Jump to content



Formula 1 at Shanghai: Button and Hamilton make it a one-two for McLaren

By Rigval on 19 Apr 2010

Attached Image: JB_22.jpg
Jenson Button wins the 2010 Shanghai F1 Grand Prix. The 2009 World Champion started fifth on the grid and his decision to stay on slicks when everyone else pitted for intermediates as well as Nico Rosberg spinning saw him move to P1 on lap 20. He maintained in that position till the end and insisted after the race that his victory was down to the team's ability to make the correct decisions when it mattered. The Shanghai race ended with Button 1st, his teammate Lewis Hamilton in 2nd and Nico Rosberg of Brawn Mercedes Petronas in 3rd. The bad news of the day was that Red Bull may have started the race in P1 and P2 on the grid but that's not where they finished after falling foul of the changing (quite wet) conditions.

The other Brawn Mercedes Petronas driver, a certain Michael Schumacher finished 10th, behind Ferrari's Massa who somehow managed to slip pass Schumacher somewhere at the end of the race. After starting ninth on the grid, Schumacher nearly had a top-five finish following a row of pit stops due to the changing weather weather. However, aside from a small battle with Lewis Hamilton, he quickly slipped back to the middle of the pack and was even grappling for grip at times. Schumacher admits it wasn't a good weekend for him all-round, but says he enjoyed his battle with Lewis Hamilton.

It was a pretty interesting race with the safety car coming out twice. The weather playing an important part in making things interesting and nearly everyone, with the exception of Jenson Button went in and out of the pits. Good decision making from the team and from him. Mclaren were really good in that the fastest lap of the race was also snapped up by Lewis Hamilton.

Things should get even better as the teams now head to Europe Spain on 9th May 2010. Expect most teams to have new aero parts for their cars every time they head back to Europe. The results for Shanghai are as follows:

  • 1 Jenson Button -McLaren-Mercedes
  • 2 Lewis Hamilton -McLaren-Mercedes
  • 3 Nico Rosberg -Mercedes GP
  • 4 Fernando Alonso -Ferrari
  • 5 Robert Kubica -Renault
  • 6 Sebastian Vettel -RBR-Renault
  • 7 Vitaly Petrov -Renault
  • 8 Mark Webber -RBR-Renault
  • 9 Felipe Massa -Ferrari
  • 10 Michael Schumacher -Mercedes GP
  • 11 Adrian Sutil -Force India-Mercedes
  • 12 Rubens Barrichello -Williams-Cosworth
  • 13 Jaime Alguersuari -STR-Ferrari
  • 14 Heikki Kovalainen -Lotus-Cosworth
  • 15 Nico Hulkenberg -Williams-Cosworth
  • 16 Bruno Senna -HRT-Cosworth
  • 17 Karun Chandhok -HRT-Cosworth
  • Ret Jarno Trulli -Lotus-Cosworth
  • Ret Lucas di Grassi -Virgin-Cosworth
  • Ret Pedro de la Rosa -BMW Sauber-Ferrari
  • Ret Sebastien Buemi -STR-Ferrari
  • Ret Kamui Kobayashi -BMW Sauber-Ferrari
  • Ret Vitantonio Liuzzi -Force India-Mercedes
  • Ret Timo Glock -Virgin-Cosworth
Attached Image: Jenson_Button1.jpg

Formula 1, F1, motorsport and 7 more...

Viewed: 440 times

Related Blog Posts
Written by Rigval
Born in 1972. Married with a kid. Loves B-road drives and have driven cars from the 1950s to date.

Car Makes

Please select a car make

Facebook Likes
   Featured Blog Post
Formula 1 has announced grid girls will become a thing of the past after months of debate. The ru...
Last weekend, Nissan held its 20th annual Nismo Festival at Fuji Speedway – nestled in the shadow...
Only 175 coupe and Volante Aston Martin Vanquish S Ultimate models will be produced, as Aston Mar...
This 421km/h Nissan 300ZX is up for sale by BH Auction in Japan. Set to go on sale in January, th...
Geely, owner of Volvo – has acquired Terrafugia, an American flying car company that intends to b...
How do I leave lasting impressions and get more attention in the advertising space I have just si...
   Lifestyle Articles