Chevy OPTRA Engine Temp

Tann

Are you on RON95 for the different brands?

You've got a great bargain trading in for MF Battery. How many Ahr is it and where is the shop?

A bit strange, your total run-in is 12k over 2 years?

true enuff; if u need power. higher octane is the way to go; but then again the optra is a 1.2 ton of metal, how much extra power can u get ?

hence after some trial with higher octane petrol while in Malaysia; decided to stick with 92 will do.

Castrol GTX is a 15W40. Your car is new, you can use a 10W30 or 5W30. No problem. If pleasing the pocket is what you want, then cxxxxxe Triple R 5W40 should be OK if you get it on sale.

Removing the RON95 relay will enable you to use RON92 petrol. Very important actually. You can opt for cheaper petrol should the pump prices look very demoralizing. laugh.gif Anyway, lower RON petrol should have slightly more calorie content compared with RON95. It burns hotter and hence might improve your FC but you got to get the right brand. Remember RON is a resistance to detonation and not calorific content. So a RON87 petrol base can be made to RON92 with knock resistant additives. This means that the calorific content of the petrol might be lower. So try different RON92. I use Projet Enertec92 sly.gif.

As for MF battery, you can take a Varta. Blue Dynamic range: 555 065 042 3172. Asia Dynamic range: 560 163 042 2082.

First one is 55Ah and the second is 60Ah. Will fit the battery tray but the Asia Dynamic is taller, bigger badder and heavier which is good for a car battery. If the Asia Dynamic fits, it should be the better battery. It has 420 CCA which does not really matter in our weather.

Just heard from my mechanic that OPTRA temp rich to a level you will find that the performance is sluggish and rough.

Any most of he OPTRA 1.6MT always have better FC whereas Auto always cant.

I will be going for my 10K servicing next week at Ubi SA.

Will try to do something to the Ventilation B4 sending in.

Well, I will let you think about power that i can get and also the mileage i get.????

Its pretty good for that power n FC (especially with my heavy boot)

What is the you OPTRA 1.6A/M FC

Hi Genie, at last we get to meet up last night.

AS for lower Octane I ve tried but the engine noise is higher and it does not perform to my expectation. If you take the chance to try out the mixture in the two petrol you will go for it and the price if you calculate is slight diff to me.

Hi Genie, at last we get to meet up last night.

AS for lower Octane I ve tried but the engine noise is higher and it does not perform to my expectation. If you take the chance to try out the mixture in the two petrol you will go for it and the price if you calculate is slight diff to me.

@1/4 tank top up - 21L V power n bal caltex 95

or

@1/4 tank top up - 27L shell super n bal caltex 95

for those who wan to try this cobination, enjoy your ride ZOOOOOOOOM.... [sunny]

Sorry but with RON92, I get 13km/L. With RON95 ages ago, I get 13km/L. With RON97, I still get 13km/L. I doubt a mix is going to make any difference.

When I want zoom, I just floor it and let the petrol work.

Using cxxxxxe 5w40. For my 10k, still deliberating whether to use back cxxxxxe 5w40 or switch to RP, AMSOIL or MOBIL. Really want to try RP or AMSOIL. Thanks for the info for the MF battery, changes will only take place once the existing one goes kaput!

Well, I did try Mobil 2000 previously but found it to be sluggish. Maybe cos of the RON95 relay? There are many tests I want to conduct but things have to be put on hold until after the 10k service. Then I need to have consistenct to determine whether the changes will affect performance or FC.

Will be trying out the following

a) EZ-STAB

b) RON95 relay removal

c) Platinum Spark Plug

d) Air Filter / Air Charger

e) etc, etc

Like that consider spend a lot !?! Everything is still stock, I don't even have windows tinting yet! [laugh]

Did only 1x ground cable ( $zero )... autogear change much smoother. Bought an EZ-STAB ( $90 ) but haven't installed yet.

I'm sure other bros out there already spend more then me. [laugh] A bit difficult to poison me. [thumbsup] The list of stuffs I intend to do also don't cost much, maybe pay a little more for quality item ( e.g. spark plugs ).

If OPTRA Oowner voice out to GM or SA about 2 issue (aircon sensor and engine heat) they might to do something otherwise those new buyer red this forum turn bad and buy other car and so do we (not choosing CHEVY for our next car). We OPTRA owner really need to voice out. There are some of them already facing so many problem in CHEVY car out there and if there still not doing anything .......

I m keeping option for my next car HYUNDAI Tucson.

Bro, tats a big change frm an Optra to Tucson [dizzy] Tot u r always v.passionate towards our Chevy Optra. Dun gif up on ur car although I know Optra is not a performer. Ur car stil new [:)]

Bro I alrady done /enhance my car power liao, so far happy with the performance n FC (especially with heavy stuff in the boot). Many enhancement have done and there hace tested many time on the enhancement (SA) going in for my 10k servicing on 8/12 (run in 10.6km)

OPTRA 1.6A

My RPM :

1st gear - 2nd gear change RPM 1.8

speed 100km - RPM 2.1

Speed 110km - RPM 2.4

Speed 120km - RPM 2.8

Up slope/slow down n over taking no problem at all (very good response)

Braking system done - better response

pick up good - very response (for Auto gear drive like Manual, except waste fuel for auto gear car - Manual gear change >release throttle so save fuel (there is interver), not for auto gear.

OPTRA Owner/Driver

if you ever drive at night 8pm onward to 6am morning or raining days, if you put your hand on the bonnet is not so hot, cos the road/floor is cold and so as the weather (your car perform better,cos the engine temp is cool and controlled and also better FC.

If you drive form 10am onward to 6.30pm the weather is hot(SUNNY), you dont have to put your hand on the bonnet just stand necxt to the right tyre the heat is already terrible

and you will some time our performance drop and sluggish n what happen if you put your hand on it, and we also suffer for the poor FC.

[whip]

Bro, what i mean is after 4 year will consider Hyundai Tucson and you may ask why TUCSON cos after i MOD my friends car (2L car) his FC is good, same as my other friend cars Airwave, Matrix FC 450km ...) most of them get extra 50km - 70km mileage and all auto gear. Actually i like TOYOTA Kiam Loi 2.0L but cannot afford.

I wish we OPTRA can meetup and c how to improve the car and get the best out of it on Better FC n Performance.

Chevy The Best Is Yet To Be (sorry hor, ACS old Boy)

I ve already compare the ventilation between AVEO (NOT evo with out the A) front grill see through engine compartment very good ventilation , for OPTRA u cant see the engine compartment thats very bad poor ventilation.

Bro I spoke 2 u on the fone b4. I'm the guy looking 4 the Mapping diagram. I'm surprised ur Optra can change gear @ 1.8K rpm. Mine is hardly moving @ tis rpm. @ 100km/r mine is @ abt 2300rpm, definitely nt 2100rpm.

Yes night driving our car seems to perform better. Day driving when I off the engine & step out of the car, I can feel the heat on my leg, it's like comin out frm the underneath of the car.

At first i didn't it till SA friend told me that and also realise my car power and fast response and ask me i ve i done to my car open the bonnet wa solid man, hesee nothing of my MOD (except my Fuel Mag n Ground Cable) but other Pars are all hidden. Just finish my ICE & install Cyclone.

My next MOD :=

01. Extent resornator hose to the bumper with a mesh (to block away leaves from getting in)

02. Ventilation to engine compartment (will crack my brain for it, since nobody interested in it) If you ever stop at the carpark kiosk and wind down the window sometime you can feel the heat is very solid ah.