Ericlong Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 Hi All, This is my first post so please be kind to me. Have been reading some wonderful insights on chevy cars for months. And I have to admit that I learned quite a bit from all the seniors here. The reason for reading the posts here is because I am now 'seriously' considering buying the Aveo 1.4 (A) Sedan. This will be my first car if I do decide to purchase it, so kind of scare that I made the wrong decision. This is not exactly a small commitment so any help is greatly appreciated. The advises I seek are from Aveo (Sedan/Hatchback) owners in particular cause you are driving the car daily. I welcome all Chevy owners as well - What are the common problems you are currently facing with Aveo if any? noisy air con? - If given another chance, would you choose back the same car? If not, why? - I understand that Chevy is still consider new in Singapore but anyone here who own the Aveo for more than 2 years? If so, in your personal opinion, do you think the engine is good enough to last 10 years? - It is adviseable to get the basic model and upgrade later since most of the upgrade can be done cheaper elsewhere and you will get better quality e.g rims and type etc? - Lastly, can anyone share with me that it is not the end of the world if I don't get a Toyota cause almost everyone told me that it have better FC, car engine blah blah blah .... Thanks in advance! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 (edited) Don't only read the posts. Search the forum as well. http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/General_C1..._I...._P794635/ The total cost of my Aveo(A) sedan + modifications + cosmetics haven't even reach the initial cost of a Toyota Vios! Modding is fun!!! Plus, I intend to keep my ride for more than 10 years! Edited May 21, 2005 by Brock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluewind79 Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 Hi, im driving an Aveo hatchback for ard 8 mths, so far the car perform well. -common problems: a little fogging occur at front windscreen near the center dashboard (aircon too cold), right rear passenger door need to use more strength to close, squeeky sound when door lock. - if given another chance or rather if i had the money i would buy a TC car.... - none had drive an aveo for 2 yrs perhaps u can ask those who drive kalos 1.5. Nowadays, most engine can last for yrs with proper maintainance infact they r build to last. However, wear & tear of parts will still occurs. - get basic model for any car u intend to buy and upgrade later....its cheaper. - its true & cant deny that toyota car has better FC & engine technology...nice design as well...however, if u gonna calculate the car price & FC for both cars in long term, it end up almost the same. Lastly, spare parts for both cars are easy to get in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 (edited) I not aveo owner, but i like to chip in on this. I was face with tremendous public and non public pressure when I told them I got a chevy. All the daewoo, korean, non-refine, easy spoil, poor fc, no pickup, all Worried faces and concerned look will come along. <- To date, I think my car is the most refine in term of ride quality compare to any car of the same price can get. fuel and defects, I can live with it. You get a beautiful wife, sassy that give you quality time "xx", so she is a bit weak, get sick a little easier, need to eat a bit more good food to live on, does it mean she is no good? The ultimate thing is, you drive the car, you must like it. Take a good long look at the car and focus on what you are looking for in the testdrive. dun compromise for the money you can afford. You know best what you want, and comment from japanese luvers should be the least of concern. just a personnel thought. Edited May 21, 2005 by Nerd_on_wheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleu Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 hi, I faced the same issues and concerns you had when i decide to buy my Aveo05. I may not be the most experience or longest driver of an Aveo, but as far as i am concerned if given a choice to buy a car again Aveo would definately cross my mind again. Its really value for $ and has a reasonable FC, mine is doing 14km now. Interior wise its styling and space is good enough for me, as a tall guy it has plenty of head room left after in get in the car. Please do not even consider the Premium Top-up package.....with 2k extra...you could get better after-market rims/tyres and maybe 2 tone leather seats. As for the HU, well do you really play 5 CDs nowadays for prefer Mp3s? In short 2k would be better off spending, on later upgrades than the premium package. Its not the end of the world....parts and servicing is easily found....FC does not fair lower than say a Toyota Vios. Speed wise...in terms of engine power...i think most here would say its has afast pickup speed and rides and handles pretty well in crusing speeds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavier Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 "Speed wise...in terms of engine power...i think most here would say its has afast pickup speed and rides and handles pretty well in crusing speeds." Bro, I think my pick up a bit slow leh...unless you ram the accelerator then probably it will go faster. But in this case, how to achieve 14km/L?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 maybe his manual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavier Neutral Newbie May 21, 2005 Share May 21, 2005 My one same with his...same colour, same model, same manual and same batch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefighter Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 14km/l. How did u do that? i try 1 tank go rpm below 2000 and max below 80 and try not to on air con. The result was onli 13km/l. What did u change? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genew Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 broz, dun try below 80. Try 80-90 when cruising. For normal driving go below 2K... may help a little..... I've managed to get 13.1km/l for this driving style...and my ride is auto.... In response to bleu ans..... i agree the handling is good and car is stable at high speeds.... but but... pickup is really slow... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericlong Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Author Share May 22, 2005 Thanks for all your reply! Brock: I did use the search engine in the forum but the results ... dear oh dear ... was way too much for me to go through. So I took the easy way out Nerd_On_Wheels: You just sold me the Chevy Aveo! I love your description on the 'wife' portion. I like the Vios as well. Nice curves but the internal room space is small to say the least. My head almost touch the roof. I didn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 Eric, Well, all I can say is, "Advance Welcome to the Chevy Club!" You may wish to visit www.teamchevysg.com to get to know more specific Chevy members! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 alright, welcome to the humble chevy family in advance, even if eventually you choose otherwise. But I make a good chevy salesman huh, they should hire me to sell their car but seriously, I think I am just being fair when I say what I say. Not becoz I am a optra owner and I want to defend korean car, I also never condemn other cars by attacking their weaker spot. Very important, what you want and what you can and will love that is the key. Nothing else matters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 [reply]I not aveo owner, but i like to chip in on this. I was face with tremendous public and non public pressure when I told them I got a chevy. All the daewoo, korean, non-refine, easy spoil, poor fc, no pickup, all Worried faces and concerned look will come along. Now, my MSCP got quite a few Chevy liao. 1 Black Aveo sedan, 1 Black Aveo HB, 2 Black Optras plus my Silver Aveo! I think all of them non-MCFers. Don't see any mods. In addition, my office carpark mostly all Japanese car, Nissan, Toyota, Honda, Mazda. Only 3 Hyundai, 1 Saab and of course, 1 Chevy! Exclusive! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 then maybe he got more expressway UNless you all stay at the same place and work at the same place at travel around the same time, wah, then it is x-file already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nerd_on_wheels Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 my house mscp also got 1 sedan aveo, 2 hatch aveo and 1 red optra and again, in comparison, that is a pretty good ratio of the presense of chevy vehicle. of course among that 1 exclusive station wagon But I tell you, a lot of those bad egg is waiting for our car to spoil, then they can come commenting, Its like that one. No way man, I make sure I take good care of my baby, and they can say what they want behind but they AIN'T getting no pleasure to get an opportunity to tell me what they want to say. I love being exclusive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleu Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Share May 22, 2005 My one same with his...same colour, same model, same manual and same batch. heheh maybe i tofu leg.......but now maybe not 14kn liaoz begining to ram nowadays. But my calculation is based on JB PPWC...methods...Pump to the brim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericlong Neutral Newbie May 22, 2005 Author Share May 22, 2005 Talking about being exclusive.... I remember seeing only one Black Chevy Optra in my office underground carpark before. Nowadays, it seem to disappear. Maybe that person resigned. There is one Red Daewoo Kalos (HB) though. This girl from finance. Called her up for advise too. She give pretty good comments on the car. And best of all, her aunt is a SE in Chevy! Going to see whether can squeeze freebies out of her or not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...