a station wagon. At 30% NCD, I'm paying ~$1100 which is "any workshop" scheme. For authorised workshop, it goes down lower to ~ $930. Of course, the 1st year you'll need to get from the car agent which is more expensive but still less than $2K. There's just too much info. Do drop by "subaruforester.com" to find out more. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear March 2, 2005 Share March 2, 2005 Like Hmanxx, I tried the Frostie before ending up buying a wrx. IMO, the Frostie has great handling with adequate power for inspired driving (if you get my drift ). A great buy if you need the space and still crave for performance. Never tried the Mit Airtrek Turbo but looking purely at pricing, the Frostie wins it for me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vino Clutched March 2, 2005 Share March 2, 2005 I will go for frostie if want power, CRV for spaciousness and definitely XC90 for feel good factor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 2, 2005 Share March 2, 2005 hmm.. then whats in the wrx that made u choose it instead? :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 Frostie = Auto Wrx = Manual Me choose manual coz I like to be in control. Anything just drop gear and zoom off..... Damm shiok ah!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 3, 2005 Share March 3, 2005 manual trans is fun to play with. too bad MI don't bring in manual for the Legacy GT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hmanxx 2nd Gear March 4, 2005 Share March 4, 2005 Rex clutch control is slightly different..on the slope, you cant hold on half clutch for too long, it get burn out..and even release clutch with handbrake on, you will need to step on accelerator slightly more than normal car, otherwise the car wont move, releasing clutch too fast..the car will stall. I dont have this problem with 1.6L manual car..but WRX behaves this way. However on slide slope, the car wont roll back at all, dont need to use hand brake, just release clutch to half way before releasing brake then the car will move forward. Perhaps my clutch control skill is really sucks big time. anyone please teach me on handling slope better, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear March 6, 2005 Share March 6, 2005 Haha!!! This only happens to me very late at nite when I'm exhausted (especially on the way back from my fren's place at 3am in the morning after mj ) The worst thing is that once the engine stalls, the turbo timer will kick in. Initially I kept forgetting about the turbo timer and when I crank the engine again, I get this horrific "Kraaaeech" sound. Very heartpain! Looks like the only way is to do more exercises and strengthen the calf muscles.....hahaha.....joking lah!! I also believe the choice of footwear is very important as the wrx comes with racing pedals instead of the normal rubberised ones. You got to wear shoes that allows you to "feel" the pedals....especially clutch. just my 2-cents worth! Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hmanxx 2nd Gear March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 I stall a few times already..and turbo timer didnt kick in, otherwise got to wait 30 sec..then behind will horn like crazy.. Is your clutch hard to press..mine the bouncing strenght is strong..really need to train up my calf muscle...how i wish they come out something like hill assist for manual car..then i dont need to sweat everytimes on slope... damn sxxt malu driving a rex and stall on slope Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 8, 2005 Share March 8, 2005 i am not driving rex. for not too steep slope, i heel-toe to move off. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...