Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Heya.. As you all can tell clearly that Im a Dodo in this field. I was wondering, what should I do to "make" the fuel consumption better? Hopefully not tearing out the rear seats and ripping off the roof! Heard about the Apollo thingie... cheem... couldnt understand at all. Probably brothers out there can help. Maybe quote the price and where to get them (mods or methods) done too. Thanks in advance! oh.. I bought this front or back mounting baby/child seat for 9kg to 36kg for $129 at mothercare. Shiok! (another reason why I cant rip off the rear seats). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 oh.. I bought this front or back mounting baby/child seat for 9kg to 36kg for $129 at mothercare. Shiok! (another reason why I cant rip off the rear seats). --------------- How you know Shiok ? You have sit on it ?. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 hahahaha Cheaper lah. I should have written "YAY!!!" rather than "SHIOK" to show my happiness. hahaha. My 2 days search for baby/child seats was rewarded when they decided to throw in a $50 discount on the seat. Good thing is that they displayed the seats at an appropriate level so that my sister can try fitting her baby into the seats as a measurement! hahahaha. Anyway, Cool, Can you tell me more about the apollo stuff and your "mobile workshop"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Firstly keep the car well tuned. Things like tire pressure, air filter, spark plugs, etc. must be kept within spec and replaced at recommended intervals. Avoid mounting too many stuff like bodykits, spoilers, etc. Do let the car idle as "warm up" in the mornings, just start and let the rpm settle at idle then drive off lightly on the gas till the engine warms up. You don't need much mods to maintain good fuel economy, just disciplined maintenance routine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 I have a baby sit fitted with "SHEEP SKIN".. try to take a photo to show you. Yes.. it looks hot but when your air-con is on, it is very comfortable.. how I know, my maid and wife lie their heads at the side and fell asleep. what is your email.. I will show you the photo. Very easy DIY job. BTW. have private message you.. check your private messages. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 Hmm.... if you ask me to point at the stuffs you mentioned, I would just say "uh-uh". No idea man. Me big Dodo. Maybe I'll change the rims to something light. or even throw out the extra wheel in the boot. thanks for the advise Pal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 What car you drive ?? Maybe owners of the same car and enlighten you .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 Im on a suzuki wagon R+. Kinda remind me of the cars being drawn in the comic Dragon Ball. Hahaha. There are already 3 wagons in my carpark. 1 of them has the sheep skin/wool.. watever on the driver's seat! :P I was wondering.... how to clean the sheep skin/wool ? Im looking for interesting seat covers too cos the seats kinda look like those from TIBS buses. Hehehehe Anyway, I guess lessen loads and not driving like a mad man would produce better fuel consumption rate... hmm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 I have driven the wagon R+ before.. the tires are rather small (cannot remember what size).. do be careful when taking corners.. this cars rolls alot !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 the engine is a bit underpower for the body....my personal experience.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 Oh well, No choice... very tight budget for a car. But at least it can fit 5 tall figures in it. I was actually deciding between that and the Atos. I guess it was also chemistry between me and the wagon. I just love the Dragon-Bally looks of it. Hehehe. BTW, anyone can tell me what car roll is? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Roll = Say if you take a quick turn to right at speed 90KM/h, you feel that your car seems to sway out of to the left tremendously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 it is definitely a better than Atos....You made a good choice.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 Something related to turning radius? I guess it because of the centre of gravity of the car. So that means that due to circular motion, I will feel more force acting to the left when Im turning to the right at higher speeds? (got that from a sec 1 science textbook) Maybe I should make the tyres and rims heavier, can lower the CG and reduce the roll. Hehehe. Then contradicts my efforts on trying to save fuel consumption. Hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 What I meant was to keep you car well maintained, that'll help keep the fuel consumption optimal Throw out the spare tire and in case got tire problems call MCF rescue team! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 You want to know what the deciding factor was? Well, Simple. I chose the wagon than the Atos because suzuki = japan and hyundai = korea. True that Im very biased in this but well I guess its how more established the former is compared to the latter. Heard that Atos is now being sold as a brand in Malaysia. Think its Inotom Atos or something. Oh well, thanks for answering my queries guys. I got my license only 6 months ago and I have only driven once. To tell you the truth, my dragonball was suppose to come 3 days ago... but stuPIG bank loan thingie... new years day.. blah blah... delay until next monday then can get the car. ARGH! Cant wait to form an alliance with the wagons in the carpark downstairs. We'll call ourselves the Wagon-rollers! Hahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahkeng Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 Oh yah, the stuPIG thing is that its got a spare tyre but no car-jack nor spannar to help change the tyre if needed. Pretty dump isnt it? Got to get a mini fire-extinguisher too. When I *finally* get the car keys, Im going to decorate it and take pictures to show you guys. Just an old mini wagon. But its my first car. And YOU GUYS ARE GREAT! Very willing to answer my queries and help me with all the "keep asking questions that have been asked and re-asked millions of times" stuff!! I know more here than the 5 car magazines I bought! Woohoo!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 I took out my spare tire last time too as it was a 16" spare and I changed to 17" so the diameter a bit out. Furthermore I could always count on kakis here to give me spare tire support via a simple SMS And keep your questions coming! We'll be glad to help ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...