Tron Neutral Newbie August 16, 2005 Share August 16, 2005 (edited) i wonder wat is EA doing abt this; i doubt they even bother... dun seem to see any options for this in SGD 147s so far!! dunno wanna wait for wat... dun think it will affect OMV tat much wat... IMO stupid to sell alfa according bare essentials. i remember the early 147s were fully decked out wit options - cruise control, sunroof, factory alarm etc etc... now?? zilch... oni care abt as low as possible OMV to get as high as possible margins. Edited August 16, 2005 by Tron ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limi Neutral Newbie August 16, 2005 Share August 16, 2005 Forget about EA. I called them last week to enquire this and I was being transferred from Sale to Parts dept and all of them are clueless about this IPOD pack... Better luck trying getting help from AROC guys on how to play MP3 with our existing HU... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Author Share August 17, 2005 haha... in any case, most aftermarket HUs already have ipod interfaces... issue is simply where and how to mount it. The attractiveness of the ipod pack for alfa is simply the integrated design; no wires and mounts running all over the place. If its any comfort to you...existing blaupunkt HU is hopeless IMO, but for factory standard, im not complainin. however if ure into music or ICE i find its a waste of time & money to get an ipod interface for factory HU... plug in also sound terrible so no point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 halo lone ranger, when u 1 2 do kopi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hatch_lover Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 Hey bro, i think with the ipod pack, it shld be quite ok sound lah....at least better than the belkin FM transmitter kinda solution. And also like u mentioned, its definitely a neater solution and I assume u can control the ipod using the steering wheel buttons. Hey wanna jio jio EA to bring in this ipod pack? I'm definitely interested in getting this and I'm prepared to pay ard $300 for this interface. Btw, does it only works with the iPod mini?? Looks like in the pictures though. I only have the normal iPod, not the mini Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Clutched August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 There are quite a few aftermarket interface: (1) http://www.pac-audio.com/ Extract from the web site: ================================================================================ ==== The AUX-POD gets direct sound from your iPod Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Author Share August 17, 2005 hello! i lone ranger meh? i meet up wit outcast alfas quite often leh.. can... alwys see u in forums but never met u... tis weekend la how? cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 got outcast alfa? k meet, i pm u lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Author Share August 17, 2005 (edited) heh... dun misunderstand; the ipod/ipod mini has good sound (at least as good as wat is put in it ) - but after porting it through the factory HU and output via the factory speakers (BOSE lagi WORSE!)... the sound at best is bearable... BUT my advice is if ure used to it; like me... better stick wit it & dun listen to aftermarket ICE. otherwise sleepless nights and big hole in pocket to come!! maybe a solution is to get the ipod pack fr Alfa, then change factory HU to a aftermarket blaupunkt HU and some reasonably sounding speakers. (DISCLAIMER: only reason why i say aftermarket BLAUPUNKT HU is bcos the factory HU is also low-end blaupunkt; & therefore the alfa ipod pack shld work wit all blaupunkt HUs ) hmm... yes lets go check wit EA wat the damage is for the ipod pack. issue is to check wit the RIGHT person in EA - which often is the problem in itself!! haha! p.s: dunno whthr it works wit normal ipod. i dun see why i shldnt ONLY issue is the mounting size which might not fit as seen in the brochure?? Edited August 17, 2005 by Tron Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Author Share August 17, 2005 got... many many... haha. alfa got gahment one leh dun pray pray - cannot anyhow say things one leh... or else....!! PM?? u mean private msg or PUBLIC msg?? k la jus kidding here mycarforum is ok... very good ppl here ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limi Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 Do keep me informed when you get the right person in EA to ask about the IPOD pack ok? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Author Share August 17, 2005 hey no problem man will definitely let u kno. thos buggers owe me quite a few things, so add 1 more shldnt be an issue! but must keep chasing and nagging them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 this is now being discussed in local alfa forum. did abit of research online and found 'possible' ways- 1. get the ipod interface- only works for ipod dock connector types. 2. get the aux plug. it can work fine on any Blaupunkt HU. but on alfa stock HU, the cable must be modded by jumping connections according to Alfa UK forum. u can read all about it in www.arocsingapore.com look for thread under ICE- MP3 cd changer. problem is no one really knows if any of them can work. and ure rite, any direct connection will be better than FM transmitters. im testing out the 2nd way soon once i get the cable. if can work, will let u noe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Author Share August 17, 2005 hey bro... confirm the Alfa ipod pack works with BOTH iPOD and iPOD MINI... so no prob!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie August 17, 2005 Author Share August 17, 2005 alpine, pioneer and blaupunkt all have ipod connectors... but of course must get their HUs lah.. for me i dun mind changing HU even if it doesnt match... wat i want is nice sound - not high end but better than the crap i have to endure... i wld still lik to see a 147 wit the ipod pack fr Alfa installed here... fully integrated shiok.. let me know how ur project goes ya? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 17, 2005 Share August 17, 2005 yea, no prob. the ipod pack wud be the neatest solution with no cables sitckin out. as for the ipod interface, u'll just get a dock connector cable sticking out. imo, my fav wud be a aux-in 3.5mm plug as it can work on any mp3 player. plus its the cheapest option available. i also considered getting another HU. but that wud set me back by 800+ as alfa need a special panel. plus interface cost 200+ more. so abit senseless for me. but anyway, if u want only ipod pack, theres no nid to change HU. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear August 18, 2005 Share August 18, 2005 cant wait ot meet the outcast alfas... i also 1 of them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched August 18, 2005 Share August 18, 2005 cant wait ot meet the outcast alfas... i also 1 of them seems like all the outcasts are here ha ha.....aroc looks deserted nowadays... anyway back to the topic, just change HU to play MP3 lah, otherwise transmit through FM, sound won't be great but then again, you already sacrifice some sound quality for MP3 convenience already. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...