Wolverine Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 Any mechanic bros out there can advice, if i were to buy a USED catalytic converter but it is out of the car for like 1 - 2 years how can i ensure that it is still in working condition? i duwan to have this thing plug up my exhaust system and blow up my engine....help. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 (edited) It should NOT be a problem, provided you keep it in good condition. It is the Lambda or O2 sensor that is worrying. What did you do when taking it out, did you short the O2 to prevent it from giving a signal. Ivan Edited June 30, 2005 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Author Share June 30, 2005 Dunno lay, Man did it for me ....think my Sensors is before the CAT or somethin like that .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 (edited) eh...who is Man..am lost. Sensors need to be closed so that the ECU will not refuse to work. Did it once before, took out the Cat and run it straight through. The car is quite power thereafter. What car are you driving. Ivan Edited June 30, 2005 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 And Loud ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 No.. it is not like the muffler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 hmmm How many resonators have you got ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 what is a resonator... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 By default if I'm not wrong you should have 1 or 2. Usually suppress the sound. I have 1 reson and 2 cats for my stock. changed the entire turboback exhaust to aftermarket with just 1 reson and 1 hi flow cat and its about 89-91db Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 Nope...at least for my alfas. I had a straight through Cat, no noise added, just the muffler, that it. ivan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 Bro, how do you make the o2 sensor closed? Coz my fren had just done his exhaust (Toyota Vios) in JB. Having his extractor replace (4-1) and straight thru exhaust with cat removed & operated muffler. But right now his engine light keep coming out. With such a mod... the car should perform very tok kong, but I think it's due to the warning light keep on appearing which causes the car to lost it's power. Hope I can get some help here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 That's the name of the Malay boss of Man Exhaust. Blk 11 Sin Ming Ind Est Sec B #01-77 Singapore 575655 Telephone : 6458 7053 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 (edited) Hi, Do not really know about Japanese cars, especially Vio. Anyway,there are 2 wires to the sensors, I cut the wire and close the circuit by joining them together. The system actually thought that it is still working. That simple. Learnt it from an Alfa 164 guys. Ivan Edited June 30, 2005 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 Wow.. so easy ah. That I better tell my fren to ask around his Vios group fren better. other wise, once it's cut off.. and still won't work. the o2 sensor is gone forever liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Author Share June 30, 2005 Eh no one answered my question lay... i have got an original CAT (1-2 years not used - removed from car) and now i have a Straight thru CAT done by MAN Exhaust. I think my inspection should come soon so i wanna put that ORIGINAL back so as to clear inspection...But i am worried tht the original cannot be used any more.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 Don't need to change back mah. Get a workshop to sent you car for inspection your behalf lor. They will know what to do if you told them wat you mod. But must pay a bit more lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Author Share June 30, 2005 How much more? If i weld back only cost $20 .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie June 30, 2005 Share June 30, 2005 oh so cheap ah? than better go weld back lah. I have from my fren that doing such will cost about $150 - $250. Think it's most suitable for those ppl who mod their car super serious type. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...