Dwoon 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 errr... yah.... I know this. Just that I don't know what gap is the BKR8EIX that Terence has brought in. If its not stated, what is the default? Any idea? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Author Share May 22, 2007 Actually, the -11 cannot be trusted. I've gotten -11 spark plugs and their gaps vary. Before installing, it is good practice to gap them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 But my mech doesn't do that leh..... they just use them straight from the boxes. BTW, can these Iridium plugs be manually gapped? I don't want to "kay khiang" and end up causing more problems instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Author Share May 22, 2007 Fine tip Ir plugs can gap but you risk damaging the fine tip. Only fine tip got this danger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 Isn't the BKR-EIX series fine tip Ir plugs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 ic, anyway i'm sticking with coppersdamn plats rusted before i'm done with them i used the two prong earth sparkies (box branded Toyota) from mom & pop spare parts stores at Sin ming........very good and cheap fer my previous Mazzie 323. I think is oso copper ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 Is this the one How much did you pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 hehehe, so got extra discount? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 make peanuts only lah, not those made by the previous NKF saga type of peanuts hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 errr... yah.... I know this. Just that I don't know what gap is the BKR8EIX that Terence has brought in. If its not stated, what is the default? Any idea? Thanks The plug i bring in are BKR8EIX, default gap are 0.8mm. Yes iridium can be gap but need special care and technique when gapping. Proper Gapping In most cases the factory set gap should conform to your vehicle specifications. However if it is necessary to widen the gap, do so with a tool that only pulls back on the ground electrode without touching the center electrode or the porcelain. To close the gap on a plug, gently tap the plug, electrode first on a hard surface. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 (edited) Wah... siao liao.... is it the same gap size as the Iriway 8 which was what I wanted? Think my recommended gap size is 1.1mm leh.... Thanks. Edited May 22, 2007 by Dwoon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 Yes, BKR8EIX is the same as Iriway 8. You can gap up or down if you like, i can also help you if you want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 Ok, ok.... false alarm. Think its recommended that the gap be smaller for higher boost. http://www.gccorp.com.au/automotive/produc...4cdd8a2fd42bdf0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Author Share May 22, 2007 Glad you found that out. I was wondering why you needed 1.1mm gap. With such a high charge mix, it takes a really little spark to go fwooomph! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 Errr... never realised that I've been on 0.8mm gap. When I did a search for the stock plugs for my ride.... it shows 1.1mm. Then somemore, I'm using the BRK7EIX-11 which I got from Terence. So now dunno which is the correct gap..... only that the workshops I go to recommend to use the Iriways which I was on previously. So suddenly "kan cheong".... because I ordered from Terence... and also going to pickup the NGK racing plugs R7119-8. Thought I ended up with so many sets which I cannot use. Looks like can use either gaps leh.... but dunno which is the better. Maybe when I put them in, hope I can feel more power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 get the gapping tool la, then experiment yourself. i noticed the smaller gap i go (0.9mm), the more torque at low end, but a lost of high end HP then i try 1.2mm, idling not steady, but high end seems slightly more lifely. so my plugs r now at 1.0mm by the time they are due for a change, it should still be within my car manual recommendation of 1.1mm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 (edited) j/k that time i remember asking if u have the 16heat range, and u mention have. Edited May 22, 2007 by Cyberet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 22, 2007 Share May 22, 2007 Wah lau eh..... experiment myself??? It'll be a costly affair man..... $40 labour each time to take out and change the plugs.... plus a changing time of about 1 hour (provided I don't have to wait my turn at workshop). Errr.... I'll give it a miss and take your feedback as indicative. Going from 1.1 to 0.8mm, I should hopefully get better low end if you're correct. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...