CD Reviews

Sarong1

yeah lor. .perhaps i am weak. IQ only 74.

imagine i wept when i hear Teresa Teng/Cai Jin song. I turn on when i hear MJ..

so how. got to be careful mah.

Yep, it's her latest. Did you know Magnolia the movie was written from her songs and not the other way round? Also, she's married to singer Michael Penn (who himself writes great Beatles-ish music), brother of actor Sean Penn.

Ic ic..din noe it was based on her music........i remember it was one of those movie where it can keep u absorbed throughout as they have multiple stories developing...pretty weird stuff i must say of the movie exp the last part...till today i dun really understand what its supposed to mean when it started raining toads....puzzling..hehe

I think similar music will be stuff from beth orton and mabe ani difranco...

beth orton, hmmm..... been tempted to try some of her stuff as well. I heard her songs can sound quite depressing [laugh][laugh]

yeah can be a tad depressing....think i bought her album quite long ago called central park or somthing liek that..good too should try it..

been listening to the album from the killers...addictive ....2 months liao but still not sick of it yet....but not everyday listen...its those albums that u can come back after a long absence of listening and still feel how good it is that are truly worth it IMO....

yes [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] and all the old depeche mode stuff, aztec camera, black etc... the new stuff from New Order just doesn't cut it anymore [:p] nick cave is really depressing, makes u wanna jump out of the window [sweatdrop]

[laugh] dark and dperessing music should includes stuff from trent reznor(NIN)....dark n depressing and suicidal...yeah nick cave is good..wat r the good albums??never got down to buying his stuff...wat abt morrisey stuff...rem i had his single before, was pretty depressing stuff....more self loathing kind thing...

NIN a bit boring after a while, i kinda prefer KORN nowadays, maybe not as suicidal as NIN but equally loud [laugh]. I've got most of cave's recent albums, murder ballads, lyre of orpheus etc... ok lah. haven't bought any morrisey stuff too. dunno man, think sad songs are easier to identify with [sweatdrop]

English - Snow Rose and Emi Fujita

Chinese - see attached pic, I don't know how to read her chinese name.

post-4-1122611451.jpg

hehe....been kinda following NIN for sometime since i got their broken album...furious stuff....just converted korn's follow the leader onto mp3 to listen in the car...loud....still rem must press till track 13 before the first track comes on....

yeah might go try out nick cave's stuff this weekend...not that am feeling depressed..

Adelphi 3rd floor, very cosy, just tell the owner what genre you like, pay them a few more visits, they will remember you and introduce you some rare finds in future...happy listening. You can sample the CD on their tube amp too...Dun worry about pricing, I find it cheape than Semb MC. add a quantifier, I am not a partner with them...have been patronising them since they operate in Sembawang shopping centre...

Went down at 7 pm to check out the CD you mentioned. The owner said boh liao so look look see see, ended up buying 6 other CDs instead [laugh] but now broke [bigcry]