My pick-up very slow....

Juherman

everytime i move off, i feel that the pick-up power is not exactly there. even taxis and vans overtake me sometimes. do you encounter the same prob or isit just aveo?

Edited by Juherman

Live and let live lor... but if you cannot tahan, and dun care about FC... power delivery after 4K rpm is quite good! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

ermm ..... where you rushing to ?? laugh.gif such things are always relative. If you full throttle, dun think you will be slow, its a matter of want-or-not ...... anyway, do you think taxis & vans are less powerful than Aveo ?? In fact, many taxis have a 3.0L engine & most vans are at least 2.0L & above ....... even the Daihatsu small van has a 1.3DVVT engine sweatdrop.gif while some of the euro makes are turbo-ed !! dun play play

Edited by Othello

actually, YES, there are stuff you can do to improve ur pickup, but at the end of the day, is the $$$ worth it ?? Things like spark plugs, extractor etc have been discussed to death liao tongue.gif For me, been there, done that, spent $$$ ......... now, I dun spend on such stuff liao. Instead, rather concentrate on cosmetics or ICE improvements...... AND treat myself to good food or holidays instead with the $$ saved ...... sunny.gif

bro ,no worry just buy the super filter similiar to K&N type fro the USA include installation $45 only imporove your air flow so pick up better sound better also .interested call me 94238788 .Thanks.

Edited by Superchevy

everytime i move off, i feel that the pick-up power is not exactly there. even taxis and vans overtake me sometimes. do you encounter the same prob or isit just aveo?

If your's a manual car, you can rev it to about 2k rpm before you release the clutch as per normal. Should be able to feel the pick-up this way.nod.gif

hhaha 2K rpm i heard that also for me i step until 2.5-3Krpm for tyre "sound" [sly]

anyway care to share how come u know it is abt 2k rpm? is it the optium?

as my car max torque is abt 3.2Krpm

hhaha 2K rpm i heard that also for me i step until 2.5-3Krpm for tyre "sound" sly.gif

anyway care to share how come u know it is abt 2k rpm? is it the optium?

as my car max torque is abt 3.2Krpm

No lah, 2k rpm cannot get the tyre 'sound', but enough to feel the car surge forward. Should be able to give me a good head start from a traffic light when it turns green.wink.gif Usually I don't go to so high rpm before releasing the clutch, just around 1.2k ~ 1.5k rpm enough to move forward from a stop position.

I've yet to experiment with my car to see where is the optium rpm to achieve max torque.

When I test-driven Aveo, I already feel that the pull factor isn't there. Speed comes at 3th gear though. Didn't you consider it before buying? However, it is also correct that Taxis and Vans have bigger than 1.6CC engine. Those taxis you eat before are just saving fuel.