Bosebani Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Just installed PHD2200 driving Diamond Hexs600s with 2layer of Dynamet extreme and seem not good enough on stock HU 1)Sound seem too bright by can reduce treble 2)Right(driver side) is much louder than left(installer say is normal as your ear is nearer to the right). 3)When changes Fade amount rear speaker virtually no sound(so soft)My rear is driven by HU. What happen to my setup? Is it due to sucks installation, it cost me >2K! Installer ask me to go get the special discount PHD amp 4070 pro with MF speaker for rear and run active! Any advice? What can be done with the current setup and waht can be added to improve? Pls help, I am so Bro bro bro, don kan cheong and anyhow do things. Many of us here do not understand your real senario or your expectation, so will be preetty unwise to advise you. Please go back to your installer and ask him settle everything for you. If their attitude sucks, feel free to post down here Or Come for the Wednesday nasi padang meetup and ask our Professional, Part Time, DIY, No License, bro Headshot to try to settle for you ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 The thing I really Dulan is the right ear louder than the left didn't know it earlier but my stock no problem lah why after addin amp and speaker become like that? Forget about this, this senario can hear right tweeter louder than left is very normal if you are not doing Time alignment or real speakers is weak. Your right ear is closer to the right tweeter, so naturally you hear the Right tweeter louder. Simple way to solve this is to adjust the left/right balance, Or as your installer advise, to install Alpine 701 processor/display to get precise Center Imaging for your Mazda 5 stock hu. The price he quoted for you $1200 is not X as it includes RTA($150). Other places i know selling same thing at $1500(wif golden ears tuning only) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 haha.. thats the problem with MZ, the integrated HU limits a lot of ICE things.. got one kaki who put the preamp on his MZ3, solved a lot of problems.. but need to talk first lah... heheh.. only last resort is to throw money to solve the problem.. heheheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jooz Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Just installed PHD2200 driving Diamond Hexs600s with 2layer of Dynamet extreme and seem not good enough on stock HU 1)Sound seem too bright by can reduce treble 2)Right(driver side) is much louder than left(installer say is normal as your ear is nearer to the right). 3)When changes Fade amount rear speaker virtually no sound(so soft)My rear is driven by HU. What happen to my setup? Is it due to sucks installation, it cost me >2K! Installer ask me to go get the special discount PHD amp 4070 pro with MF speaker for rear and run active! Any advice? What can be done with the current setup and waht can be added to improve? Pls help, I am so Hi! I am new to ICE and would just like to share my limited experience. I am driving a Mz3 and when I first changed my stock speakers to component, the sound has become much brighter even though they sounded quite mute on the soundboard in the showroom. And the first 2 weeks was quite unbearable until the speakers run in. After 3 to 4 weeks, it sounded much nicer but still remains bright as compared to the stock speakers. I have not auditioned the Diamond Hex but I understand that it is a bright speaker? As for the right side MUCH louder than the left side problem, I do hear the right side louder than the left when on passive but not MUCH...but then again my old ears have reduced sensitivity caused by age and all those years of walkman blasting way back in school And yes the Mz3 stock HU sucks or rather having an integrated HU sucks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Forget about this, this senario can hear right tweeter louder than left is very normal if you are not doing Time alignment or real speakers is weak. Your right ear is closer to the right tweeter, so naturally you hear the Right tweeter louder. Simple way to solve this is to adjust the left/right balance, Or as your installer advise, to install Alpine 701 processor/display to get precise Center Imaging for your Mazda 5 stock hu. The price he quoted for you $1200 is not X as it includes RTA($150). Other places i know selling same thing at $1500(wif golden ears tuning only) dude, i hv to disagree with you on this. no TA doesn't mean right will be louder than left, its probably the installer anyhow hantam and fix, i never had this problem running stock HU/cheap spkr/with or without amp. Also the installer's advice to install processor smacks of chop carrot head attitude a good installer should always be upfront with the customer and manage his/her expectations regarding the equipment and install. like manfred_sg mentioned, he already spent 2k+ on the setup (not a cheap price might i add), he has a right to expect some results and its not very professional of the installer to just say its like that one, pay more money and add a processor to fix it. if i spend 2k+ on a setup i would expect the installer to lay out the pros and cons and what i shld be expecting out of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Hi, I had the same problem too.. b4 amp install, everything is okay, but with the amp. suddenly the sound become lefty.. I dont had this problem when I can my component speaker earlier. you mention to adjust the gain on the amp (L & R) ... does ALL amp had this feature? Another matter is to remove the HU, you need to use a two U stick to push into the HU in order to pull them out... where can I get this tool? I need to check the wiring of the HU in order to do trouble shooting.... suspect installer had mix up the Pre-Amp output.. thanks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 I want to check where you fix your AMP. is it below the front car seat or in the boot? I also had similar problem... and I am suspecting that the length of the speaker cable could be the cause of the problem. With the AMP on the front seat, one of the speaker wire will definately be longer than the others. With the additional length, the signal need to travel further, thus more signal lost... not sure whether this methodlogy is correct or not.. maybe some more experience guys can teach me.. Thanks in advance. Just installed PHD2200 driving Diamond Hexs600s with 2layer of Dynamet extreme and seem not good enough on stock HU 1)Sound seem too bright by can reduce treble 2)Right(driver side) is much louder than left(installer say is normal as your ear is nearer to the right). 3)When changes Fade amount rear speaker virtually no sound(so soft)My rear is driven by HU. What happen to my setup? Is it due to sucks installation, it cost me >2K! Installer ask me to go get the special discount PHD amp 4070 pro with MF speaker for rear and run active! Any advice? What can be done with the current setup and waht can be added to improve? Pls help, I am so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 (edited) hihi.. for ur speaker's being bright at first, prob needa run in first.. but after runnin in and speaker still bright, got a few factors to consider lah.. but one of them it that this is the characteristic speaker.. (maybe those ang mo design it like that).. but when u lower the treble to make it not so bright, for some songs (vocals and instrumental), it'll sound damm flat. so IMHO, the cheapest way is to to "tune system" is to get a pre-amp... simple 7 band one, at least u can mix and match the higher freqs whilst also havin some treble. but as for the one side being louder than the other, another way is to just use the fader in the HU to fade to either side lor. BUT if u die die wanna resolve this matter (and not have to resolve to spendin another 1K on processor), look for an EQ (like audio control EQL, once u got this, no need the pre amp) for this kinda EQ, u have a left and right channel. so u can up and lower the gain to wat u like lor.. also for each of the 15 band, u have a left and right channel. so you can 'balance' off your sound lor.. this is my opinion lah... i budget person.. heheh.. Edited December 20, 2005 by Headshok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jooz Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Hi Headshok Have gotten a 2nd HU lah...will see what I can do with it first. Although it's bright, as long as it's not fatiguing, then I'm ok with it. You into home stereo? I use to have a pair of Tannoy 609 driven by a "dirty" Carver amp. If I can live with that for years, I think I can handle a little brightness heheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 haha.. me a budget ICE person.. budget until gotta install myself, hahaha... aniway.. i cant afford home audio stuff, got myself a $200 amp with speakers(technics) for my turn tables.. good enough liao.. haha well.. have fun with ur ICE!.. heheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 dude STOP!!! Hi i am in fact very new to ICE but have gone thru some of ur experiences so would like to share with u...As a note of caution pls ask ICE gurus in forums b4 u buy/do anything major. Installers might be good ICE gurus themselves but at the end of the day are also businessmen so take wat they say with a pinch of salt. abt a yr ago i installed JBL speakers with amps etc to my stock integrated HU (Megane)... wat happened was that the tweeters become unbearably bright. after some tweaking ard it got better. (installer set my trebble at -9 this is the lowest - now this NEITHER correct NOR good. Will explain why later...) abt 2 - 4 months later at normal volume the music become much better (not so bright). 3 possible reasons: 1) Stock tweeters were so "flat" that any new better tweeters sound sooo much brighter. 2) My ears got used to the high freq. (or so i believe haha) 3) New Speakers got "RUN IN" - just like car engines or leather shoes Now i mentioned that my trebble was set at min now this is bad course i was lossing a lot of the details in the music itself....recently abt 1-2 months ago i started to push the level between -4 to abt +4 or +5 and realise that music sounds better - though it can be rather bright at high volumes (almost max). To tackled my systems issues I have been advised to get a preamp (by the Nasi Padang ICE gurus ). But have yet to get one. Now for wat ur installer said ... Processors are expensive stuff that go well with an equally good HU. The advise might have been well intended but seems like an overkill for a stock HU. Any Stock HU no matter how good adds on u make will not perform as well as a solid aftermarket HU. Pre amps might be a better choice. But don't take my word on this course i have yet to try one. Unless u have the cash on hand i will say hold ur horses on the additional rear speakers. Set right ur front speakers. At most ask him to help u disconnect ur rear for now. That way u can tune / tweak ur front swee swee b4 u mess ard with ur rear. Hope that helps. And if u don mind can u PM me ur installer name? Just so that i can have some feedback on various installers . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 dun add preamp, no need to do that~~~ Hi there. Any reason why u say don't add pre amp? For stock HU there really is not much one can do without a preamp right? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear December 21, 2005 Share December 21, 2005 Hi, I had the same problem too.. b4 amp install, everything is okay, but with the amp. suddenly the sound become lefty.. I dont had this problem when I can my component speaker earlier. you mention to adjust the gain on the amp (L & R) ... does ALL amp had this feature? Another matter is to remove the HU, you need to use a two U stick to push into the HU in order to pull them out... where can I get this tool? I need to check the wiring of the HU in order to do trouble shooting.... suspect installer had mix up the Pre-Amp output.. thanks in advance Not all amps have Left and Right gain controls. Therefore you have to check. As for the tool to remove the HU, I don't know where to get. Better get your installer to check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jooz Neutral Newbie December 21, 2005 Share December 21, 2005 DIY is always a more rewarding route to take... anyway...turntables = vinyl = audiophile....maybe a $200/- amp now, but definitely can forsee a DIY tube amp in the near future Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 21, 2005 Share December 21, 2005 hahaha i am bedroom DJ lah. hahaha.. my stuff all 2nd hand one.. heheh. had to "DIY recondition the speakers".. haha.. but they work well for computer and misc speakers.. heheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Autwin Neutral Newbie December 21, 2005 Share December 21, 2005 Just installed PHD2200 driving Diamond Hexs600s with 2layer of Dynamet extreme and seem not good enough on stock HU 1)Sound seem too bright by can reduce treble 2)Right(driver side) is much louder than left(installer say is normal as your ear is nearer to the right). 3)When changes Fade amount rear speaker virtually no sound(so soft)My rear is driven by HU. What happen to my setup? Is it due to sucks installation, it cost me >2K! Installer ask me to go get the special discount PHD amp 4070 pro with MF speaker for rear and run active! Any advice? What can be done with the current setup and waht can be added to improve? Pls help, I am so agree with most bro/sis, usually the right side will sound "louder" cos it near to your ear. this is explained in "science", sound energy is "lost/reduce" when it travel thru a medium (like air/metal/water). typically to resolve this problem, RTA/equalizer is utilised to compensate the "energy" lost. However as yours HU is stock Madza, there is really limited option on can do. Like some bro suggested, check your HU if there is balance settings.. try this out. 2nd, speaker is like many say - need time to run in and at time mid may sound muffer and tweeter seem too bright. so let it run in for couple of weeks and return to your installer to get it sorted out. about the pre amp - not too sure but feel it will give better control. As for adding of 701 processor (it a good option (imho) if you want to retain your stock HU). personally have hear couple of cars (M3, Latio, McIntosh+701, kenwood+701) and the results is definitely much much better than orginal sound and i am sure many bro will support my views. the "christmas deal" is worth the $$ if you trust the "warranty" and risk. go for it cos if your installer is willing to install. ask ourselves how many installers is willing to introduce their customer to buy the same product from somewhere else cheaper??? i feel your installer is very professional in their dealing. be open and frank, post the installer name in if they do not do a good job. but if they admit their mistake and remedial the fault - dont forget to post in and comment about their good effort. of course if they dont, post and them. end of the day, be fair to yourself (and ocket) but apply it to your installer as well. else it will invite "some" (esp if know not the true picture) to your installer (why? cos there are "hidden tiger and crouching dragon" even waiting to jump to join the game...) my 2 cents views.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie December 21, 2005 Share December 21, 2005 Forget about this, this senario can hear right tweeter louder than left is very normal if you are not doing Time alignment or real speakers is weak. Your right ear is closer to the right tweeter, so naturally you hear the Right tweeter louder. Simple way to solve this is to adjust the left/right balance, Or as your installer advise, to install Alpine 701 processor/display to get precise Center Imaging for your Mazda 5 stock hu. The price he quoted for you $1200 is not X as it includes RTA($150). Other places i know selling same thing at $1500(wif golden ears tuning only) dude, i hv to disagree with you on this. no TA doesn't mean right will be louder than left, its probably the installer anyhow hantam and fix, i never had this problem running stock HU/cheap spkr/with or without amp. Also the installer's advice to install processor smacks of chop carrot head attitude a good installer should always be upfront with the customer and manage his/her expectations regarding the equipment and install. like manfred_sg mentioned, he already spent 2k+ on the setup (not a cheap price might i add), he has a right to expect some results and its not very professional of the installer to just say its like that one, pay more money and add a processor to fix it. if i spend 2k+ on a setup i would expect the installer to lay out the pros and cons and what i shld be expecting out of it. Please, please, please read my post carfully on the left right sound issue......Lets be more open and help the Spender to solve his problem instead of argueing, tio bo??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie December 21, 2005 Share December 21, 2005 dun add preamp, no need to do that~~~ Hi there. Any reason why u say don't add pre amp? For stock HU there really is not much one can do without a preamp right? Thanks. if the installer is good , u dun really need a pre-amp, anyway, pre-amp in my opinion always add on more noise, eg aeroplane sound etc~ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...