Papercup Neutral Newbie July 10, 2005 Share July 10, 2005 Hi guys, Anyone of you changed your Optra's braking system? I am looking into changing rotors and the calipers. Anyone can recommend? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
El69 Neutral Newbie July 10, 2005 Share July 10, 2005 If you're looking for bigger disc and caliper, you have to source out of the stock parts bin. I have discussed this with Koon and had narrowed down to a few, including a 2pot option. One of my restrictions was to keep within my 15" wheels since I'm not prepare to upsize the wheel. If you have bigger wheels, your option opens up for bigger disc and calipers. Problem for me now is the downtime. Since its a custom project, its the experience of the installer that makes the diff now. Direct bolt-on, even you and me can do the job given the tools. Drop by his place and ask him, I just spoke to him on Sat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papercup Neutral Newbie July 11, 2005 Author Share July 11, 2005 Hmm.... what are options that you have discussed with Koon? I am currently on 17" so may look into getting bigger one. Downtime? How long roughly will that be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Editt Neutral Newbie July 11, 2005 Share July 11, 2005 Hi, I am interested as well, btw, where is koon locations and tel? Maybe can do together? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papercup Neutral Newbie July 12, 2005 Author Share July 12, 2005 Here is Koon's address: 10 Ang Mo Kio Ind Pk 2A #01-02 Singapore 568047 Telephone : 6484 2555 Most probably I will be droppign by his workshop late this week or mid next week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched July 22, 2005 Share July 22, 2005 Hi Bro. Haf u changed ur braking system already? I oso feel tat the stock braking is sometimes inadequate..Bt lookin @ changing the brake pads to a reputable brand & changing the brake fluid 1st & c how's the performance. Hope can improve the braking performance of my Optra w/o changing the calipers which ia a more expensive mod Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear July 22, 2005 Share July 22, 2005 Actually, a few things you can do to upgrade your braking systems. - Change the rubber brake hose to the steel braided hose. This will directly improve the braking response as steel braided hose does not flex. The reaction and the grip is more "responsive - Pads. Change to higher performance pads like Mintex - Discs. Get the slotted ones. (Mintex has it too) This will improve grip and heat reduction. I'm a bit not willing to recommend "holes" version on the discs. What I've seen is uneven wear of the pads and causing disc warp instead of full slotted ones, which are more even. Change brake fluid will not increase performance unless you drive on track I belief. I will take the norm your vehicle is using and the one which you can get from petrol station island wide. Hope it helps. Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched July 22, 2005 Share July 22, 2005 Oo..Ya I missed out the steel braided hoses mod. Thx Bro. I'll change the brake pads 1st cos the stock ones are left wif less than 50%. Yes my brake fluid is left untouched since the 1st day of delivery. Guess will drain it out & replace with a fresh one as I understand that brake fluid will collect moisture as time goes by. Thx 4 ur informative input Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papercup Neutral Newbie July 22, 2005 Author Share July 22, 2005 Hi bro, I haven't change the braking system yet. Too busy with work, maybe have to wait till after NDP. Change your brake pad first. I changed mine to Brendix Metal King Plus (not all brake pad can fix the Optra but Metal King Plus can) a few months back and the braking improved alot! You can do it at CK Motor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaogary Neutral Newbie August 16, 2005 Share August 16, 2005 Can change rear drum brake to disc brake? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrous Neutral Newbie August 16, 2005 Share August 16, 2005 changing frm drum to disc will require alot of work and money. think have to change entire wheel hub. Brake fluid only need to change aft 2 to 3 yrs...they dun absorb moisture tt fast. Change to dot 4 will do...dot 5 will eat into ur rubber hoses...even aft u change to steel braided hoses, somewhere along ur brake line, there are still rubber hoses. If u insist then go for dot5.5 . But each time u need to top up...good luck. Go for wat madsumm suggest...if those still dun satisfy u...then go for Big Brake kit...but they dun come cheap! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angkh88 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 Hi Bro, Thinks of changing my brake pad too...how much did you pay for your Metal King Plus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Botak Neutral Newbie September 8, 2005 Share September 8, 2005 I went to Ah Koon and he charged me $90. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie October 5, 2005 Share October 5, 2005 Any Idea what is our stock brand of brake pad for Optra ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lappy Neutral Newbie October 6, 2005 Share October 6, 2005 urs a optra oso??can u tell me how many pcs of brake pad we have in total.front and back.i heard pple say optra got rear disc and drum????i thought that kind of thing bmw use but i didn't noe optra oso use??????PLZ adivse me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Botak Neutral Newbie October 18, 2005 Share October 18, 2005 there are 4 pics in total. 2 front and 2 back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun7557 Neutral Newbie October 19, 2005 Share October 19, 2005 4 piesec for $90? Sounds good to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefighter Neutral Newbie October 19, 2005 Share October 19, 2005 Newbie question. How to tell yr brake pad using up soon? Any good brake pad in market for Aveo. Aveo braking sai lai eh! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...