Jeffteng Neutral Newbie December 1, 2005 Share December 1, 2005 hahah then i think u probably need to get a couple of brackets for the woofer box to the body of the car~ u can use those small brackets found similarly with pre-amps will do. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaogary Neutral Newbie December 1, 2005 Share December 1, 2005 that means need to drill hole? err....any other solution? Until now I have not drilled any holes in my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie December 1, 2005 Share December 1, 2005 hahah no choice lah bro sometimes u need to do some sacrifice, if not i really dunnoe how to help u liao~~~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear February 2, 2007 Share February 2, 2007 How about facing down with a 1" gap? I tried facing my sub down and the bass was coming from all over the car(front, left, right, top, bottom and back). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie February 2, 2007 Share February 2, 2007 > My car boot floor now is with fake 3M type of carpet, so I dont think velcro can stick onto it. Any other solution? i thought these carpets are supposed to be "sticky" "non-stick" type? so velcro with adhesive backing should stick mah. the weight of the speaker also ensures it sticks firmly. if cannot, then you can SEW the velcro into the carpet. like that wanna slip, the whole carpet slip together. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 bro, subwoofer plays frequencies that are non directional which means that whatever position it faces, u shld not be able to tell if it is facing the left corner, right corner, boot, driver or anywhere else... if u are a SP person, then i think it might affect how the pressure builds up in the cabin... if u are not too much into sp, just want some sq. just place the woofer where it conveniences u the most. congrats on ur sub.now can enjoy some "boom boom" in your car!! or maybe out of it?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 cut a hole in the 3m carpet and stick velcro to the box and stick it to the carpet... if not, the weight of the woofer and box shld be able to stay firm on the 3m kind of material unless if u corner like 80 km per hr kind of speeds... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 No, those 3M replica types, like the name says REPLICA...so you can't expect the quality of the real thing. In any case, those carpets aren't for non-slip, they're more for easy to trap dirt and easy to clean, nothing about it is about non-slip...in fact it's the opposite..it's even more slippery...esp when wet. you can always find a nice spot in the boot, cut the mat so the woofer rests on the boot itself and not carpet...or like coolbreeze said, use velcro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 imo actually the position of the plays a role, maybe for my ride, betw the left side or right side, put liao got diff one ... while its orientation will affect some llose parts in my boot , can hear their rattling at certain orientation. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolbreeze90 Neutral Newbie February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 I agree with your observation that the facing of the woofer will "rattle some lose parts" I use to have a sub that was free placing and i used to keep it in the left of my boot facing inwards. Aft that, i shifted it to the centre facing the back, then i settled down with my current one in the spare wheel well facing upwards. all three positions were very similar in terms of SQ becoz for me, sub plays a small role to complete the frequency spectrum. so aft all these, i came to a personal conclusion that it affects minimally to the driver but extensively to the passenger... due to their closer proximity to the woofer... Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiss29 Neutral Newbie February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 From my physics class. I know Speed = Frequency * Wavelength. Speed of sound = 343m/s Subwoofer frequency ~ 80Hz So the normal sound wavelength is 343/80 = 4.3 meters. (This is a long wave) Ok....the car interior is definately not longer than 4.3 meters. So it means that the sound wave will be reflected/refracted and distorted easily. As long as one do not place it facing a smooth flat surface where the waves can reflect back to the woofer cone and cause cancellation of the frequency, I think the placement is not so important?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 waaa.. so cheem, i tot in ice only need one thing, no not brains but just a pair of ears . except that some ears are good, others are betta . some pple can hear more things than others, actually not that they are deaf, but that they are not trained to pick out the sounds. anyway, if got chance, can try to feel the diff, esp betw those deep and low drum beats, when the sub is placed at diff loc, while using the same Eq + Xover + TA + wats-not setting. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 now, i m struggling wif my new sub ... running in + getting it to sound nice . rattling, hopefully dun come so fast, else = $$ mice ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...