Cat Converter

Lightspeed

Resonator lor, the holes are the openings for sound absorbsion via the fibreglass packed around the tube.

Definitely not a cat and if U install it your exhaust will smell like fuel all the time! [shocked]

It does seems like your current stock car also going to kaput liao, so time to think about resonator or empty the current cat to act like a resonator so can pass inspection??? [crazy]

Bro, that one confirm cannot pass LTA. It's a freaking hotdog muffler and cannot even pose as a cat lah. Better if U punch through your stock cat and shaft a straight pipe through [;)]

Try to source for a race cat locally if U want to be good boy [laugh]

Race Cats from US damn cheap but shipping very ex lah, so result will be shipping more ex than the item! [:/]

If U can wait maybe when I ordering more stuff from Summitracing then can combine order ok?

Hmm...speaking of Summit...and combining orders...

Pat and I have been talking about getting the Autometer Gauges....

Pat: Vacuum and air/fuel meter

Me: Volt / Water Temp meter

That would be 4 meters between the both of us already [:p]

How much would the racing cat cost? And would it be legal and fit onto my car?

Sorry lar...me blur blur one [:p]

Okie, I'll ask Mike and the others to gather a little more orders.

As for the race cat, technically not legal as well as LTA frowns on all aftermarket parts but should be able to get away during inspection. Conditional pass lor, my friend's car with race cat also passed that way. [;)]

btw, what's your exhaust internal diameter?

The exhaust pipe's internal diameter......how big is the hole? [:p]

To order the cat must match the size mah.......should be the same as the hotbit resonator U have at home so take ruler and measure the hole size lor. I bet it's 2 inches [;)]

Was down at RDY auto the other day doing annual servicing for my Xsara.

The owner recommended a free-flow cat at $280 [crazy] . From the disc in this forum, it looks pretty expensive. Anyway, I took a peek thru the hole, see thru all the way to the other end, but can see little appenddages like needles in the cat. In other words, REALLY free flow. [;)]

Forgot to ask for the brand. But he mentioned that the cat is designed for Pugoets and Citroens.

But can I go for more reputable brands like Hotbits?

If U put your hand on the other side of this so called "race-cat" and can see your palm lines then it's just a resonator. The appendages are ribs for the exhaust flow. A race cat should still have wire mesh covers on both ends and you can see a faint light through it and not bright sunshine.

If you're interested in a real true blue race cat, lemme know as I'm consolidating an order from Summitracing (www.summitracing.com). Check out their online cataloge and look under exhaust & cat components. [cool]

Hotbits as far as I know doesn't do race-cats, they are all resonators.

Wow! Race Cat, sure interested one [:)] For your explanation, all these 'race cats' in the market that allow us to see thru the whole cat are resonators. In other words, sounds like there is a high chance that we will fail with these 'race cats' during inspection.

Becoz I m driving a Xsara, tuning parts are very difficult to find in SG. At the moment, only added the following *sob*

1. K&N drop in filter

2. Racing plugs from France (forgot the brand)

Looking at improving the breathing capability of my car (intake, exhaust) b4 looking into changing race cams, blah blah .... Life is getting interesting [:p]

I understand that after installing a free-flow cat, the installer will cover back using the casing from the original cat. Thus there is no diff if view from under the car. But if the cat is unable to control emission then you may have problems passing LTA inspection.

Guys, do correct me if I m wrong [:p]

Sorrie went to the summitracing site, couldn't find anything for my Xsara. Are the race cats custom made for a particular car model or are they for general applications (dependent only on the pipe diameter)?

Frankly, even without a cat in SG still can pass inspection. Why? Because they test for carbon monoxide and not NOX, so fuel injection cars confirm pass CO test one, even without cat.

The race cat from Summit (CATCO brand) is universal type and I got a 3" one from them, it's 14" long and US$49.95 [laugh]

So first U must know your stock exhaust diameter before ordering a universal race cat and also check the length of your stock cat so that U don't order a cat too big to fit.

btw, I'll let you know about our Skoda/Volvo meetup and perhaps you like to join us? [;)]