Fabiaman 1st Gear February 4, 2002 Share February 4, 2002 Got this from Skoda HQ site: This is the second mail from me to Skoda! I am Yxx Bxx Kxxx, the vehicle owner of Fabia Comfort 1.4l (Chassis Nos TMBNC46Y313210559 and engine number AUA 185532) in Singapore. My vehicle had already been serviced on 5 different occasions by the local distributor, JTA Motors Pte Ltd, in Singapore. However, my car is still encountering stalling problems. My vehicle tends to stall even it is in a moving condition, e.g. along expressway. Since the last stalling incident on 11/12/02, my vehicle has been in JTA Motors Pte Ltd workshop. The total number of days that my car is in `Vehicle Off Road` conditions is 52 days out of 75 days since the day I had collected my vehicle. This stalling problem had caused me great inconvenience, as I had to rely on public transport. The local distributor is fully aware of the problem but was unable to solve it to my satisfaction. My car had been in the workshop for more than a month and the ECU (Euro 2 standard) that JTA had promised to change for me had not arrived till today. Please advise me on the this issue and how can I be assured that my car will not stall after the 6th repair and the second replacement of the ECU. I had great confidence in this UK car of the year when I purchase my Fabia. I am utterly disappointed with the performance of the car as well as the after sales service. Do not hesitate to contact me for more information at (65)-XXXXXXX. Your attention in this matter will be greatly appreciated as this concerns the safety aspects of the drivers and the passengers as well as the reputation of Skoda automobiles. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie February 4, 2002 Share February 4, 2002 What's the link to the Skoda HQ site? Sounds like a serious complaint! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie February 4, 2002 Share February 4, 2002 The Fabia spec is Euro 4 and they have to twitch the ECU to bring it down to Euro 2, hence the likely cause of the problem. And I think Banny31 is the owner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear February 4, 2002 Share February 4, 2002 Is this a one off or all Fabia kenna ??? Sounds scary man !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Question, why downgrade when Euro 4 is the best standard right now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 What I believe is the Fabia auto ECU is manufactured in spain, maybe same as those found in Seat, this shipment is not very reliable. Banny31 is one of the owner who has the ECU fitted on his car. Don't know whether he will be getting the original from VW or those that are assembled/produced in Czech. The 75 hp engine and the 68 hp engine uses different ECU and from different countries. Apparently the fabia classic here uses the trial and tested ECU. Don't know how many fabia auto registered here, very risky if your are one of them. Maybe a batch problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Don't be suprised about poor quality ECUs, my Volvo ABS control ECU is made in Phillipines! 3-5yrs and it'll go kaput! So far 4 including myself have fallen victim to the inferior ABS Module...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Keep fingers cross and hope my fabia ECU don't go kaput until car sold . LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 So soon thinking about ECU kaput and selling car? Be optimistic bro! Boleh tahan lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 First time driving euro car, confidence level quite low. So bo pian must also pok that the important components don't go kaput leh. If its does, then, next step is sell car lor. For me, used to jap car that can last and only wear and tear items needs replacement. Find it difficult to tolerate critical components fail. So far so good, if my fabia gives me the type of problems I read abt euro car that are problematic, have to let go then. Don't mind loose $$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Cause of the content of the petrol here. Some content is too high here... can't remembert what Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Sulphur? The GDI engines have some problems with our local fuel due to high sulphur content as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Don't fret pal, conti cars require more TLC and they'll reward you will the ultimate driving pleasure. If U want a point A to B thrasher, get a Jap then My brick has nagging problems that I took a while to solve and now it's quite intact and running well at 4.5yrs......inspection coming!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Wah, look like have to exercise patience and expect nagging problem to enjoy driving. I thot a car supposed to give satisfaction and enjoyment to drivers first then TLC can be repay back to keep her going steady. IMO a car should provide me a point A to B w/o any problem first, whether it is euro, jap or korean, then i apply TLC becos its satify my need and I want to continue to experience it to a higher level. If she cannot fulfill this basic function without problem then have to let go lor. So, if I keep the car, ii mean the car is worth while owning. If I sell then the answer is otherwise. As for jap and korean car, my opinion is that they are not only point A to B car but also good for long distance and serious driving as well. But the euro are slightly ahead in term of handling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Well here's some of my experiences with my bricks temperament: - battery kaput in less than 1yr - door panel leather bubbled - brakes warped All were claimed under warranty, guess it helps to have a good agent too. Now the wear and tear items especially the suspension bushings are giving way so I'm changing them out progressively Still an enjoyable car to drive and I'm kinda DIY so troubleshooting is kinda fun For Jap cars being fun depends on what you're thinking of, can't compare a REX to an Impreza GL in term of fun factor but the GL will definitely be more cost effective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 5, 2002 Share February 5, 2002 Hahaha. In most countries the car is a slave to the owner, mostly serving loyally till death or being sold. In singapore, its mostly the other way around. The owner is the slave to the car. Spending large amounts of hard earned money n lots of time n TLC to keep his car running n looking well. Maybe cud b due to the high cost which gives the car such snob status here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear February 6, 2002 Share February 6, 2002 Those minor setback that was mentioned can be accepted and tolerated. I understand from TL(ex JTA) that our battery also have a lifespan of abt 1 yr too. For one thing, have to fully agree with you on having a good agent for the car. Fabia though small, is still quite an enjoyable car to drive.I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear February 6, 2002 Share February 6, 2002 In a way, you're right also. On my part, I try not to overdo it. My maintenance and TLC is rather simple. Keep the car clean and replace or replenished all comsumable(oil/water etc) when it is due. Service the car when it is due and rectify if problem crop up. I try not to disturb the car with additional accessories and fixtures. Especially those involved electrical connections, must respect the euro elect system and wiring, may turn out to be haywire under the wrong hand. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...