Kianbeng Clutched April 10, 2005 Share April 10, 2005 Hi Guys, Need some advise on the following. Recently got some ICE Fever .I have bought these yesterday and would like to solicit some advise/suggestions on the best way forward to integrate into my car 1) 2 Channel Mosfet Power Amp 300w RMS 2) 2 x 8" subwoofers 3) 2 x 1" tweeters 4) 2 x 3 way crossovers 5) Misc cables to connect the above Current setup in car 1) Kenwood KRC 489 2) Front 6.5" 3 way coaxial speakers 3) Rear 6"x9" 3 way coaxial speakers Current plan (A) 1) Install my spare (old) 6.5" 2 way coaxial into rear door (curently empty) 2) Install tweeters on front dashboard facing ceiling upwards 3) Remove 6x9 from rear panel and cut hole bigger to fit the 8" subwoofers. 4) Install 2 Channel Amp under driver seat and connect Amp output to the 2 units of 3way crossovers. 5) Connect the tweeters, front speakers, woofers into the crossovers. 5) Connect the Rear door speakes directly to HU Plan (B) Follow plan (A) except the following 1) Use 2 Channel Amp to ONLY power the 2 8" subwoofers in parallel. 2) The rest of speakers connect to HU directly 3) Continue dreaming of more budget to buy 4 ch amp to power front/rear. (may dream forever) Appreciate any suggestions/advise or comments. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie April 10, 2005 Share April 10, 2005 USED Plan (B)AND AS FOLLOW 1) Use 2 Channel Amp to ONLY power the 2 8" subwoofers in parallel. 2) The rest of speakers connect to HU directly 3)Front 6.5" 3 way coaxial speakers 4) Rear 6"x9" 3 way coaxial speakers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 10, 2005 Share April 10, 2005 (edited) ur stuff wat brand one.. 300 RMS 2 channel amp enough to power so mani things meh? so one channel RMS 150 will pwoer woofer, speaker and tweeter.. a bit underpowered leh... unless u got one of those seriously underrated amps.. then different.. plus ur board behind can tahan the weight of the 2 woofers? i have got a friend who cut hole to put xtra speaker, his whole rear bend inwards.. so better take note.. y not just get another amp and problem solved liao.. even if u only connect ur woofer to the amp and the rest run from the HU, wont ur speakers be kinda under powered, a bit injustice to ur speakers. also, one more thing ah.. my friend usin a kenwood 350 wat amp to power 2 rodek woofers in his boot, its super under powered, so, don expect too much... maybe slonze can help u.. cheers mate.. enjoy ur music! Edited April 10, 2005 by Headshok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched April 10, 2005 Author Share April 10, 2005 ya man....I was having my toilet break while having a think again...and I think maybe I should really connect the 2 ch mosfet amp for the 2 x 8" woofers only. This is because I'll be able to use it's active crossover built into the amp, can adjust frequency and gain for shiokness. This should be better than using the passive crossovers' low pass. Maybe I should use the passive crossovers for the front and tweeters...but it's a 3 way crossovers....hmm....or maybe I use the crossover high pass to tweeter, mid range to front speakers and low pass to the rear door speakers. headache leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 10, 2005 Share April 10, 2005 Actually, when u say u usin Active cross over, i tot u got the cross over board.. aniway.. the ones in the amp are simple ones lah.. for the front speakers, its best u use the passive cross overs.. but u still need another amp.. wat i suggest is u use this amp to power ur speakers.. then get a more powerful amp for ur sub.. then u got one lousy pair of speakers u use HU to power lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched April 10, 2005 Author Share April 10, 2005 Mine belongs to one of those "funny brands" amp. haha. Actually I went around to listen to speakers, amp, woofers, tweeters..... Honestly the biggest difference my ears can differentiate is whenever an Amp (any brand) or crossovers are used. If no crossovers (active or passive), then any speakers if directly connected to the HU, will not be extremely good as they will be producing whole all frequencies. Maybe I'm really tone-deaf. Wonder if this is good news or bad news... My rear panel has a plastic top covering the whole panel. But once you remove it, you'll find a metal structure which is very solid. If my CD Changer wasn't hanging in between the 2 rear speakers, I would have cut a big hole and put in a 10" woofer man.... now have to make do with 2 x 8" woofers... Actually I can buy another 4 ch amp and everything will be solved....but have to find space to install leh. My left front seat have no space one....only driver's seat got space....will talk to the installer to see if it's possible to fit 2 amps under 1 seat. Wait the driver seat always very warm.....coz it's cooking below. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched April 10, 2005 Author Share April 10, 2005 The amp's built in crossovers not good meh? I thought it's flexible coz you can adjust the frequency of crossovers.....ie 10Hz to 100Hz...and then you also adjust the gain... If I use this 2 ch amp to power the speakers, then I can only power the front coz otherwise, if I use it to power front and rears, then I can't change front/rear loudness liao leh.... Think I might just use this amp exclusively for my 2 x 8" woofers in parallel. Actually, this 8" woofers I bought is a Rockford lookalike. According to this shop, it's the OEM manufacturer. And after audition, I feel I'm already satisfied with the quality so I bought it. Super big magnet. Very heavy as compared to other 8" speakers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 10, 2005 Share April 10, 2005 i tink u got the concept wrong.. for my setup now, i only got 1 4 channel amp, 2 channels power my front speakers, 2 channels bridge to woofer in boot..my rear speakers are stock, means they also attached to my HU.. i still can vary the vol control.. so don worry.. as for the rear pannel thing, just take note, becos my friend ust added 2 more normal component speakrs, his whole structure bend in.. u are addin in 2 woofers.. just be careful.. aniway.. ur amp sure got the low pass thing rite... (LPF), so u just select that and attach ur woofer can liao.. oo well..its really best u get another amp.. but downside is, 1 pair of speakers will be HU powered.. so wont be as good as amp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie April 10, 2005 Share April 10, 2005 (edited) ur stuff wat brand one.. 300 RMS 2 channel amp enough to power so mani things meh? so one channel RMS 150 will pwoer woofer, speaker and tweeter.. a bit underpowered leh... unless u got one of those seriously underrated amps.. then different.. plus ur board behind can tahan the weight of the 2 woofers? i have got a friend who cut hole to put xtra speaker, his whole rear bend inwards.. so better take note.. y not just get another amp and problem solved liao.. even if u only connect ur woofer to the amp and the rest run from the HU, wont ur speakers be kinda under powered, a bit injustice to ur speakers. also, one more thing ah.. my friend usin a kenwood 350 wat amp to power 2 rodek woofers in his boot, its super under powered, so, don expect too much... maybe slonze can help u.. cheers mate.. enjoy ur music! 300RMS not enough? Reminds me of when i was running just a single 4/2 Channel amp, rated 4x50rms or 150x2rms. Driving 4 10" RF Pro series subs, in a customed 4.2cu" ported box, tuned to 35hz. Those can really stroke and shake all the side and interior mirrors At the lights, with windows up, no problemo rocking the next car whose windows are also up Btw, the same amp was also driving the Boston components in the front and rear Entered for IASCA SPL soundoff 100-300rms category and came back with award some more So its not just the equipment, but the installation and installer also Edited April 10, 2005 by Redliner_sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched April 10, 2005 Author Share April 10, 2005 you only got 1 x 4ch amp? You use 2 ch for front speakers, but your other 2 are bridgeable? hmm...so that means your amp is actually 4/3ch. ya I understand for 4 ch amps, you can vary the vol control. But for a 2 ch amp, I can't. coz the 2 chs are left and right only. 4 chs you can control front or rear loudness. isn't it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 no lah.. still can lah.. u imagine.. if i unplug my sub, my amp will become a "2 channel" amp, with only my front speakers being powered by the amp. this still means my rear stock speakers are still powered by the head unit.. i still can control the over all vol thru the head unit. cos from ur HU, ur front output is to ur amp, if lets say u have a 4 channel amp, then u wil have another output to ur rear speakers tat is also connected to ur amp. but in your case, ur rear speaker "wires" are directly connected and powered by the HU, still can control one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 Bro, your front and rear volume is fader. Once setup already, its not something that you twiddle with everyday or week even. So Not an issue la, 2 channel can do already, as thats what i had then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 hey hey,, just curious, wat amp were u usin? think u were usin an under rated amp or something.. to power 4 woofers power man.. btw, how u control so mani woofers and speakers with 1 4 channel amp? wats ur set up like? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 I belong to the old school la Was using a Rockford Fosgate Power Series "Handcrafted in the USA" Was a 4channel, but was configured as a 2Channel, driving simultaneous stereo and mono. Control comes with good equipment. Rockford Power Series amplifier driving Rockford Pro Series subs, in a customised computer designed box ..... Power man Hear me long before u see me Beats the sxxt of of many other systems back then. No money then, so bought it 2nd hand off someone who used it to win in the soundoff and was selling off to upgrade. Not sure if still got any around, but there is one in my home showcase Since then guess technology has progressed significantly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 haha.. of course lah.. ur old sch amps are the best.. now all the damm amps all made in china, see beh dulan... but how can ur 1 amp, configured to 2 channel, power 4 subs and 2 pairs of components? how u configure the system? cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 My system nothing, At that time, competitors were powering up to 26 speakers or more, using just one amplifier. Its in the skill and experience of the installer. It can be done Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 wait wait.. how is it possible? wat is connected to wat? u just stuff the speaker output with all the cables or connect all the cables together and put into the speaker output, like that issit? must look for u next time at meet up.. heheh old sch stuff rocks.. hard to find these days.. cheers mate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner_sg Neutral Newbie April 11, 2005 Share April 11, 2005 what u trying to do? Start a electrical fire in the car? No lah, just leave it to the installer My was really great http://www.alberts.com.au/stores/ Had the install done at the Vic park store, but i think they have moved over to Cannington. Key people are still the same after 15 years! Great bunch of guys ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...