JTA

Fabiaman

Sky8807 and the rest of the Skodians here.

Just thought I create a new thread for those of you who wants to discuss how we shld handle the local distributor.

Seansene! Tks for dropping by as well. Hope you will get your silver Fabia in February smoothly.

Latest rumour is that Thomas Lim in the workshop has left and is looking for a new job. The last I met Thomas was with Sky8807 and Thomas joked that he will be looking for a job. Both of us did not take him seriously and even though the truth is not clear, my sixth sense tells me he is indeed leaving the company.

For those non-Skodians, Thomas is one of the 3 brothers running JTA and Thomas is in charge of the aftersales service. I must compliment Thomas for a job well done and his departure if true shld better be matched with a more capable replacement.

So far, JTA has shown great resilence in the face of so much troubles in the recent 3 months. I admire the owners for their persistence to stay afloat.

Until today, my Fabia is still trembling and vibrating at idling and JTA Thomas told me a recall will be made in Feb 2002 (after 8 months of my complaining and whining) to change a part relating to the gearbox. I remain very very sceptical

- what has the gear box got to do with the vbrations?

- Thomas, if you are leaving, will you still honour that commitment?

- We collected our Fabias w/o the central locks and had to wait for 3 months for it, despite telling us every other day its coming soon. JTA has cry wolf too many times and I am numbed liao.

Steamer, you are the one in here driving a Jag right?

I think if your experience with your distributor and ours will be totally different. Hee... if you know what I mean.

Yes, generally, the Skodians here are upset over things underdelivered and overpromised. Communication within that organisation is also something lacking which frustrate owners since msgs do not seemed to have been carried around despite instructions from the owners.

Is JTA a relatively young company? Not that I'm putting down new companies but a certain level of experience in the industry (like C&C, Malayan, Borneo, etc.) will result in better handling of problems in mosts cases (administrative or finiancial, etc.).

I had little problems dealing with SM Motors so far, well maybe because I never go back for servicing after warranty expired [:p]

Hello Guys! Great website. I'm glad I found this place! Was reading SOG but felt that the moderator is kinda pro Singapore's Skoda dealership ...

Anyway, I am an Octavia owner and I am extremely pleased with my car. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the dealer. If there's an award for the worst car dealer around, I would definitely vote them. Why, you may ask. When I first bought my car, they promised me the sky and the moon but when I paid up, they came up with all sorts of excuses about not delivering my car on time. Some of these excuses were so lame that I have totally lost my trust in them. These excuses ranged from... the colour ran out, LTA hasn't registered the car yet, the leather is not ready, the insurance is not ready ( they activated the insurance weeks before I got my car!). When I got my car, I was shocked to see that it did not come with sports rims as agreed in the sales agreement, the leather was improperly done, and worst of all, my car's paintwork was in total shambles! The person who waxed it was must have done it in total darkness or must have used sandpaper to dewax the car. The car was full of swirl marks! Even after complaining to the workshop, nothing was done. They'd always use the excuse, "you'll have to leave your car here for a couple of days while we sort it out". Gosh! I bought my car to drive. Not to leave it in the blxxdy workshop. My my entire life, I have never met such an unprofessional joint. Upon talking to some other Skoda owners, I learnt that I wasn't the only disappointed owner. It seems that the others had problems with their car and dealership wasn't able to solve it. So my conclusion is that they only know how to change engine oil and mayber inflate some tyres. I have met and spoken to most of the staff there and none of them knew what they were talking about. Seemed like they were taking me for a ride knowing exactly that only thing I wanted to ride in was my own Octavia.

I do not know what they're up to but if they continue to behave like that, I would never go back to the workshop for servicing and repairs. What for? It's a total waste of time. My only hope for Skoda in the future is that someone more capable of representing this brand takes over the dealership. Perhaps then the new Skoda would be given a chance to survive again. Yes. Perhaps Skoda is a mistaken brand. Mistaken under the hands of JTA.

To add to the info that some of you have posted, the company is run by the Jimmy, Thomas, Alex, and Michael. Read it in the papers some time back.

Skoda, please wake up and see how the local owners are suffering. [mad]

On the rumour that Thomas Lim at JTA workshop left and is looking for a new job, that we have to wait and see. What I understand is that he is taking a long vacation, whether he will return and resume his post or not cannot confirm.

Thomas who is in charge of aftersales service has done a good job trying to salvage the bad image of the company and must agree that he has certain skill in handling people but lost when comes to the subject of the product.

Don't know exactly what is happening, but after hearing and seeing so many complain by owner on the shortage of promised items after registration, give me a very bad impression of the company. Just wandering when are they really going to WAKE-UP' and get things going as it should be. Can't always do damage control and also takes ages to get spares for customers.

For me. so far did not encounter so much problems as others, must give credits to my salesman by the name sam who put extra effort to give me the best customer service within his capacity, he has since left the company after settling my car and no longer in the car sales business. he personally ensure the car is wash, clean and polished speck and clean before I view and register my car. He also ensure all standard items like central locks and remote release are all in place before delivery of car.

Like I said in the SOG forum, our fabia is a rugged car and build to last. However, there are some irritation and buggaration which is not uncommon for our counterpart from seat, opel and the likes. Hope they(JTA) can solve the tremble you encountered, which is the worst among the group, asap.

In the meantime, hope some workshop takes interest in providing service and tuning for our skoda car, especially the electronic part of it. Our Fabia is still a safe and solid car to drive and hope things get better as time pass.

Some one mentioned that the brothers had a fallout [:(] , hence the departure of Thomas. Things getting ugly [mad] ? Luckily I held back our decision to get the Fabia. [;)]

i am going to warn my lady friend about getting skoda knowing that jta is not really that professional. skoda is a good car but too bad, it landed in the hands of a dealer ship who couldn't resolve their own internal problems...

Perhaps until JTA lets go of Skoda dealership or brush up, a Skoda is a risky investment because of the agent [:/]

Wat's your friend's budget? How about SEAT Ibiza or Opel Corsa?

Edited by Turbobrick

i just has a chat with her. her budget abt 75k. her current choices are

1)New Lancer 1.5A - black

2) 1 yr old Ford Focus - Ghia model - 1.6 A - maroon

3) New Ford Laser

The Focus hatch is pretty chic, Ford's build quality has improved significantly as well. Wonder Regent still provides 5yr warranty???

Laser is a Mazda 323 so not that unique and the Lancer is everywhere! [;)]

Hi Guys,

When I saw the Fabia, it was love at first sight and I placed an order for it.

However, JTA couldn't get my COE for my Fabia after 3 mths of bidding. Salesman keep pressing me to top up which I refuse.

Finally last round of bidding in Dec and I couldn't get the COE. I was told that it take 4-6 wks to get my deposit back, which was not mentioned when I signed the sales contract.

When I call JTA, they kept passing me around and I demanded to speak to Jimmy. I left many messages but he never returns my call. I give up on this people, very unprofessional.

Does anyone have any advice for me for getting my deposit refunded quickly.

Thanks a lot for your advice.

I totally agree with everyone that Skoda is a good car but JTA just bring the brand down. I am utterly disappointed by them.

Dear Gaveup,

I think you better trust them (just this once) on their advice that you will only get the cash back in 4-6 weeks.

You have 2 choices:

- Ask if you top up, how soon can you get the car. If its immediate, suggest you top up and get the Fabia. If its another delay, dun bother, insist in your demand for cash return.

- Wait and get in writing that the cash refund will reach you in 4 weeks. Constant pressure them.

Don't tell me they move the showroom to Gul Lane.

I will flip man!

Skodaman, you hear anything?

I passed JTA showroom at Ubi yesterday and saw a for sale sign at the main gate. JTA moving out or closing down????

The Gul Lane one is showroom also? I tot workshop only, btw which part of Gul Lane? I go there quite often (wife works near there), never noticed any Skoda workshop leh.

Nah, Gul Lane is only the workshop.

Honestly, if JTA is having so much cashflow problem already, dont believe they can set up another showroom elsewhere if the current location at Ubi is no longer available. Not cheap to get a new showroom up and running -- rental deposits of 3 mnths in advance, renovation and moving costs etc etc.

Hence, I think the logical move for them is to retreat to their workshop in Tuas which will have to double up as a showroom. Then when they sort out the problems, they can make a come back. Not sure if Skoda will be impressed with that, but I guess its a situation of bo pian.