Facelift Alfa 147 Review

Normal_aspirated

From what I understand, it's not that that they "detune" the 1.6. Both variants of the 1.6 were always there since 146.

I think I read somewhere that the 105hp is without VVT, that makes the diff of 15hp...

It's purely the OMV reasons that EuroAutomobil bring in the 105hp ones...

Look at this website. It explains the characteristics of the 105bhp. It is indeed a detuned 120bhp.

http://www.squadra-tuning.com/English/EN_a...6_16v_105pk.htm

Conti car BHP figures are quoted for power at the crank as well, not at the wheels.

Factory figures for fuel consumption is far from what you can expect to achieve [sly]

ok, for fuel consumption, im getting abt 12km/l for both ron95, 98. for a car with sorta power, im pretty pleased.

"Driven properly around the track, the 1.6L cars will give the 2.0L selespeeds a good run for their money"

Ya, I have heard about it... the key word is "driven properly"... [drivingcar] As far as Alfa driving is concern, I am still a L plate driver... [sweatdrop]

ok, so now, i've seen this post. so im glad, the truth of the matter is theres nothing wrong with the 147 1.6. every car needs to be 'driven properly' to get the best out of it. even an evo. i can put my mum in the evo 9 and she will probably struggle to beat even a honda civic, or an alfa watever. that's why they only put the Schumachers, Alonsos behind the wheel of an F1 car. its the ability to get the max out of the car. A Top Gear program showed the Evo driven at low revs and it even loses out to the Fiat Stilo. But when the Turbo kicks in, it even shamed a Lambo. So its very important to judge a car's characteristics by drivers who get the max out of it, not just those who drive and go to the supermarket.

Edited by Felipe

But even with 120hp at wheels, I still lose out to lots of Sunny, Altis, Lancer leh... [bigcry] Maybe I have a "human speed limiter" sitting beside always... [whip]

hehe, you are the 1st person I heard saying Twin Spark engine frugal... [laugh] I think 15km/l by Alfa standard is quite good liao...

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/General_C1...Handed_P975563/

Limiter? [shakehead] Check out Link [crazy]

Edited by Can2do

i read from a Alfa UK forum 1.6 147 hitting 225kmh. so its not exactly news to me. but that's the way it is. conti cars can handle the high speeds with stability. can even visit renault forum. they can tell u the megane top speed is way past the 190kmh in the specs. somehow, i always feel the conti specs are sorta understated.

Hi Felipe, thanks for the advice on how to drive an Alfa... [;)]

Maybe all of you misunderstood me liao, I nowadays carry a baby around, so din really "sprint" alot... that's why always lose out to many other cars... [shakehead]

Maybe I am over humble liao... Ok, but it's true Alfa is not a good traffic light sprinter... Try play with a Vios (M)... But when it comes to winding roads... [sly]

By the way, how do they "detune" it? By removing the cam variator... so no VVT... rite? So the result is a smoother delivery of the torque, but it just dont feel lika a high reving Alfa engine should be...

hehe, you are the 1st person I heard saying Twin Spark engine frugal... [laugh] I think 15km/l by Alfa standard is quite good liao...
.....mine protege only 10 to 11km/L, Nissan sunny lesser than tat, Mit Lancer no better, etc. So alfa on paper show it is frugal compare to mine, mah. [:p][smallcry]

On paper I think yr Protege is even better rite? [laugh] Paper is just a rough guide. It's all depends on yr right foot... [sly]

Me also getting around 12km/l like Felipe...

the car's specs is not 1.3 ton. its 1.2 ton car with the 2L coming in at 1.25ton.

Sorry, my bad, just checked. Our car is 1220kg. I am 80kg, so it's 1.3 ton right? [laugh] Just joking... I am not that fat...

`Sorry, my bad, just checked. Our car is 1220kg. I am 80kg, so it's 1.3 ton right? Just joking... I am not that fat... '

Argh...so I'm fat coz I weigh 80kg [:(] and my car is 1.33 ton [bigcry]

But even with 120hp at wheels, I still lose out to lots of Sunny, Altis, Lancer leh... [bigcry] Maybe I have a "human speed limiter" sitting beside always... [whip]

I find the current 147's look too "sedated" and moving towards "executive" rather than "sporty" look liao... Why they remove the "hooded" instrument clusters and then put a "Astra styled" silver strip at the rear? And why they change the front fog lamp and signal lamp position back to "normal"? [crazy]

Oh really. Why not let me drive your alfa? I'll show you how easy it is to put those low end jap models into eating dust from behind.

hmm... i'd rather think that an engine lik the 1.6 tspark wld be in its element at high speeds rather than pure 0-100kmh sprints...& if im gonna be proud of the 1.6tspark its the very fact tat it can easily hit beyond 200kmh..

The last time I asked, there is a tie in period of 5 years before you can make full settlement. Else have to cough out all the rebate plus some penalty... [sweatdrop]

Better just to call EA and ask lor... The T&C might change...

seen the advert for a new 147 at $79k after 20% interest rebate. Is there a catch to it?
.....guess is the same as those re-financing of car loans. Penalty imposed if you do final settlement before the 18 months period. [smallcry]

There's probably a catch somewhere.......must ask the SE. [:p]

Edited by Normal_aspirated