Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 Hi Suzie Owners, Anyone did windscreen change before? How much is the cost and how much time? Any problems after the change (e.g. like rattling sound, etc)? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 If your insurance got windscreen cover, u can get a replacement if it is cracked or broken. If u need a new one then u might have to help it to crack. If no ins cover, then quite ex. About $500 for oem type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 27, 2005 Share October 27, 2005 which insurance company covers them?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic03 Clutched October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 mine from mitsui does. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kgleo Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 i went to my insurance appointed workshop to have it replaced. Cost me $105. Takes about 3-4 hrs. Perfect condition. No leaks or vibration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spango Clutched October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 Me too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Author Share October 28, 2005 I'm sure the new windscreen provides clearer vision right? Planning to change my old windscreen due to numerous scratches and also the wiper jumping thingy... But without insurance S$500.00 is quite steep man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freakman Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 uo bro.. can confirm if really change liao the jerking of the wiper will gone??? I am oso driving old swift and my windscreen also lots of 'dot' and wiper jerk like ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 try smashing it and claim insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spango Clutched October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 Don't need to to that man... That's illegal. Just drive down ECP and high chance windscreen kenna chip by flying pebbles. I kenna 2 times already! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Author Share October 28, 2005 I've practically tried everything to rectify my wipers jumping: - Using CeO on my windscreen - Using the Wiper Smoothener application - Clean windscreen and wiper blades - Claybar, mama lemon, Autoglym glass polish, etc Have improved alot with the combination of the above but still jump at times. I suspect is the windscreen maybe old liao. If you see windscreen on new cars, it very smooth. And also changing due to the many scratches and little chips on the windscreen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freakman Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 but thought saw some bro here post be4 they got this prob even though their car are new?? haiz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Author Share October 28, 2005 I also kena few times and heard the loud sound "PIAK" when the stone hit the windscreen and bounce off... But later I checked only small dent. My friend's ride also kena before and his slowly developed to a crack the next day. Or maybe purposely go drive behind those containers or get my friend's help to hurl bigger pebbles on the highway.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 Rather than replacement, you might want to try windscreen polishing. Think it should cost significantly less. http://www.glass-fix.net I used their repair services when my Chevrolet Optra was hit by a flying UFO causing a 1cm crack on the windscreen. Cost $65 for onsite service. I could have claimed from insurance ( $100 excess ) but that would mean that I have to take at least half-day leave to send it to the workshop. After replacement, the seals will take a few days to cure? I might sound paranoid, but it has been rainy on and off, what if doesn't cure correctly or completely? For me, I rather not go thru the hassle and risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Author Share October 28, 2005 Yup. I think each case is different lah. e.g. RainX, Wipers worn, etc. But on general observation, older cars on the road tend to have wipers jumping compared to newer cars... I'm talking to my insurance right now to see whether have windscreen replacement coverage. Once changed, I'll observed and let you know... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freakman Neutral Newbie October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 which insurance company covers them?? =================== U gotta check yr policy if it is covered. For coe car on TPFT, most prob u don't have, just like me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 28, 2005 Share October 28, 2005 i went to my insurance appointed workshop to have it replaced. Cost me $105. Takes about 3-4 hrs. Perfect condition. No leaks or vibration. =============================== This is very interesting. U mean there was no breakage to the windscreen & the ws changed it for u for $105? So does that mean I can go to this ws & change mine for around this price too, irrespective of who my ins co is? I'm driving a coe jap car(toyota). I was thinking of changing my windscreen as it's quite old & not so clear. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...