K&N drop-in air filter

Super7

Hi Guys,

Does K&N drop-in air filter (or other similar brands) improve turbo engine's performance???....or most stock air filter in factory turbo cars good enough???

cheers

For low end, not much. It'll help when the turbo is spooled and creating a higher pressure suction, a free flowing filter will aid allowing more air through at a higher rate.

Personally I got about 0.1secs better 0-100km/h timing on my Gtech with K&N, a clean factory filter will work good enough if changed at recommended interval [;)]

thanks Gal, ...hmmmm...... sounds like i can save the $100++ on the K&N and use it for something else....... i am refering to the Airtrek Turbo R, any mods i should consider for this machine (it has a detuned evo6 engine now giving 240hp)??....

btw, if any bro out there want a K&N filter for his car, lemme know, i can swap my un-used K&N meant for Camry with the supplier for one that suit your car.......

woah... you got the Airtrek already? when delivering?... if not delivered, you already thinking of mods?!!!?? sly.gifsly.gifsly.gifpirate.gifpirate.gif

Got any inspirations from Bond movie or not? GPMG? Grenade Launchers? GPS? wink.gif

All MCF cars take note... Siam ah!!! Siam far far away... 240 horses still not enough... pirate.gif

If you see a Airtrek bearing down on you (wat colour ah??), must be Uncle Foo's one... laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gifPosted Image

Hi Foo, i'm thinking of getting a knn open-pod type if my custom-made resonator box doesn't materialise... the one i saw at Man's that Sat morning.

you joking lah, i drive slow even though the car has 240hp...... maybe if i bring the Asstrek to PG, then i will release the ponies, all 240 of them........... sgp roads not safe for senior bEng to handle 240 baeys........ so no need to give way if you see Asstrek in your mirror..... can even slow down and block...even that Asstrek also cannot catch up .............. [laugh][laugh]

how's the progress on making the air box......... do give it a good try.... [thumbsup][thumbsup] .......... there's no greater satisfaction than diy something which works at the end of the day, no matter how many attempts n re-dos it may take....

I'm relying on my uncle to do the box for me... coz dun have the cutting/welding tools myself, but he's really busy these days, so i might just give up the idea & buy a ready made one... sigh... [rolleyes]

thanks.......... but web pages dun show much leh....... i will go to the shop and look at their cataloges n display....... thanks again [thumbsup]

Took a look at the web pages just now also...didnt see much also... actually saw this advert in HOT STUFF magazine..they had a full page ad with some new bodykits for the Airtrek Turbo...quite chio leh. [nod]

you joking lah, i drive slow even though the car has 240hp...... maybe if i bring the Asstrek to PG, then i will release the ponies, all 240 of them........... sgp roads not safe for senior bEng to handle 240 baeys........ so no need to give way if you see Asstrek in your mirror..... can even slow down and block...even that Asstrek also cannot catch up .............. [laugh][laugh]

U mean u won't be joining me as a track hogger in PG???..... [angel]