New Toyota Corolla supercharged

Duckduck

dun think it will make it over here....

how to fight with Civic which is NA???this corolla sure win mah...

maybe the CTR EP3 can fight....

some more its VVTL-i engine leh...not the normal vvti engine...

but i doubt it can win the Golf GTi....or do u mean Swift Gti????

0-100km in 8 over secs, if got good driver can fight golf gti lah. Yah im tokin abt civic type R,ek9 or ep3 osos..

actually the ES civic vtis on paper 0-100kmh is 8.7secs.. same ah.. hehehe [sly]

toyota too slow 2 respond 2 honda's ep3r man. civic typeR sold like crazy in the UK, now then toyota respond.. too late liao. So if new civic typeR is out later next year, will toyota respond too? Will b fun if they do [flowerface]

afterall i think still a different class....NA and FI...

but the corolla being a FI car,it will be more moddable...

some more they can own a few cars if they want...lol...so cheap...

Edited by Turbonetics

bro, the ep3r has been built in the honda swindon uk plant for the last few yrs liao.

See this link for a large number of typeR owners in UK. http://www.civictype-r.co.uk/reg.htm

Also see this link for Uk typeR production info http://www.japanesecarfans.com/news.cfm/ne...05/honda/1.html

Did u know outside japan, uk is the next best selling ep3r country? hehe!

ya bro... bro duck duck is correct... uk is juz like us... for hatch civic only 5 door hatch or CTR only... actually civic SI is for the US and aus market.. [nod][nod]

Supercharged 1.8-litre VVTL-i engine develops 215bhp (217 DIN hp) and 215Nm of torque

current altis 1.8 - 1zzfe engine. You should be able to supercharge SG Altis 1.8 legally as this is offered in US too. Similar to local LTA approved on Celica and IS200 TRD supercharged.

Edited by B1ackie

The con of supercharging the engine is that it adds lots of weight to it. could be as much as 50kg. I saw TRD selling the off the shelf charger for the 1.8 VVti engine.

However I hope toyota will go back to the old days of develop 20v or 24v engines like the 1.6l 4AGE...much ligher compared too supercharging...20v 4AGE is rated at 140bhp while the 24v is rated at 170bhp.....for a 1.6l that is huge!!

the trd supercharger is for 1.8 engine aka 1zzfe only. The gain, imo, is not something to cry out loud.

But do look out for possible boxer engine in toyota in late 2007/ early 2008 (maybe). Subaru USA is designing for Toyota USA a new car. Since Toyota has take up share in subaru recently.

Edited by B1ackie

did LTA approved the supercharged of IS200 and Celica???

btw,i think the 1.8 Altis engine is not VVTL-i...

same goes for the Celica SS1...

maybe they approved is the Celica SS2 VVTL-i engine model...

Lexus are using VVTL-i engine...