Northlandstarz Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 Hi. I have the following question. Setup 1) 4-channel power amp, 2 channels drive the front speakers, the other 2 channels bridged to drive a subwoofer. 2) Rear speakers driven by HU. 3) All the line out of the HU is controlled by a single volume adjust. In this case, the volume of the front speakers, rear speakers and subwoofer would be controlled by a single dial on the HU (other than the gain adjustments on the amp). Then won't the front speakers get overly louder than the rear speakers as I increase the volume since the formers are driven by the power amp? Perhaps this can still be solved by adjusting the Fader on the HU. More importantly, wouldn't the 'boom' effect of the subwoofer also become too much? Perhaps, the subwoofer should tap on one of the rear line output of the HU so that I can make use of the Fader to control the subwoofer too? I was advised of the following solutions: 1) Get a HU that has separate volume adjustment outputs for speakers and subwoofer, or 2) Get a processor. Any comments are welcomed. Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 The output of your HU (whether built-in amp or RCA out) is variable meaning they correspond with the volume control. It doesn't matter if your speakers is driven by the HU or ext amps, their output will varies as you turn the volume knob. The only reason where you may want an additional control is for your sub. As the volume get louder, you may want to attenuate the bass output if you find it too heavy/light. Some amps have a bass control volume knob that you can install in front. Of course you can still use the bass/treble adjustment on you HU. If you got budget, get a digital EQ where you can preset a few setting & recall them anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knightskid Clutched September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 then is there any HU that have individual volume adjusment for sub? like alpine 9855 or 9853 etc....keke... and i do know PPI EQ can attenuate the bass output of the sub....but is it advisable install together with 9853 or 9855? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wahlao Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 for 9833/35/53/55, the sub level is not really a volume adjustment per se think of it as a "gain" adjustment similar to what u find on the amps but it's really for fine adjustments only (i.e. cannot turn too high or too low) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northlandstarz Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Author Share September 19, 2005 Thanks for the inputs Yes, some amps have remote bass control volume knob. Can consider that, but would incur extra cost leh. Digital EQ also not cheap I learnt... Do you think using the Fader control at the HU is a possible way (& cheap ) to get around this problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 if i understand your question correctly, you want to be able to control your sub level rite? (ie at higher vols) there should be 2 gain control knobs on ur amp.. go and check iit out .. since one is bridged to the sub, go and fiddle with that gain control, you can tune down your sub level.. this is the 'free method'.. otherwise, next cheaper method is to get a cheap preamp lor.. if you wanna spend more, then get a new HU.. processor and stuff.. damm ex.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 Yes, how can I forget a "preamp" . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northlandstarz Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Author Share September 19, 2005 Problem with the gain control at the power amp is the accessibility when you are driving, unless the amp comes with the remote control. Oh yes, I heard of the preamp solution too, but I also learnt that using the preamp would negate the EQ, Bass, Treble controls from the HU, is that right? By the way, is it important to have a subwoofer level control in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 if u can mix and match ur level of listening, then can liao.. just leave it as it is.. it'll prob take some time to see at which sub level your comfortable with.. at most just play ard with the bass knob.. if die die cannot get wat u want, then go look for 2nd hand EQs.. can find for less than $100.. somemore can play ard with the various frequencies.. cadence 7 band EQ goin for $125 at sim lim.. if your HU cannot adjust the sub and other stuff, its functions are kinda limited, so gettin an ok EQ will 'overright it', but its for the better.. to me, its important for me to adjust my sub level.. cos my kind of music, the bass can make u vomit if at too high.. hahaha.. have fun man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 OK.. just now was thinkin abt ur situation, my last reply was done while i in sch lab.. so quickly reply.. aniway.. here's a free method of rectifyin your problem: i assume your sub input is connected to your front input, then cross over is in the amp. thus when u up the bass on ur HU, (ur HU sure got bass function), the sub level goes up together with your midbass, thus u mix and match ur sub gain together with your component gain until it matches each other and will not distort and high levels. this one is up to your preference.. but if u cannot mix and match till u are satisfied, then next cheapest option is to get a preamp: the preamp will go hand in hand with ur HU EQ (assuming your HU got EQ), plus u can control your sub volume. but if u willing to spend, then get a new HU.. heheh.. u can drop by the meetup.. i see how we can help you out lah.. if can save $$.. then help you save $$.. cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northlandstarz Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Author Share September 19, 2005 Oh, that would be great. When and where is the meetup? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 meetup is every wednesday, at Macpherson kopitiam (jackson's kopitiam).. its at ths nasi padang stall just beside the kopitiam. u need to go to the vertical car park lots beside jackson's kopitiam and not the parallel lots.. its the only nasi padang shop there.. can be seen from the PIE exit.. (from jurong side).. we start at 9+ till duno wat time.. drop by la.. if can help will help.. cheers.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northlandstarz Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Author Share September 19, 2005 Ok. I will try to go down. Btw, I don't have any setup now. The above setup is what I am thinking of installing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 You don need a setup to attend the meetup. Many bros there will give you solid solid advise from their experiences Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 (edited) haha.. icic.. even better.. can help you take precaution b4 u make an investment.. good.. ...don be like me.. gong gong go and buy with little research.. then buy liao then discover MCF.. then waste $$$.. just come down, we talk abt everything under the sun.. haha.. see u wed Edited September 19, 2005 by Headshok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng98 Neutral Newbie September 20, 2005 Share September 20, 2005 Come join us. Me also still "playing" with my stock setup . Also doing my research before plunging. Anyway everyone is cool and fun. So just come and chat chat and learn new things at the same time. And also admire others' good stuff and get poisoned. Cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...