Chucs75 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 Hi Guys, been thinking of this for some time. CAn a honda's vtec engine be turbo charged without losing its vtec advantages? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 Its been done before but i believe most vtec enthusiasts will think its sacrilegeous to TC a vtec engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 (edited) no, can never be and will never be......vtec engine is high revving engine that has high compression....around 10.4 to 11.0 depending on your engine tune..... turbo engine require extra low compression, around 7-8 .....so that they can spool up the turbine without risking blowing the engine....if u want to have the benefit of both, try super charge....more linear boost..... Edited June 1, 2005 by Turtlekar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan22 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 ermm bro yesterday i heard one black civic at ubi techpark.. giving out a PSSST sound.. sounds really like the real blow off valve.. but if no turbocharge... is there a need to install BOV.... or its a sound module... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 bro, they can do up with turbo.....but probably change piston....alternatively running at low boost...less than 0.5bar....i had a couple of friends running turbo...used to lah...first 400m, can never beat the NA car.....but once the boost come in, they are fast....as well....they have to use custom aquamist to cool down their engine....or else....like me lor....blow engine liao...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan22 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 wah firece. so u are one hardcore CIVIC modder also ah..it takes alot of skills and patience to learn how to mod a car.. damn im still learning.. but civic with BOV i seldom heard of also... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 if im not wrong, these engines are not supposed to be TC is also becos the engine block is not design to take the kind of pressure right? if that is the case, why still run the turbo below 0.5 bar? it's still stressing the engine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 i thought this rule goes for all engines? If it's not TC, must check before you TC to see whether the parts can take the extra pressure. Or else, the engine may just go boom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 yeah you're right. for me what i think is if the engine is an NA engine, nv TC it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 no worries, if i'm not wrong...u must be the guy driving the van right.....i used to drive an EK4....and also heavily involved into mod...soup up quite a bit of my car.... Was there, Been there..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 u are right abt 50%....theoretically the car is not meant for turbo charging, but then again, if he has changed most parts of his car, the car is still capable for turbocharging...... looking at mechanical side, he has to change a low compression forged pistons...example DC/ eagle piston.....very very low compression....probably at abt 8.0; next he will have to change his vtec cam to turbo camshaft and probably have to retard his cam sprockets as well.....in addition to that, he will need to have a very good cooling system such as customised aquamist, good front intercooler and strong pipings.....last but not least, u will also need to change your fuel rail and as well as fuel injector as more fuel is required to give power.... on the electrical side, he will have to change his ECU to accomodate the turbocharging....using existing ECU will be equivalent to running on NA vtec as the ECU cannot tell if there is a turbine being add to a car.....further to this, the car must have a very good engine management to cater for the turbocharged.... with all these combination, it will allow the car to be able to boost up to 0.8bar, due to the fact that B16A4 is an aluminium head.....they dissipate heat extremely fast and is not that durable for turbocharging unless again work is done as well..... talking abt so much, i suppose there is another expert who has been sleeping in the forum for quite awhile...check with Saaber about turbocharging....he has driven a turbo car b4, and he is still missing it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 yeah..to change from NA to TC very troublesome. haha yeah i know Saaber plays with these stuff. if i remember correctly, he had a post on how to TC ur car. he's a pro to me man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ltcy Clutched June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 no, can never be and will never be......vtec engine is high revving engine that has high compression....around 10.4 to 11.0 depending on your engine tune..... turbo engine require extra low compression, around 7-8 .....so that they can spool up the turbine without risking blowing the engine....if u want to have the benefit of both, try super charge....more linear boost..... Is it??? I have seen a white Civic, EG6, doing TC in one of the workshop in JB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 u are rite, he is my adviser as well.....used to have fun with him on this car...really miss the old days......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 yes, like i said b4, it is possible but depends on the $$$ u spend.....the more u spend, the more ponies u will get....if u want more ponies but less $$$...also can be done, but won't last few launches.....in JB, there are too many workshop doing turbo, in fact, it's the fastest and cheapest way to get horsepower as compared to NA, which is a combination of everything...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freshmaker Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 what about supercharing a civic? issit as complicated as tc-ing? e.g so many things to change? whats the penalty for sc-ing a car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcz Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 you will have to change some engine parts, penalty is compounding of car, not like tcing which is just $500 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freshmaker Neutral Newbie June 1, 2005 Share June 1, 2005 how easily visible is the sc once the bonnet is pop? issit a huge fan-like looking thing? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...